Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne

A traditional dish from Burgundy, France, beef bourguignonne is a savory stew of meat and vegetables braised in red wine. Here, we prepare the stew in a slow cooker, which produces tender, succulent results. Beef demi-glace adds depth of flavor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
6 of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
Review 1 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CookingBlast
,Winchester
,MA
September 3, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Something Special
September 3, 2014
This is one of my family's favorite recipes. I really like to use my slow cooker when I entertain and this has been a wonderful dish to serve to guests. It has a wonderful flavor. But I would agree that it works best to precook the bacon before adding it to the mix to avoid the greasiness.
Pros: Good Value, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
burbankd
,Okinawa
,JA
Okinawa, Japan
February 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
February 20, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as written. While the overall taste was good the bacon grease ruined the recipe in my opinion. I will make it again but leave out the bacon entirely or cook it in the microwave on a bacon rack to remove the greasy taste from the finished product.
Pros: Adaptable
Cons: Taste, Unhealthy
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arronne
February 13, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Dish on a Winter Day
February 13, 2014
This is now one of my favorite dishes. I modified the recipe instead of a full bottle of pinot I used bottle of cooking wine and beef broth. And instead of potatoes I used egg noodles. Overall great dish and will make again.
Pros: Will Make Again, delicious
Review 4 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SunnyTex99
July 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy, elegant, and yummy!!
July 29, 2013
I had never had Beef Bourguinonne before I made it and I loved it. It was easy and tasty. I made it for family and they loved it. It's in my repertoire for my go to elegant meal.
Pros: Impressive, make ahead
Review 5 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bntr
March 13, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
bland and terrible
March 13, 2012
I followed the recipe to a T and it was awful. Bland. A not so good beef-stew. Not worthy to be called beef bourguignonne
Cons: Taste
Review 6 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
GourmetMama
,MN
Fergus Falls, MN
March 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not impressed.
March 6, 2012
This is nothing more than beef stew. I was expecting a lot more from this recipe and it just didn't meet my expectations. Good thing my guests were my extended family as they weren't impressed as they usually are with WS recipes. I would not make again nor would I recommend.
Cons: Taste
Review 7 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookiefan
,Madison
,Wi
March 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy and absolutely delicious
March 2, 2012
it is absolutely delicious, I cooked it in a Le Creuset cocotte for 3 hours instead of a slow cooker and the result got the whole family thrilled!
Review 8 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goodygirl17
,Garden Grove
,CA
February 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for entertaining
February 29, 2012
This is the best Beef Bourguignonne
recipe I have found. It is very flavorful and elegant enough to serve for a dinner party or to just have a cozy meal at home with family. This makes alot but it freezes very well.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again