Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne

A traditional dish from Burgundy, France, beef bourguignonne is a savory stew of meat and vegetables braised in red wine. Here, we prepare the stew in a slow cooker, which produces tender, succulent results. Beef demi-glace adds depth of flavor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
20 of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
Review 1 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
burbankd
,Okinawa
,JA
Okinawa, Japan
February 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
February 20, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as written. While the overall taste was good the bacon grease ruined the recipe in my opinion. I will make it again but leave out the bacon entirely or cook it in the microwave on a bacon rack to remove the greasy taste from the finished product.
Pros: Adaptable
Cons: Taste, Unhealthy
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arronne
February 13, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Dish on a Winter Day
February 13, 2014
This is now one of my favorite dishes. I modified the recipe instead of a full bottle of pinot I used bottle of cooking wine and beef broth. And instead of potatoes I used egg noodles. Overall great dish and will make again.
Pros: Will Make Again, delicious
Review 3 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SunnyTex99
July 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy, elegant, and yummy!!
July 29, 2013
I had never had Beef Bourguinonne before I made it and I loved it. It was easy and tasty. I made it for family and they loved it. It's in my repertoire for my go to elegant meal.
Pros: Impressive, make ahead
Review 4 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bntr
March 13, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
bland and terrible
March 13, 2012
I followed the recipe to a T and it was awful. Bland. A not so good beef-stew. Not worthy to be called beef bourguignonne
Cons: Taste
Review 5 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
GourmetMama
,MN
Fergus Falls, MN
March 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not impressed.
March 6, 2012
This is nothing more than beef stew. I was expecting a lot more from this recipe and it just didn't meet my expectations. Good thing my guests were my extended family as they weren't impressed as they usually are with WS recipes. I would not make again nor would I recommend.
Cons: Taste
Review 6 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookiefan
,Madison
,Wi
March 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy and absolutely delicious
March 2, 2012
it is absolutely delicious, I cooked it in a Le Creuset cocotte for 3 hours instead of a slow cooker and the result got the whole family thrilled!
Review 7 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goodygirl17
,Garden Grove
,CA
February 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for entertaining
February 29, 2012
This is the best Beef Bourguignonne
recipe I have found. It is very flavorful and elegant enough to serve for a dinner party or to just have a cozy meal at home with family. This makes alot but it freezes very well.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CookinCubsFan
,JACKSONVILLE
,Fl
December 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth a second chance
December 25, 2011
Followed the recipe meticulously with quality ingredients. Cooking for 8 hours on low seemed to kill the taste; it was pretty bland....this was our Christmas dinner and really needed a boost. Added more salt and pepper, but it was finally a touch of tomato paste that brought it to life. Beef stew, nothing more.
Luckily some delicious roasted baby reds served alongside (Williams-Sonoma Christmas cookbook) saved the day.
I'm determined to try again, but won't cook it to death for 8 hours.
Pros: Adaptable
Cons: Texture, Taste, Appearance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Tommac3645
Orange County, ca
Posted April 2, 2014
I tend to agree
Braising the meat should work but it doesn't. Boiling meat will alway tend to come out tasting like boiled meat.
I just watched a cooking show, same thing with the pressure cooker... So they used a hot cast iron pan to sear after cooking. Hard to say if any flavor remains. Maybe the meat needs to be added pre cooked or roasted.
Slow cooker seems ok meats like brisket.
I am going back to roasting oven etc.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LilaG
,San Antonio
,TX
December 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Devine
December 13, 2011
Great comfort food, easy, delicious, and impressive. A great dish to share with family, friends and dinner guests.
Make this one, you will be glad you did.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 10 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vickic9
Chicago, Il
June 16, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and delicious!
June 16, 2011
Other than having to brown the beef, this recipe takes no time, is so easy and absolutely delicious. I made it the night before a dinner party and gently re-heated in the oven. I should have doubled the recipe as it was gobbled up.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 11 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BaltimoreBrian
Baltimore
March 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent! Makes a lot!
March 5, 2011
I made this recipe two weeks ago and it was very simple and pretty quick once you have everything measured out. Only 2/3 would fit in my 6 quart slow-cooker so I cooked the rest in my oven. Both batches were excellent. Three hours in the oven at 300 F and 8 hours in the slow cooker on low.
I used less than half the oil called for and also trimmed the beef and bacon of fat. The beef still browned just fine and the flavor of the stew was still excellent, there was just less fat to skim off the next morning. I also used the mushroom demiglace and it made it fantastic. Highly recommend trying this.
A note of caution: For whatever reason, I needed to buy another bottle of wine. There was not nearly enough liquid. I heated this with another tablespoon of the demiglace. Then everything worked out just fine.
Delicious over egg noodles. I will definitely make this again.
Review 12 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StewtheJew
Lawton, OK
February 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ahaaaaaaaaaaaa
February 19, 2011
This is one of those recipes that when you find it you use it again and again. The first time I made Beef Bourguignon née was for Sunday dinner. Things did not work out for the families that were coming over for dinner (5 pm). So I put the slower cooker liner in the refrigerator and left it for 4 days. Finally on Thursday everyone could come for supper (7 pm). I first skimmed off the fat that had solidified on top of the meat. Then I put the liner in to the slow cooker base and put the temp setting on low. When I got home the meat was ready to serve. I served mine with mash potatoes. Everyone raved about the dish with most asking for seconds. I used a chuck roast which I cube for my meat plus added more carrots. Ok Ok the chuck roast was cheaper hence my nick name. Hey I never use a wine that I would not drink. Your family will love it.
Review 13 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
REscalera
Geneva, NY
January 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved It!!!
January 13, 2011
This is a great recipe. I made it for dinner sunday. Cooking the beef took a while, but worth it. My fiance who is very picky also loved it so much that he called people over to have some. I did use Shiraz instead of Pinot Noir because it's what I had at the house. I will be making it again.
Review 14 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HappyHikerGirl
Madison, NJ
November 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Long time to Prepare, but Delicious
November 18, 2010
The preparation: cooking the beef in batches took much longer than expected, but it was well worth all the time and effort. It was delicious and there was plenty for freezing! Great recipe. I served the Beef Bourguignonne over egg noodles.
Review 15 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Califcooker
Orange Co., Calif.
November 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and easy!!
November 2, 2010
Love this recipe! I made it last week to rave reviews despite the sacrilege of leaving out the mushrooms. (Teenage daughter.) Will make it "with" next time.
I browned everything the night before, threw it in the crock pot and fridge. Deglazed the pan in the morning, before work, and added it to the crockpot on low. Think my teenaged asst. left it on longer than requested and it was still amazing.
Demi glace and used a good Shiraz (all I had) very importatnt.
OMG-amazing dinner over noodles with a salad! Mmm, I want to make it again now. :)
Review 16 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FancySchmancyNancy
Providence, RI
August 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everyone is impressed
August 18, 2010
I have made this recipe many times for many different people and everyone is always impressed with how delicious it is. I've even prepared it the night before and served it the following day on an overnight sailing trip. (in that case I add the potatoes to the slow cooker)
I also agree with some of the other reviews that polenta or mash potatoes go well with the meal.
Review 17 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cajngrl
The Woodlands, TX
August 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very yummy!
August 16, 2010
This was simply wonderful..NOT simple to make BUT the taste was superb! The aroma while cooking was unbelievable too. The kids didn't like it, but the adults loved it. GREAT recipe!
Review 18 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NickSF
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
June 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Well worth the effort.
June 16, 2010
Plan on spending at least half a day preparing this dish. This is not a dish where you can cut corners in terms of prep or cooking time.
As with most braises, the taste will round out more if you let it sit for a few hours after it is done cooking.
In return for all this hard work, you will be rewarded with plenty of compliments, not to mention the taste and texture of a dish that commands serious respect in the culinary world.
The classic accompaniment is boiled potatoes sprinkled with chopped parsley, but give wild rice a try also -- it pairs very well.
Accompany with a full-bodied red, but keep in mind that this is versatile enough to pair well even with a pear-tinged, acidic whites.
Review 19 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bunnyf
Boston, MA
May 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super Comfort Food
May 18, 2010
Great winter entree and very easy to prepare, the result was scrumptous. I think it works well served over polenta (WS recipe) or mashed potatoes.
Very impressive for dinner guests. I find
all recipes I use from WS to be excellent.
Review 20 for Slow-Cooker Beef Bourguignonne
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KPowderSki
New York City, NY
May 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beef Bourguignonne
May 3, 2010
This stew is good but is a little more work than the Hearty Beef Stew. Used a full bottle of wine and the demi-glaze is a must.
page1 2 next