Beef Bourguignonne

Traditionally, the mushrooms in this classic French dish are gently sauteed in butter and added toward the end of cooking. Here, we caramelize the mushrooms and include them in the braising base for more depth of flavor. Be sure to use a good-quality wine for this dish. A good rule of thumb: if you wouldn't drink it, don't cook with it.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Beef Bourguignonne
Review 1 for Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grandbaby3
,Londonderry
,NH
February 16, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for company
February 16, 2014
I used this recipe for a Valentine's Day dinner and it was delicious. The veal demiglace added a great, rich flavor to the dish. I followed the recipe exactly, cooking in the oven for 2 1/2 hours. I then transferred to a crockpot to keep warm until dinner. I also par boiled, then sauteed some carrots and added those to the crockpot. I served it over paparadelle pasta. This is a really good make ahead dish that you can easily keep warm in the crockpot. Delish!
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kmurr3
October 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great meal!
October 4, 2012
I made this dish last night for my husband and myself and it was a big hit! My husband told me this is a new favorite dish and he cannot wait for me to make it again! It was really easy to make and the directions made it very simple to complete but the dish is time consuming. The meat was so tender, the sauce was wonderful, and the dish looked amazing when it came out of the oven. I will certainly make this dish again.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 3 for Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ckkeel
,Keller
,Tx
September 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely amazing
September 4, 2012
I saw this recipe in a catalogue and put it in
my favorites list for later because it looked really good. I tried it tonight and it was amazing. my family went nuts and couldn't believe how good it was. It is time consuming but well worth the effort. I will diffently make this one again!
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 4 for Beef Bourguignonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FrequentPurchaser
,Washington
,DC
July 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+16points
17of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding!
July 29, 2012
There is no other way to explain this dish besides outstanding! The complete recipe can feed 8 adults, but it is very easy to half the recipe for a family of 4. If you don't have a cast iron pot you can also use a crock pot, but sear the meat before adding so it cooks properly. Use a bit of the beef stock to release the goodness left over in the pan and add it to the pot as well.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Will Make Again