Beef Barley Soup

A garnish of sour cream and chopped dill gives this hearty soup a Russian flavor. Serve with dark rye bread for a complete meal.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Beef Barley Soup
Review 1 for Beef Barley Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Minty17
,Lancaster
,PA
November 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Satisfying and Richly Flavored
November 3, 2013
We made this using frozen cooked farro and it was awesome. I added extra broth (about 4-6 cup of beef broth and 2 cups of water) since the other reviewers said it was so thick. The flavors are rich and meaty and so delicious. Definitely add fresh dill anbd yogurt at the end. It makes it!! I will absolutely make this again.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance
Review 2 for Beef Barley Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alicja1
,Chicago
,IL
October 17, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect dish for cold days
October 17, 2013
This is not first time I cook the soup. Instead meat with bone, I use meat for stew. Taste rich. It is a good idea for cold weather.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Healthy
Cons: Taste
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Beef Barley Soup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
amijoyeux
,Chicago
,IL
February 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cooks long, worth the wait
February 14, 2013
Perhaps it's just me but I find myself always reducing the amount of meat in WS recipes. Instead of 3lbs bone-in, I used 1lb of high quality stew meat. Since my meat was boneless, I added the barley to the first boil which reduced the cooking time by an hour. Also, I found myself constantly adding more water throughout the cooking. When it was ready, I served it with a dollop of mild goat cheese instead of the sour cream. It was definitely a crowd pleaser! I think it could easily serve 8 as well. Will share with friends and make it again.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 4 for Beef Barley Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1greatcook
Colorado
March 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An amazing soup
March 9, 2011
I made this soup after receiving the recipe from an in store cooking demo. The soup is almost the consistency of a stew. I used a 14 ounce can of diced tomatoes in place of the tomato puree, and it was wonderful! The recipe says it makes 6 servings, however, I found that it easily could serve 8.
Review 5 for Beef Barley Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consumer2
Monarch Beach, CA
November 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crowd pleaser
November 29, 2010
I brought this meal over to a friend's house and it was consumed by many different palates and declared a winner. The recipe resulted in a more stew-like texture than a soup. It was easy to make, but there was a lot of clean up. This recipe will be made often. Delicious!
Review 6 for Beef Barley Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gerda83
New York, NY
August 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious & worth the work! Make more & freeze!
August 24, 2010
This is a very thick soup, but it is sooo very good. The mushrooms and the herbs definitely give it the extra oompth. My family doesn't like beef, so I made it with veal, came out great. It freezes really well also, so make more to have something substantial when you don't have the time to cook. A must-try!
Review 7 for Beef Barley Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laura2
Kingston, MI
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mmm Mmm Good!
May 14, 2010
This is some of the best soup I have ever made. The cremini mushrooms and fresh dill put this soup over the top!
Review 8 for Beef Barley Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ljf0625
Newbury Park, CA
May 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comfort in a Bowl
May 1, 2010
I couldn't get shanks so I used extra lean stew meat instead and cut back on the amount of butter. I cooked it according to the recipe and it turned out great. Dill is such a strong herb so I held back a bit, but had some chopped...just in case someone needed more. I am always searching for great soup recipes...and I am really interested in light/low fat/healthy types. This fits into that category after cutting back on the butter. This is really good....it has great flavor and texture....not too thick and not too thin. It's was very comfortable :) Will definitely make again and again and again!