Beef and Broccoli with Oyster Sauce

A concentrated dark brown sauce with a slightly sweet, smoky flavor, oyster sauce is made from dried oysters, salt and water, with cornstarch and caramel added for consistency and color. The sauce originated in southern China, where cooks use it as a seasoning, drizzling it over simply cooked vegetables or mixing it into a meat and vegetable stir-fry. Oyster sauce also can be served as a dipping sauce for roasted meats. Avoid the least expensive products, as they lack a rich oyster flavor. Once opened, oyster sauce should be stored in the refrigerator.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Beef and Broccoli with Oyster Sauce
Review 1 for Beef and Broccoli with Oyster Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sauve
,Vierville-sur-mer
October 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I will serve this to guests coming next month
October 13, 2013
I test drove this recipe this week because we expect guests next month. To meet my requirements the recipe must be delicious, of course, but it must be quick to prepare and to clean up after. It must also be pleasant and safe to eat because no guest wants to spend the evening wearing a shirt where the food dripped. There are a lot of ingredients but all of this can be prepared before and the assembled as when the cooking starts. Also the cost is reasonable. I couldn't find some of the ingredients the recipe called for but substitutions, like dry white wine instead of rice wine, worked just fine. I will be adding mushrooms to this recipe in the future.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Beef and Broccoli with Oyster Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ymwelcom
,Marietta
,GA
Marietta, GA
July 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy weeknight dinner
July 16, 2012
This is a very quick dinner you can prepare. I didn't have peanut oil so I used canola oil instead. (I didn't use any oil in the sauce)
I served with rice and it was delicious!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Beef and Broccoli with Oyster Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
July 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Tasty
July 9, 2011
This was very tasty and easy to make. If I could, I would give it 10 stars!
Pros: Quick, Easy
Review 4 for Beef and Broccoli with Oyster Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kisses4thecook
Stockton, Ca
December 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Seconds anyone?
December 4, 2010
Wow! This is the best beef and broccoli recipe I have ever tried. I used hosin sause instead of oyster sauce just because I ran out. The dish was a huge hit with my husband and kids :)
Review 5 for Beef and Broccoli with Oyster Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ljf0625
Newbury Park, CA
June 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No Need to Go Out For Chinese!
June 20, 2010
I am not a huge fan of restaurant Chinese food, it's way too salty. This recipe was was quick and easy and delicious. I served it over brown rice to round out the meal, and the family devoured it! This will go into my recipe rotation!
Review 6 for Beef and Broccoli with Oyster Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kellybelly
Washington, DC
June 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for an easy weeknight meal
June 8, 2010
I have started adding this to the regular dinner rotation. I changed the recipe a little bit by adding sesame oil and using brown sugar instead of regular. I tend to eyeball measurements, so I adjust the different amounts to taste. I was a little scared of oyster sauce to begin with, but the flavor in this recipe is phenomenal (and oyster sauce is actually pretty good)!