Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Basic Pie Dough
Review 1 for Basic Pie Dough
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BooBe
December 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
0of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
incomplete recipe?!
December 25, 2013
I am sure this is a great recipe but why no bake temp and time?! My pie calls for a baked crust before putting in the pie filling and Im very frustrated!
Cons: no cooking instructions?!
Review 2 for Basic Pie Dough
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blackberrybay
August 21, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply the Best!
August 21, 2013
This is my go-to pie crust for both sweet and savoury pies. I can always count on a consistent and impressive outcome. The dough is super easy to make and work with.
Pros: Quick, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Basic Pie Dough
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MiniBooger
,San Jacinto
,CA
December 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy & Tastes Good!
December 27, 2011
I made an apple pie this past Thanksgiving using this dough recipe and had MANY compliments. This will be my staple moving forward.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Basic Pie Dough
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yesplease
Alexandria, VA
July 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Crust, Every Time
July 21, 2011
I have used this recipe time and time again over the last two years, and am always completely satisfied with the result. The crust is flakey and buttery and wonderful. It is so easy and versatile: for quiche omit the sugar, for tarts add a little extra. I find I rarely need more than 3 TBS water added. And the hour in the fridge really helps ease the roll-out.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Basic Pie Dough
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AlisaDiomin
San Diego
July 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Pie Dough Ever
July 11, 2011
I loved it, it came out flaky and delicious. My new go-to pie dough
Review 6 for Basic Pie Dough
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LisaNT
January 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Pie Crust
January 8, 2011
I used this pie crust for an apple pie, blueberry pocket pies, pumpkin pie, and a pecan pie and it was wonderful. This is so much better than purchased crust or package mixes. It is a lot tastier than recipes with vegetable shortening instead of butter. People who normally just eat the filling and leave the crust, ate this crust.
Review 7 for Basic Pie Dough
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
movinonmom
Frazier Park, Ca
November 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Pie Crust Ever!
November 28, 2010
I used this recipe for my Thanksgiving Carmel apple pie and it was not only very easy but was the best tasteing crust that I have ever had! It will be my "Go To" crust for sure,next I will try to make it savory by adding herbs to it for pot pie. I did make it exactly as the recipe is written and everyone commented how great the crust was.
Review 8 for Basic Pie Dough
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Sacramento
November 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too much salt
November 19, 2010
Good pie crust but way to much salt, reduce the salt and it will be right on.
Review 9 for Basic Pie Dough
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apolline
Boston, MA
September 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy as Pie!
September 11, 2010
I love to make homemade pies but have always used a box mix for the crust. I tried this crust and was very pleased. It would be perfect for any type of pie and was so simple that I'll never lay eyes on a pie crust box mix again! This recipe is just as easy to make and tastes much better!
Review 10 for Basic Pie Dough
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenniferK
Chicago, IL
August 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Pie Crust for First Timer
August 6, 2010
This is the first pie crust I have ever made from scratch, and it was perfect and pretty easy. I've made it with several pies now, and I always get rave reviews.
Review 11 for Basic Pie Dough
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bethdh
Passaic, NJ
June 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious every single time!!
June 7, 2010
I have done this recipe for every pie I made and everyone loves my pie crust! Even I eat the whole crust its so good!
Review 12 for Basic Pie Dough
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Riley5050
Portland, OR
May 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this dough!
May 4, 2010
This recipe is super simple and creates the best crust ever! I will no longer buy pre- made crusts for any of my pies. The finished product is crispy and people notice that it is from scratch. I have had so many compliments on this crust. A recipe box staple.
Review 13 for Basic Pie Dough
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fieryredhead1
Yorba Linda, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
quick, easy and flaky
April 30, 2010
I have made this pie dough twice, and both times it came out light and flaky. Instead of hand or mixer, I used my food processor. It not only made dough faster, it came out just as flaky and tender. However, if you use the food processor, you must have all ingrediants ready to go, pulse only in short bursts and do not overmix. The short pulses act like a mixer and if done right, will make a perfect crust. My only problelm is not making a flaky dough with this recipe, but fluting the edges. All in all, this is a great recipe for pies, rustic tarts and mini pies,