Balsamic-Marinated Hanger Steak

In this recipe by Chef Bryan Voltaggio, a balsamic vinegar-based marinade gives a flavor boost to hanger steaks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Balsamic-Marinated Hanger Steak
Review 1 for Balsamic-Marinated Hanger Steak
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TioMio
November 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You have to love gourmet separates!
November 11, 2011
What is so genius about this recipe is how easily I've been able to replace proteins, as well as swap out the sides & sauces in other recipes. I've used the sauce on other cuts of steaks, lamb, pork. The leeks, the polenta also excellent with chicken, rabbit, squab. I can't wait to get the new Voltaggio cook book - their recipes may look like haute-couture but are simple to mix into the wardrobe ;-)
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Balsamic-Marinated Hanger Steak
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
babskitchen
Near Seattle WA
April 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceptional blend of flavors
April 15, 2011
When I try a recipe I follow it to the letter..this was easy to do as the directions are clear and easy to follow . I also like to combine not often used ingredients and this recipe filled that bill. The capping plus is that it was beautiful on the plate as well as to the palate.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 3 for Balsamic-Marinated Hanger Steak
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SWJW
Baltimore, MD
January 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flavors! Perfect for a weekend dinner.
January 23, 2011
We were thrilled with the final outcome of this meal. All the flavors work so well together - everything came together beautifully on the plate.
We couldn't find hanger steak so we substituted flank steak and we also grilled it outside instead of cooking it in a pan. I can't imagine it could come out much better! Another thing was that we couldn't fine nice fresh arugula as it is out of season. We ended up with less than 1oz, so the sauce was more a parsley sauce. It still worked well with all the other flavors - I cant wait to try it again in the summer when we can get all the right ingredients.
I would say we are moderate foodies, and we really enjoy spending a night in cooking together. this recipe was not overly complicated so if you enjoy cooking I say go for it!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
elrod1
denver colo
Posted April 6, 2011
meat cut
what cut of meat is called a hanger steak
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Balsamic-Marinated Hanger Steak
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JelliB
Chicago, IL
January 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+16points
17of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good, nicely balanced meal for minimal effort
January 9, 2011
It looks like a lot to do, but this is actually a pretty easy meal to prepare and one thing can be cooking while you work on another. The steak was fabulous - though I expect the quality of your balsamic etc would make a difference and I also added garlic. We also made this with flank steak as our butcher did not have hanger steak on short notice. The cauliflower was really good - even my 3 year old loved it. The polenta was good, but I have to admit I don't personally love polenta - it is just sort of plain to me - but it worked well with this dish. The arugula sauce also on its own was okay, but complimented the sweet and salty of the meat quite nicely. Overall, an impressive meal that came together in about an hour and a half (minus the time for marinating the meat)!