Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops

Seasoned with balsamic vinegar, bacon and fresh thyme, these pork chops come together quickly. They're perfect for a weeknight supper with the family or a dinner for guests.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
Review 1 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gryphonisle
,San Francisco
,Ca
September 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous! (With Half the Sugar and No Bacon!)
September 20, 2014
Have I become the founding member of the Enough Bacon Now! Society? Bacon Everywhere was amusing for five minutes!
This recipe is easy to follow, produces stellar results and makes for a simple yet elegant entree worthy of entertaining. And if you do some editing, the flavor returns to the adult sort of tastes one used to cultivate. 1 tablespoon of sugar is more than enough, I will omit even that, next time. Caramelizing the onion in bacon fat adds more than enough flavor, I didn't use any actual bacon and the taste was still to die for. My first attempt went with the double thick pork chops which proved a bit excessive, standard thick cut should be fine, and for those with smaller stomachs, the standard cut pork chop---1/2" thick would still do nicely. All in all, a lovely excuse to buy more pork chops and basalmic vinegar!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Ingredients, unnecessary sugar and bacon
Review 2 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crazycookdeb
,Alvarado
,tx
April 18, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing taste
April 18, 2014
This was so easy to prepare and the sauce was incredible! Made my taste buds pop.I would think you could use this recipe with chicken as well. Yummy!
Pros: Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Farmerlou
,Conception Bay South
,NL
March 25, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious & Versatile
March 25, 2014
I made this recipe as written with pork chops to rave reviews. The following week I repeated it with skinless turkey thighs & it was equally delicious.
Making it again for a dinner party this weekend with pork loin chops....yummy!
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kerkyra76
,Redondo Beach
,Ca
January 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One word: Fantastic!
January 24, 2014
I finally got around to making this dish. I didn't know what to expect, but based on the great reviews.... I had to try it! And boy what a hit! I felt like I was serving something out of Gordon Ramsey's kitchen. This is definitely a keeper. Hands down! Thank you WS!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WWNancy
,Northern
,CA
United States
October 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Dinner!
October 18, 2012
This recipe is very good; although I made some changes to cut down on the calories and fat content.
I skipped the bacon entirely. I used the 2 TB EVOO to sear the chops and added 2 tsp of butter at the end. I didn't use demi glace. Next time, I will use only 1 TB of the sugar.
I'm going to try this recipe with slices of pork tenderloin, and I'm sure it would be wonderful with beef madeallions, as well.
I prepared the recipe using the Calphalon satinless steel deep covered saute pan. I bought it when it was on special at WS a few years back, but I don't see the exact pan to recommend here.
I served the chops with risotto Milanese and mixed greens with balsamic vinaigrette and a bit of goat cheese.
I'm saving this one.
Review 6 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MintOne
,Lakewood
,OH
September 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as quick, but awesome!!
September 9, 2012
This was so delicious, the only thing I did differently was brine the chops the night before with a water/worcestershire/salt brine. They were moist and perfect. Had a fig balsamic that I used, and bacon grease to fry in (no bacon on hand either) - will make this again and again! I tossed some local root veg & cherry tomatoes in a roasting pan with some fresh thyme, rosemary and olive oil and baked while this was on the stovetop. Great and easy, not super quick, but done in about an hour and definitely worth making!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HeatherEm
,Toronto
,ON
July 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible
July 4, 2012
Have made this three times now and it's amazing. I tried it once each time with pork tenderloin medallions, bone-in chops and butterfly chops. All of them worked great. Make it!
Pros: Good Value, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Corpus Christi
,TX
February 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous and Impresses guests
February 27, 2012
When my husband wanted pork chops for his birthday dinner, I wanted to make them extra special and this recipe was that and more!! I bought beautiful, 1 1/2 inch thick Iowa chops at the local meat market and followed the recipe exactly. It took a little time but was soooooo worth it! I used this recipe again recently for company and they were very impressed, even asked for the recipe. With $16.00 in pork chops, I was able to put on a gourmet meal that really wowed 'em.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: took a little while to prepare but worth every min
Review 9 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kingjohn
,Baton Rouge
,LA
January 27, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous and quick
January 27, 2012
I've tried this with Beef Ribye, Veal Chops, and Lamb as well as Pork. I've even added Baby Bellas and used pearl onions. Splendid results without fail!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again