Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops

Seasoned with balsamic vinegar, bacon and fresh thyme, these pork chops come together quickly. They're perfect for a weeknight supper with the family or a dinner for guests.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
54 of 57(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
Review 1 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crazycookdeb
,Alvarado
,tx
April 18, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing taste
April 18, 2014
This was so easy to prepare and the sauce was incredible! Made my taste buds pop.I would think you could use this recipe with chicken as well. Yummy!
Pros: Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Farmerlou
,Conception Bay South
,NL
March 25, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious & Versatile
March 25, 2014
I made this recipe as written with pork chops to rave reviews. The following week I repeated it with skinless turkey thighs & it was equally delicious.
Making it again for a dinner party this weekend with pork loin chops....yummy!
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kerkyra76
,Redondo Beach
,Ca
January 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One word: Fantastic!
January 24, 2014
I finally got around to making this dish. I didn't know what to expect, but based on the great reviews.... I had to try it! And boy what a hit! I felt like I was serving something out of Gordon Ramsey's kitchen. This is definitely a keeper. Hands down! Thank you WS!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WWNancy
,Northern
,CA
United States
October 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Dinner!
October 18, 2012
This recipe is very good; although I made some changes to cut down on the calories and fat content.
I skipped the bacon entirely. I used the 2 TB EVOO to sear the chops and added 2 tsp of butter at the end. I didn't use demi glace. Next time, I will use only 1 TB of the sugar.
I'm going to try this recipe with slices of pork tenderloin, and I'm sure it would be wonderful with beef madeallions, as well.
I prepared the recipe using the Calphalon satinless steel deep covered saute pan. I bought it when it was on special at WS a few years back, but I don't see the exact pan to recommend here.
I served the chops with risotto Milanese and mixed greens with balsamic vinaigrette and a bit of goat cheese.
I'm saving this one.
Review 5 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MintOne
,Lakewood
,OH
September 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as quick, but awesome!!
September 9, 2012
This was so delicious, the only thing I did differently was brine the chops the night before with a water/worcestershire/salt brine. They were moist and perfect. Had a fig balsamic that I used, and bacon grease to fry in (no bacon on hand either) - will make this again and again! I tossed some local root veg & cherry tomatoes in a roasting pan with some fresh thyme, rosemary and olive oil and baked while this was on the stovetop. Great and easy, not super quick, but done in about an hour and definitely worth making!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HeatherEm
,Toronto
,ON
July 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible
July 4, 2012
Have made this three times now and it's amazing. I tried it once each time with pork tenderloin medallions, bone-in chops and butterfly chops. All of them worked great. Make it!
Pros: Good Value, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Corpus Christi
,TX
February 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous and Impresses guests
February 27, 2012
When my husband wanted pork chops for his birthday dinner, I wanted to make them extra special and this recipe was that and more!! I bought beautiful, 1 1/2 inch thick Iowa chops at the local meat market and followed the recipe exactly. It took a little time but was soooooo worth it! I used this recipe again recently for company and they were very impressed, even asked for the recipe. With $16.00 in pork chops, I was able to put on a gourmet meal that really wowed 'em.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: took a little while to prepare but worth every min
Review 8 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kingjohn
,Baton Rouge
,LA
January 27, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous and quick
January 27, 2012
I've tried this with Beef Ribye, Veal Chops, and Lamb as well as Pork. I've even added Baby Bellas and used pearl onions. Splendid results without fail!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cjbuddy
,Denver
Denver
December 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding!
December 4, 2011
Wow, SO SO SO SO good! Made as directed and served with mashed potatoes, green beans and a good cabernet. Made the special trip to WS for the demi glace and I have to say that with as yummy as this is I would NEVER skip it. Can't wait to make for guests!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TammyMTerreHauteIN
,TerreHaute
,In
November 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
MMMMMMMMMM Delicious!!!!!!!!!
November 2, 2011
Thank you Williams and Sonoma for sharing this recipe. It was absolutely delicious. I did make an addition . When carmelizing the onions I added Asparagus as well. When all ingredients had been added and simmered, I removed the asparagus and placed the chops back in. When chops were completed we served with the asparagus and mashed pototatoes. It was delicious!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 11 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ccompo
,San Francisco
,CA
October 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and easier than I thought it would be!
October 24, 2011
Made two at the same time, it was much easier than I thought it would be and they were sooo delicious.
Two issues I ran into were flipping the pork chops since they were so thick (tongs worked best) and not having demi-glace at my local grocery store (I skipped this step and I think it turned out fine). Also wasn't sure what to do with the bacon in the final presentation (chop, leave whole?).
Also, be careful if you do use the same hot oil for the bacon that you did for the pork chop - it will be simmering for longer than normal recipes and will be extremely hot.
Enjoy!
Pros: Good Value, Appearance, Impressive, tasty
Cons: Ingredients, very hot oil
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mpenn
,Scottsdale
,AZ
October 19, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious but time consuming
October 19, 2011
It was simple, but it took a while for the cooking. I would do it again though.
Pros: Will Make Again, delicious
Cons: Lengthy
Review 13 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Whutyen
San Jose, CA
September 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great with tweaking!
September 4, 2011
I followed this recipe to the letter. The pork chops were measured by the butcher at Whole Foods and I set the timer for each step. My stove is a gas Wolf Range, so I have excellent temperature control. Despite my care, the chops were undercooked. Disaster! Use 3/4 inch boneless.... I do not see the benefit of the bone in for this recipe at all. 1" this is too thick for the cooking time stated on the recipe.
Pros: Impressive
Cons: under cooked as written
Review 14 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
popamoffitt
Orangevale, Ca.
August 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A little work but well worth it.
August 25, 2011
Best darn pork chops i've ever cooked or eaten. I've given this recipe to several friends who all loved it. One of my go to recipes.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 15 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GE0Reubs
Houston, TX
July 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Like a meal at a 5-star restaurant!
July 8, 2011
One of the BEST dinners I've ever had. My wife and I absolutely loved this dish. It's elegant and very tasty.
Pros: Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 16 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
piglover
May 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good for a few or a crowd
May 22, 2011
loved it. easy enough that we made this while we were having apps and cocktails and it still came out great. we made it according to the recipe but fantasized about variations on a theme. the carmelization of the onions took a bit longer, but the reduction took less time.
Review 17 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stellou
Houston, TX
March 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and easy
March 20, 2011
This is probably the best recipe I ever tried for porc chops.
I didn't have any red onions so I subsituted them with shallots, which enhanced the sweet ingredients of this recipe.
This is a keeper recipe, and I will not hesitate to cook this for guests.
Review 18 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
anncf
rocklin, ca
March 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Company Dinner
March 15, 2011
I am always looking for good pork chop recipes and this is one of the best.
Very easy, no complicated ingredients and best of all, delicious!
Review 19 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cornsilkandwheat
Austin, TX
March 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Liked by all ages
March 14, 2011
These pork chops are fantastic! Every time I've made them, people ask for the recipe, and some have commented that it is "restaurant quality". It is also relatively easy to make. Follow the timing instructions EXACTLY...on the MINIMUM end...and they won't end up dry.
Finding the demi-glace is difficult...but not impossible in a large city, or online. I buy several packages at a time, so I can fix this whenever my craving hits. This has made it into my top five entree list.
Review 20 for Balsamic Quick-Braised Pork Chops
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jpez
Chicago
February 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Happy Husband!
February 15, 2011
Fantastic recipe! Super easy and absolutely delicious! The sauce has a deep, almost sweet, intense flavor. My husband absolutely loves this dish. I serve it on top of mashed potatoes accompanied by a salad. Red wine and the dinner is complete! Looking forward to impressing guests at my next dinner party! A must try!
page1 2 3 next