Baked Rigatoni with Sausage & Broccoli Rabe

This hearty baked-pasta dish includes cipollini onions, an Italian variety that is slightly larger than a boiling onion. (Cipollina means small onion in Italian.) These disk-shaped onions have a sweet, mild flavor and are ideal for roasting and braising.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Baked Rigatoni with Sausage & Broccoli Rabe
Review 1 for Baked Rigatoni with Sausage & Broccoli Rabe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amyjk
PA
September 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
to keep this fantastic dish moist...
September 9, 2010
...lower the oven temp to 350 F (everything is already cooked through anyway) and keep the dish covered with foil until the last 5 min, then sprinkle with the grated parmesan cheese and finish uncovered to brown slightly. i also bump up the wine to a full cup, but if you don't want that strong of a flavor you could also reserve 1/2 C of the pasta cooking water and add that to the pasta mixture to increase the moisture.
Review 2 for Baked Rigatoni with Sausage & Broccoli Rabe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IndytoDenver
Indiana
June 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Go To Favorite
June 15, 2010
This is one of my favorite recipes to take to family gatherings. The combination of flavors keeps everyone coming back for more. There is just the right amount of heat from the red pepper flakes, (those could easily be omitted if desired). I have used both broccoli rabe and broccoli before but found that broccoli worked better - for extra moistness and additional nutrional value. I've also found that cooking the pasta until there isn't any crunch left (which is cooked a bit more than I would usually do) also seems to work better. The garlic is rather hard to handle after cooking in oil, but a garlic press and clean hands suffice quite well. The wonderful flavor of this dish makes the work of peeling all of those garlic cloves worth it. I'm sure this recipe will stay in my collection for years to come - Love it!
Review 3 for Baked Rigatoni with Sausage & Broccoli Rabe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Swell007
Naples, FL
May 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Needed more
May 18, 2010
Pasta dried out in the oven. The entire dish needed to be tied together with a more wholesome sauce. I ended up adding more liquid for consistency.
Review 4 for Baked Rigatoni with Sausage & Broccoli Rabe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
melc12
Seattle, WA
May 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great recipe
May 16, 2010
This is a great dish and the brocolli rabe adds a unique flavor. I recommend using a little less sausage, about 1 lb. and a little more pasta but I love the cipollini onions with the garlic simmered in olive oil!
Review 5 for Baked Rigatoni with Sausage & Broccoli Rabe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ajoyce
New York, NY
May 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A little dry, but tasty
May 15, 2010
This dish was very flavorful and I would make it again. The pasta however turned out dry in the oven, and I'm not sure how to avoid that next time. Perhaps I'll take it out of the oven earlier.
Review 6 for Baked Rigatoni with Sausage & Broccoli Rabe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kate0111
Alpharetta, GA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for Entertaining
May 14, 2010
Excellent! Twice I have made this for entertaining a group of 8 - 10 and received many compliments on this after serving it. I would highly recommend it.