Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil

Enriched with two kinds of cheeses, this baked pasta showcases favorite summer vegetables at their seasonal best, including sweet corn, zucchini and fresh tomatoes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.871 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
31 of 31(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
Review 1 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tocsog
,Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale, FL
June 6, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceptional Flavor
June 6, 2013
Easy to make, with fresh flavors, and a nice texture with the corn. Great family meal.
Pros: Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ymwelcom
,Marietta
,GA
Marietta, GA
August 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lots of veggis!
August 5, 2012
I made this dish tonight since I got most of the vegetables at farmer's market. I cut the recipe in half and we still have some left overs for tomorrow.
I used fresh mozzarella and put it on top with Parmesan cheese.
I also used a little less oil.
I used some mini tomatoes instead of regular tomatoes and cut them in half. I could use some more corns as the corn I used was small.
This is a great way to eat lots of veggis!
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Chandler
,AZ
July 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible Flavors & Textures
July 26, 2012
Wow is this dish good. I made it with less zucchini and more cheese, but everything else the same. I wanted to make it for my vegetarian husband but everyone in the family loved it. I especially loved the fresh corn kernels. They added a wonderful pop to the texture. I intended to do the prep the night before after reading some of the reviews but didn't get time. It ended up okay; took me about an hour and fifteen minutes from start to finish.
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, tasty!
Review 4 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jkm246
July 13, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing and full of flavor!
July 13, 2012
This was ssooo good. I wanted to make it as the recipe says before I altered, and I'm glad I did. I would say either sausage or ground turkey would be a good addition if you want meat, but I found it delicious and satisfying without, and so did my boyfriend. It is a lot of chopping, but I found that each step has to cook long enough that I could chop as I went, which saved some time. Also, it reheats great.
Make this. You'll be glad you did.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Impressive
Cons: Lengthy
Review 5 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Monty324
April 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flavor and combination
April 22, 2012
I haven't put it in the oven yet but I already tasted it. It's great, I'm afraid I will eat the whole pan. I didn't have tomatoes so I used half a can of Rotel and it's great
Review 6 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beehive
Atlanta, GA
August 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flavor
August 24, 2011
I omitted the zucchini because my kids don't like it, and added some Italian chicken sausage for additional protein. Even my husband, who doesn't eat a lot of pasta, ate 4 bowls! It was gone in a day.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pennoppom
Denver
July 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the work!
July 14, 2011
The prep is extensive, and I might cut back on the Zucchini just a little in the future. Overall, it was very delicious, and made plenty to take for lunches throughout the week. My mouth is watering thinking about it!
Pros: Yield, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 8 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kbm5678
San Francisco, CA
July 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing pasta dish
July 5, 2011
Best vegetarian dish I've made in years. It takes a while to prep, but worth every second. Made it last night (again) and everyone loved it! Fresh herbs are a must!
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 9 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
michi123
Las Vegas, NV
June 22, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everyone loved it
June 22, 2011
My kids,husband, and I loved this! I did use some red and orange peppers In place of some of the zucchini like one reviewer suggested.
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 10 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IheartWS87
San Francisco, CA
May 16, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My FAVORITE dinner recipe!
May 16, 2011
I substitute three large bell peppers (one red, one green, one yellow) for the zucchini, and the pasta always gets rave reviews! Very easy, very delicious -- my family asks me to make it every time I cook!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 11 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tiki
Palo Alto, CA
November 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very special pasta dish!
November 1, 2010
I thought this was just delicious! Made it for a family birthday dinner. One family member is vegetarian, so added grilled sausage along side for the rest, but didn't need it at all. I doubled the onion, but otherwise followed the recipe. Takes some time to make, but I made it to the point of baking yesterday and baked it tonight. Served it with a nice salad and garlic bread. I will make it again for sure!! Wonderful!
Review 12 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
viva
Montreal, QC
September 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Make more for a lunch at the office !
September 13, 2010
Delicious ! And easy to do ! Often we have Zucchinis and do not know what to do with them ! The corn gives it a great taste !
Review 13 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sind66
Oak Lawn,IL
September 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Summer on a Plate
September 7, 2010
I couldn't believe how sweet this dish was. The key is fresh produce, if you have a Farmer's Market nearby get your ingredients there. In the midwest we have fabulous summer sweet corn so I double up on that in the recipe, I also cube the mozzarella rather than shred, it's more pronounced that way. Tasty & healthy seasonal meal.
Review 14 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
becki
mckinney tx
August 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My VERY favorite recipe so far!!
August 31, 2010
This recipe is absolutely the best, most delicious pasta/veg casserole I have EVER tasted. WELL worth the rather involved prep time... I used a little less zucchini than it calls for. I just can't express HOW GOOD it is!!
Review 15 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bm23
Boston, MA
August 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flavorful and Delicious
August 29, 2010
Full of great veggies and flavors. I used feta instead of the recommended cheeses (since it's what I had) and it was fantastic. Also left out the tomato paste so that the tomatoes, etc. would be less of a sauce and it was light and delicious. Stuck pretty close to other directions, and it was a fairly simple recipe with a lot of possibilities.
Review 16 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MHall
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
July 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Recipe!
July 28, 2010
I love this recipe. I have made it a few times and this is a great, easy ingredient dish to prepare.
Review 17 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
F00000d
July 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good comfort food meal
July 26, 2010
I liked the simplicity of the dish but didn't think it deserved the 5 stars everyone was giving it... for me it was a good dish but it wasn't amazing
Review 18 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cvbpa
Philadelphia, PA
July 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Incredibly Delicious!
July 22, 2010
Wow. I made this because I had most of the ingredients already on hand from the farmer's market. While it took a little longer to prepare before being able to put it in the oven than I had anticipated (could have partially been due to the fact that we have a tiny kitchen), it was so worth it! I halved the recipe and baked it in a 9" le creuset skillet, which was perfect. I did use more basil and oregano than called for, only b/c I had so much and didn't want to risk it going bad. My husband went back for 2nds and remembered the leftovers for lunch (him remembering to bring lunch attests to how good this dish is!). I already plan on making it for a family get-together this weekend.
Review 19 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pattyk
Brooklyn, Michigan
July 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great fresh meal
July 17, 2010
My daughter sent me the link to this recipe, and it is delicious! The flavors are very well balanced. We cut the recipe in half and it fit perfectly in the 10" nonstick All Clad fry pan.
Review 20 for Baked Penne with Corn, Zucchini and Basil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
momof11
Fremont, CA
July 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Restaurant Quality
July 9, 2010
This dish was fabulous. It tasted like an expensive Italian Restaurant dish, yet was easy to make at home. My teenage boys loved it.
page1 2 next