Baked Halibut with Salsa Verde

If you prefer the sauce to have a mellower garlic and herbal flavor, you can blanch the garlic and herbs before combining them in the food processor. Bring a small saucepan of water to a boil, add the garlic and cook for 1 minute. Add the parsley and tarragon and cook just until wilted. Drain into a fine-mesh sieve and set the garlic and herbs aside to cool briefly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Baked Halibut with Salsa Verde
Review 1 for Baked Halibut with Salsa Verde
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
publicsen
September 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fresh and fairly simple
September 21, 2012
Very tasty herb sauce but next time I would make more of it than is advised to allow for more to spread over rice or an accompanying vegetable. Overall the dish is quite good but cooking the halibut requires longer than is stated in the recipe and I found that tricky to get right, timewise. I loved the use of fresh herbs though and the flavor complemented the fish well. I wasn't jumping up and down about it but did enjoy the meal.
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Impressive
Review 2 for Baked Halibut with Salsa Verde
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cherribomb
,San Francisco
,CA
June 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent sauce but Halibut needs longer!!
June 5, 2012
We absolutely loved how fresh and easy this sauce was to make. Delicious and fresh on the fish! I served the fish on top of a bed of sauteed lemon-garlic spinach and topped w/the salsa verde.
However, 5-8 minutes at 300 was not nearly enough time to cook the thick, lovely pieces of halibut I bought for this recipe (and we like our fish very minimally cooked!!). I upped the temperature to 350 and cooked the fish longer. I used 1lb of halibut and cut it into 3 filets. Each was over an inch thick.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost, cooking time and temperature seem off
Review 3 for Baked Halibut with Salsa Verde
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jmull6
,Scottsdale
,AZ
May 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved this Salsa Verde
May 14, 2012
I was invited to a friend's house where this dish was served for dinner, and I loved it so much I asked for the recipe. The sauce goes perfectly with halibut, and I have to say it was the best sauce of this kind i have ever tasted. We had steamed asparagus with the halibut, and the sauce was good with that, too. I asked about the ingredients before tasting it, and I was wary of the anchovy paste, because I don't like anchovies, but I couldn't even taste it. Such a great combination of flavors. I can't wait to make it for myself.
Pros: Quick, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive
Review 4 for Baked Halibut with Salsa Verde
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KLarson
Vancouver, B.C.
April 19, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Light
April 19, 2011
I made this for a quick and easy dinner. The sauce was very light, fresh, and healthy. My bf and I gave it a 3 out of 5 because 2 cloves of garlic was WAY to much. It was almost spicy. But the herbs were great! And I didn't use the anchovy paste or tarragon. The reason we love halibut is because it's not such a fishy tasting fish, and I couldn't find fresh tarragon in my grocery stores. I will definitely use this recipe again, but i'll use 1/2 of the garlic.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Cons: Taste, Ingredients
Review 5 for Baked Halibut with Salsa Verde
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vivki
Chicago, IL
May 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Fish
May 24, 2010
I made this last night for dinner. It was quick and easy and really, really good. I used Cod as that's what I had on hand. I didn't prechop or zest the ingredients. I just threw them all in the food processor and blended it all up. The marinade was fantastic all by itself. It woul be great on nacho chips or crackers or maybe on cheese..