Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote

This appetizer can be made up to 2 weeks in advance. Assemble the pastry, cheese and apple compote, but don't brush the dough with the egg wash. Instead, wrap the pastry tightly with plastic wrap and freeze until ready to bake. Then brush the frozen pastry with the egg wash and bake in a 350deg.F oven for 45 to 50 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
Review 1 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Firemansgirl78
July 3, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Star of the Party
July 3, 2014
The baked Brie was the hit of the party and made for a beautiful presentation. This recipe was easy to assemble and was absolutely delicious! Do not skip the cardamon! It really brightens up the apple compote.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KatherineAgnes
,San Marcos
,CA
January 5, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tastes great - more details required
January 5, 2014
I made this for family Christmas dinner. I purchased a round of brie. Does one remove the outside crust from the brie: just the top, or top and sides? Also the frozen puff pastry came with two 9 x 9 sheets. I used one and rolled it out to make it 10 x 10 or should I have used both sheets? After a little time in the oven, the outside pastry crust cracked and the brie spilled out . My family loved the taste and most of it disappeared, but it didn't look like the photo. Did not spend $12 for a bottle of cardamom, so I used cinnamon. the apple compote tasted great. I would make this again if I could get some more details of where I went wrong.
Pros: tasted very good
Cons: Confusing, need better instructions
Review 3 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lilcheph
October 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So yummy!!
October 2, 2013
I made this for a group of my friends and it was delicious!! The whole appetizer was gone!! I didn't have cardamom on hand so I used cinnamon. I plan on making a few to put in my freezer for when I need an appetizer. This is a definite make again!!!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chriscancook
,Palatine
,IL
Palatine, IL
December 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Perfect Appetizer
December 26, 2012
I made this for our Christmas party. Everyone absoultely loved it!!!
It was very simple to make. I made it ahead of time so all I had to do was put it in the over on Christmas day.
I did substitute cinnamon for cardamom, but, it was delicious. I will definitely make this again. Thank you!
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeaKC
October 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
October 25, 2012
This was really good. I made it for a dinner party and everyone raved about it. It was super easy as well. Will definitely make again!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nettkitten
,Stafford
,VA
July 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All occasion pleaser!
July 30, 2012
From the tea table to the party buffet this recipe is a smash hit! Easy, elegant and versatile, I've had rave reviews every time I make it. Lovely with afternoon tea, perfect for dinner and holiday parties all year round. You cannot go wrong with this one! Add some chopped pecans and dried fruit (I like golden raisins, dried cranberries or chopped dates) for variety.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, Quick, Easy, Versatile
Review 7 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
melanielovestocook
,Toronto
May 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Make Ahead App
May 24, 2012
This is one of my favourite recipes when I need something that can be prepared ahead of time.
One word of caution: If you are NOT freezing it ahead of time, then do not put any of the apple compote on top of the brie round as the pastry will open up while baking. If you freeze it ahead of time, you can put compote on top as the pastry will stay together.
Also, if you are really short on time, you can use a fig jam instead of making the compote. It's still very delicious! I am thinking that I may even try a red pepper jam the next time I make this, to give it a savoury twist!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again