Bagel Strata with Sausage and Spring Vegetables

In our delicious twist on the classic strata, we swap in diced bagels for the usual bread cubes. As with other stratas, this one needs to be refrigerated up to overnight before baking, so it's ideal for entertaining. Just pop the baking dish in the oven the next morning and when your guests arrive, brunch will be ready to serve.
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Bagel Strata with Sausage and Spring Vegetables
Review 1 for Bagel Strata with Sausage and Spring Vegetables
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
woodlandbird
,Woodland Park
,CO
January 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Asparagus is the star of the dish
January 31, 2013
My boyfriend and I made this together for dinner on a snowy day. We used Udi's gluten-free multigrain bagels and did not have an issue with sogginess. It probably only needs 6 cups of bagel cubes - we found it a little too bread-y. We also used milk instead of half-and-half to make it less fatty. Neither of us like peas, so we doubled the asparagus. Next time, we will use two whole bunches of asparagus and double the mushrooms - there really didn't seem to be enough of either. But it was easy, warming, delightfully spicy from the sausage, and we had plenty of leftovers that froze and reheated very well.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Bagel Strata with Sausage and Spring Vegetables
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
feistyitalian
,Spokane
,Wa
June 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great and easy
June 13, 2012
This was made for a group of people asnd they all devoured it! Great tasting, good texture and nummy!
Review 3 for Bagel Strata with Sausage and Spring Vegetables
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cookingcay
,Sacramento
,CA
May 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious with changes
May 13, 2012
I tried this recipe as I was looking for something I could prepare the night before. I used the mini bagels from Sarah Lee and they had a nice sweetness to them. I too (like other reviewers) increased the sausage. Next time I would not use peas...either edanames or broccoli. No need to sauté the asparagus...would blanche also. Overall it is a great do ahead breakfast casserole
Pros: Healthy
Review 4 for Bagel Strata with Sausage and Spring Vegetables
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hotcinder
,Tucson
,AZ
May 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very dry and bland
May 11, 2012
I like all the items to make this but it is very dry with that much bread. not to much flavor.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: Taste, Cost, Unhealthy, Lengthy
Review 5 for Bagel Strata with Sausage and Spring Vegetables
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JaneP
,Southlake
,TX
April 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for Sunday Brunch
April 26, 2012
My brother and sister in law were visiting and we thought this recipe sounded good! We made some minor changes. We used four quality plain bagels cut in 3/4 inch cubes. We love the Ford farm coastal sharp white cheddar cheese and used twice the amount and twice the amount of mild Italian sausage called for in the recipe. Instead of peas we used twice the amound of fresh asperagus cut in small pieces and did not saute them first. We prepared the casserole the night before so we could pop in the oven the next morning. It was a great success!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Bagel Strata with Sausage and Spring Vegetables
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pastoranne
,MI
April 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Things Learned
April 23, 2012
Some suggestions after trying this recipe: use REAL bagels...not the supermarket kind that are just bread dough formed into a donut shape. We used multi-grain bagels and after toasting they tasted no better than croutons. Will use the spicy Italian sausage (probably turkey) next time and increase it to 8 ounces. My friend wants to use skim milk...but I'm not sure...I will add the cheese to the egg/milk mixture rather than combining it with the bagel/meat. Also see no need to sautee the asparagus...will blanch it and chop in 1-inch or slightly larger pieces (the 1/2-inch pieces were lost among the peas). Look forward to serving this for after-church brunch on Sunday.
Review 7 for Bagel Strata with Sausage and Spring Vegetables
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Odette
,Los Angeles
,CA
April 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and good!
April 15, 2012
I used 2 plain Bagels and 2 Onion Bagels. Also added 3/4 cup of onions and hot sausage instead of plain. Made it a day and a half before serving.
Easy and good! Guest loved it!
Pros: Easy