Baby Bok Choy and Beef Noodle Soup with Warm Spices

Peppery, piquant and with a slight lemony edge, fresh ginger invigorates any dish to which it is added. This simple meal-in-a-bowl gets its warm flavor from ginger, as well as from cinnamon and star anise. Garlic and chili paste lend pungency; chewy noodles and tender slices of beef add heartiness.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Baby Bok Choy and Beef Noodle Soup with Warm Spices
Review 1 for Baby Bok Choy and Beef Noodle Soup with Warm Spices
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Sarasota
,FL
September 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Authentic, Fragrant and Delicious!!
September 29, 2013
Big fan of authentic asian foods and when I found this recipe I ran right out to get the ingredients. Unfortunately my Whole Foods was out of every type of star anise, so I went without.
I also substituted soy sauce with Braggs Liquid Amino Acids, but had forgotten how much saltier Braggs is compared to regular low sodium soy sauce. Next time, I'll cut the Braggs in half.
This soup would be amazing on a cold night!! Everyone that tasted in loved and and wanted the recipe! Great soup.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Baby Bok Choy and Beef Noodle Soup with Warm Spices
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PotsPansandSpatulas
,San Antonio
,Tx
September 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy delicious comfort soup
September 18, 2013
Ingredients are easily found at basic supermarkets, the instruction is clear easy to follow and yes it does smell and taste like Asian food. - it was quite delicious, my husband gave it two thumbs up. I loved the spicyness not much not to little, spot on. My cinnamon fell apart and I had to fish out pieces but aside from that, it's a keeper!! May use cheesecloth next time to hold cinnamon, ginger & star anise. Just cause it's easy to fish out. - go make this soup!! Thanks WS!!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Baby Bok Choy and Beef Noodle Soup with Warm Spices
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
budgiemom
February 6, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome, and yes, Asian!
February 6, 2012
With regard to the last review, this dish is actually quite authentic in Asian flavors, however not the typical flavors you would have at an American Chinese restaurant. This dish uses the traditional Chinese five-spice blend of flavors, and it is fabulous. It has some serious kick, so if you are not a fan of spicy foods, you might steer clear. I substituted cabbage for the bok choy since I had it on hand, and it was great. We'd been craving five-spice soup and this fit the bill wonderfully!
Pros: Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Baby Bok Choy and Beef Noodle Soup with Warm Spices
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NewYorker79
February 4, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-7points
1of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Horrible! Weird flavors.
February 4, 2012
This dish was horrible! In no way is this Asian. Its basically beef and noodles in a cinnamon soup! Though my house smells pleasant from the cinnamon and ginger, I couldn't stomach the bizarre flavors of this dish.
Cons: Taste, Ingredients
Review 5 for Baby Bok Choy and Beef Noodle Soup with Warm Spices
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glia
,Portland
,ME
January 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Turn up the heat!
January 15, 2012
This is a fantastic taste experience! A bit spicy for the timid, however perfect for a meduim heat lover. Didn't find whole star anise and used a few whole cloves and 1/4 tsp of caraway seed to substitute. Also made it with coconut oil not canola (that stuff is bad for you). Also used rice noodles to make it gluetin free.
It makes a nice large pot, next time I will set aside some stock and raw bok choy for another day. The bok choy cooks quickly so watch the pot. Going back for seconds the bok choy was overdone for me. This is a wonderful soup and will be saved as a new favorite.
Pros: Yield, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again