Apple Pie

Follow these instructions to prepare the perfect crust for your apple pie. Decorative piecrust cutters are used to create the lattice top.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
24 of 24(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apple Pie
Review 1 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AshleyV1983
February 25, 2014
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOTS of work, but AMAZING
February 25, 2014
I cooked this for christmas, and then again recently for another event. It took me forever to make the pie. However, it was well worth it, and I did it the second time knowing how long it would take. It probably took two or three hours of active work, plus downtime for pie crust (I used a different recipe for crust - the lando lakes butter recipe). Turned into more than a half day affair. But was raved about at party.
I had to add some extra sugar as it was too tart initially, probably because I had put lemon juice on my apples as I cut them to keep them from browning - something I think, in retrospect, was unnecessary.
I think the key to this recipe is the use of two different types of apples, and precooking the apples before baking the pie.
I did a closed top the second time, as I didn't have my cutters at home.
I topped it with a sweetened creme fraiche that I made myself, and WOW was it good.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KNic
November 26, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Apple Pie
November 26, 2013
I have been making this pie for a few years now during the holiday season, and it is requested again, and again, and again. This pie has very quickly become the favorite of both my family and my in-laws. I probably wouldn't even be allowed entrance to holiday dinners without the pie at this point! Every time someone new tries it, this is their new favorite apple pie.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeeJaneEat
,Issaquah
,WA
November 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
November 15, 2013
I used organic honeycrisp apples and my own whole wheat oil crust and this was delicious. Loved it and will make it this way again.
Whole wheat oil crust
2 1/4c sifted whole wheat pastry flour
1/4 tsp salt
2/3 c canola or sunflower oil
1/3 c milk
Whisk dry together. Put together oil and milk in measuring cup. pour a at once into dry ingredients and toss lightly with a fork until combined. Roll out separate 2 crusts between wax paper.
Review 4 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CraftyCook
,Carlsbad
,CA
November 8, 2013
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Apple Pie!
November 8, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, and my pie turned out perfectly. I've tried other apple pie recipes, but this one is by far the best. As a personal preference, I always use granny smith and honeycrisp apples. The perfect combo of tart and sweet. I used a mini apple cookie cutter to make the lattice top -- so cute! Friends & family now ask for me to make this pie every holiday season, joking that I should open up my own bakery.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Summerville
,SC
June 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beyond Delicious
June 24, 2013
I made this for my husband and his fellow firefighters for a dinner function. I was fairly easy to put together and flavor was perfect! This pie was talked about all night long! My husband told me to never lose this recipe. You cannot go wrong with this recipe!
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoyousL
,The Hague, Netherlands
March 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastico
March 15, 2013
After making this pie one does feel rather obligated to write a review. Over the years sometimes I cook, sometimes not, but I always make at least 2 apple pies a year for my dad. This recipe is probably the quickest and most delicious I've found yet. Quick, painless and great results.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kg123
,Biloxi
,MS
October 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Pie EVER!!!!
October 22, 2012
This was my second time ever making homemade apple pie bc last one years ago came out really liquidy. But this was far from it and was so amazing! I made 2 of them and used all Granny Smith apples(20 apples was a PAIN to peel and cut but worth it). Everyone couldn't stop raving about my pies, so i guess i will be making them again for thanksgiving! The only issue i had was trying to make the dough in my 3 cup food processor, it worked, but had to split the ingredients in half to fit in them, and then worked both parts together. Also, I found that the dough is too hard when you take it out the fridge and will need at least 10-20 mins to soften. Other then that, the pie was pretty easy to make, just very time consuming!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Brittany88
Santa Cruz, CA
Posted October 31, 2012
Same Problem
Oh my gosh, I had the exact same problems! Made them work, just like you, and the apples are currently on the stove. Nervous, it's my first pie. Wish me luck, hopefully they'll look as gorgeous as yours!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
saradara
,Healdsburg
,CA
Healdsburg CA
September 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect in every way
September 2, 2012
Having tried many apple pie recipes, I have to say "this is it". It was flawless--crust was great and flaky, filling cooked perfectly and nicely seasoned. It was a huge hit and my guests fought over who would take home the last piece.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
xX909
,Phoenix
,Az
June 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutly perfect!!!!!
June 27, 2012
Awesome works so good and it's so beautiful... <3 I was in Complete aww when I saw how great this works it's my first deep dish pie dish and I dont regret buying it, and ou won't to
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 10 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MiniBooger
,San Jacinto
,CA
December 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Anytime
December 27, 2011
I made this pie this past Thanksgiving and people were actually fighting over the last piece! I used the leaf cutouts as well and it looked so awesome. I can see that I'll be using this recipe again and again.
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 11 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AlisaDiomin
,San Diego
San Diego
December 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Apple Pie Ever!
December 9, 2011
I really really love this crust, it always comes out so flaky and delicious. Apple filling is wonderful, I like cooking on the stove beforehand so it is nicely cooked through in the pie.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 12 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CoralSpringsBakery
November 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the Effort!
November 24, 2011
This recipe is delicious and rather simple to make. I've already prepared it a number of times and it never ceases to amaze. Sometimes I use the dough and filling to make tiny "Apple Pie Balls". These are perfect for kids and a real treat to eat.
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 13 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julian617
,Braintree
,ma
October 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely delicious
October 23, 2011
I made this for a party, and everyone raved about it! I cooked the apples for 15-20 mins instead since I worried the apples would be too mushy, and in the end it still came out perfectly. I think it depends on how thin/thick you slice your apples. I made a lattice top. I also reduced the sugar to 1/3 instead of 1/2 cup and the sweetness was just perfect.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
5inME
Posted October 23, 2012
Thanks!
I worked on reducing the sugar as you suggested and the cooking time for the apples. YES! the result was "just perfect." It came out pretty too :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Apple Pie
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mangopapaya
May 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious apple pie
May 17, 2011
I'm not a huge apple pie fan but this recipe is nice. I use the leaf pastry cutters and the pie ends up looking beautiful.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 15 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chiro101
Sydney, Australia
May 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful and quick
May 6, 2011
This is the best apple pie I have ever had and I will never serve a frozen one again now that I have found this recipe! i just added a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the pie filling while it was cooking! beautiful!!!
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 16 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
inurse
College Station, Texas
December 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Basic Apple Pie
December 23, 2010
i made this pie for Thanksgiving and will make it again for Christmas Eve. This is a very good basic, deep dish pie. Beautiful with great eye appeal
Review 17 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
22310
Alexandria, VA
December 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Easy Recipe
December 15, 2010
I made this pie for Thanksgiving. It is a very easy recipe to follow. i used bought the pie crust mix from William Sonoma, which is wonderful. My dinner guest raved about the pie. Try it and you will fall in love with this recipe
Review 18 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tribeadgirl
Boston, MA
November 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for First Time Pie Maker!
November 27, 2010
I made this pie for Thanksgiving this year - my first pie from scratch ever . . . and it came out wonderfully. It's a super easy recipe and the cut-outs make even the most novice seem like a pro! Substitute the pink ladies with honeycrisp apples and it's still very tasty.
Review 19 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheGuy
Newbury Park, CA
November 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
To Die For Easy As Pie
November 26, 2010
I've never made a pie but this recipe made it seem like I could make any pie. Follow it exactly and your results will be amazing. I bought the Cuisinart Elite 16-Cup Food Processor (Stainless Steel) which made making the dough a snap. I also bought the Emile Henry Artisan Ruffled Pie Dish and the Fall Forest Piecrust Cutters which made my pie look like a pro made it. In the end, not only did my pie look great it tasted amazing. The crust was buttery and flaky. The filling was sweet and yummy. It was perfect. I was definitely the talk of our Thanksgiving dinner. Not bad for a guy that has never made a pie.
Review 20 for Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KPalbany
Albany, NY
November 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best apple pie ever!
November 25, 2010
This is absolutely one of the best recipes for apple pie. The mixture of apples provides a tart and sweet balance that's great. My husband LOVES it!
page1 2 next