Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce

Cranberry sauce has always been part of the traditional Thanksgiving menu. In the 1960s, an uncooked sauce of coarsely ground cranberries and oranges became a national favorite. But since then, the original quickly cooked cranberry sauce has regained its popularity, with many variations such as this one with apple, orange and a hint of spice.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
18 of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
Review 1 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeattleMan
,Seattle
,Wa
October 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to make
October 20, 2014
I made this to go with my bone-in pork loin roast. It was a nice addition. In reading the recipe, it seems to call for the juice of 1/2 orange for the liquid. This wasn't enough, so in addition to the juice, I used a cup of liquid consisting of water and orange juice. It worked well.
Pros: Easy
Review 2 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
orangerollbaker
,South Ogden
,UT
August 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
zest the orange instead
August 30, 2014
To simplify this recipe, I zest the orange instead and then add the zest and the juice of the orange with the other ingredients and then cook. Adds a bright orange flavor and in my opinion the orange flavor is better than boiling the rind My family goes crazy over this every Thanksgiving! Sometimes I add another 1/2 of an apple too! Excellent Recipe. Your kitchen will smell amazing!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CheryllH
,Lethbridge
,AB
December 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's a hit!
December 27, 2013
I will never buy another can of cranberry sauce after making this recipe. The only thing I would change is reducing the amount of sugar slightly. Everyone else thought it's the perfect amount of sweetness, so it's just a personal preference. It's so simple and everyone loved it!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Darcies
,council bluffs
,ia
December 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best so far in my search
December 26, 2013
Have been looking for a recipe with the tartness bitterness of an orange/tangerine rind included in it. This did it for me. I used just a bit less water and sugar and to me it was nearly perfect. I try a new recipe each year.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jennifer816
,Lexington
,KY
Lexington, KY
December 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I've never gotten so many compliments!
December 8, 2013
I made this twice in the last two weeks-on thanksgiving day and at a potluck post Thanksgiving dinner. It was well received both times from two different groups of people. While I was cooking it on thanksgiving day, everyone in my family remarked at how wonderful the house smelled. Cranberry sauce is usually very one note tasting, but this is a complex tasting dish with layers of flavor-tart, citrusy, sweet, a little spicy, and aromatic. My husband, who doesn't even like cranberry sauce, said it was really good!
My modifications: After reading other reviews, I used half the amount of rind the recipe called for (which gave it the right amount of citrus), increased the cinnamon and clove to slightly less than double, and I let it simmer for 30 minutes.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
logicalhenry
,Tamarac
,FL
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Finally a keeper!
November 30, 2013
In the past there was always left over, lost in the back of the fridge cranberry sauce weeks after the holidays...NOT this year! Amazing sauce, gobbled up by all. Can't wait to drizzle it on vanilla ice cream. Perfect mix of tart and sweet!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MaybeThisUsernameNotTaken
November 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fail recipe is fail
November 29, 2013
I really don't understand why this recipe is rated so highly - if you make it as-written, it will never gel, because it has double the amount of liquid needed. I highly recommend using a cup of apple cider. USE ONLY ONE CUP OF LIQUID. I made this work in time for t-day dinner, but only by dumping out the tons of extra liquid and using a single package of unflavored gelatin.
Cons: recipe is wrong!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DesireeV
Sunny FL
Posted December 20, 2013
Read the directions
The directions clearly state to drain the water off of the orange rind. You do not keep the water. You only keep the orange rind and add it to the rest of the ingredients. The only liquid added back in is the orange juice you squeezed out and reserved in the beginning.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
khoobunny
,San Jose
,CA
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yearly favorite for Thanksgiving
November 28, 2013
Easy to make, taste great and have been a favorite every year at the Thanksgiving table. The mixture of the orange, cranberries, apple and spices makes this a complex but delicious cranberry sauce to go with our turkey.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lippy
November 27, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
MORE DETAILS PLEASE
November 27, 2013
Do you drain the orange rind and save that? Or do you drain and save the water? How am I the only one to comment on the lack of details here?? Help please
Cons: Confusing
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
susan44
Posted November 30, 2013
Orange Rinds
I, too, was confused with the directions regarding the orange rinds and water but as I read further, the directions have you combine the apples with the orange juice, Orange Rind, sugar, etc. Hope this helps even tho its after the holiday!
0points
Customer avatar
DerekRapa
Philadelphia
Posted November 28, 2013
Same question
We had the same question and decided to save the rind, not the water with the rind. It was the right decision.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
foodstuff
,St. Augustine
,FL
November 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tried first time for Thanksgiving dinner
November 27, 2013
This recipe was the best idea, I've done to replace the traditional canned cranberry sauce. It had such great favors. Everyone should try this recipe!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, taste
Review 11 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Casncod
,Modesto
,CA
November 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Annual Tradition
November 23, 2013
I have been making this cranberry sauce for 20 years and it's always a hit. I'm going to can it this year and give it as gifts. Easy to make and for those of you with guests that don't like cranberry sauce, this will love this one!
Review 12 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TresChicChef
,Sandy
,ut
November 21, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Ultimate Thanksgiving tradition
November 21, 2013
I know for many families that Thanksgiving cranberry sauce plops out of a can in a gelatinous tube. Well this year, treat yourself to the Cranberry sauce that I have used for years. It is so good and makes your house smell so good. I eat it by the spoonful.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, smells wonderful
Review 13 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decorateme
,Toms River
,NJ
November 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My absolute favorite so I canned it
November 7, 2013
I make this every year and this year I jarred it so I can have it throughout the winter with chicken, pork and of course Thanksgiving Turkey. I love the warm spicy flavor of the cloves and cinnamon, this recipe tastes and smells like Christmas. My kids even love this. We went to my in-laws home last year and they were so bummed to have that canned cranberry sauce. The brightness of the orange with the warmth of the spices along with the bite of the apple really makes it great.
Pros: Appearance, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Buttercupnyy
Hewitt, NJ
Posted November 16, 2013
Looks beautiful in those jars!
Your jarred cranberry sauce looks so good it has inspired me to try "canning" for the first time! Thanks for posting! I am trying to figure out what size your jars are so mine can look the same!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
catjean
December 26, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Holiday Side
December 26, 2012
I've made this recipe twice. The second time I used only 1 TBS of orange juice and 1/3 of an orange rind because it had a strong orangy taste. Terrific!
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 15 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianMomOf2Boys
,San Diego
,CA
November 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
November 25, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe. I have been making a cherry cranberry sauce that I loved for years, but after trying this one, I won't go back. Everyone at Thanksgiving loved this recipe and asked for it again next year. My husband even loved it and he has never liked cranberry sauce before. I just made a second batch (it is very easy the second time) for left-overs because there wasn't any left over from Thanksgiving.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 16 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LadyGrinch
,Seattle
,WA
November 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Cranberry Sauce EVER!!!
November 25, 2012
Each Thanksgiving I make a different cranberry sauce. Sauces, chutney's, relish, compote, I've made a lot of them. This is THE BEST EVER sauce I've made. I made it first 2012 and I don't think I need to make a different sauce again. People rave about it. The first time my guest tried it at dinner, he groaned with goodness. I think it's a keeper, for sure.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 17 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HomeSousChef
,Santa Rosa
,CA
November 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thanksgiving Staple
November 23, 2012
I used this recipe for my first time making cranberry sauce. I found the orange rind to be overpowering so I left the orange out completely and replaced the orange juice with apple juice. It was a HUGE success during the holidays I will continue to use this recipe for many years to come!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy
Review 18 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
squeaks4722
,MI
November 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Will be doubling next year
November 23, 2012
Everyone asked for the recipe and loved it! A keeper for sure!
Pros: Easy, Impressive
Review 19 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
inadvertentfarmer
,kelso
,wa
November 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply Amazing!
November 21, 2012
Just made this but substituted one whole satsuma mandarin for the 1/2 orange...amazing! The only regret I have it that I didn't double the recipe. This will be a go to recipe each year!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 20 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KellyJean
November 19, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tried and True
November 19, 2012
I don't normally write reviews, but have to attest to just how good this is. I have made this recipe for years, and it is always requested by relatives for Thanksgiving. As a matter of fact, I misplaced my recipe and just looked it up this morning so that I can make it today. A must have for our family's holiday table.