Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce

Cranberry sauce has always been part of the traditional Thanksgiving menu. In the 1960s, an uncooked sauce of coarsely ground cranberries and oranges became a national favorite. But since then, the original quickly cooked cranberry sauce has regained its popularity, with many variations such as this one with apple, orange and a hint of spice.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
25 of 27(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
Review 1 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Honolulu
,HI
November 27, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Apple/orange cranberry sauce
November 27, 2016
I've been making this recipe for years and have had rave reviews from all who have tried it.
Pros: Quick, Will Make Again, delish!
Review 2 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Cape Cod
,MA
November 23, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A lovely and tasteful dish.
November 23, 2016
I decided to make this for Thanksgiving andI have to say, the reviews are correct. I have learned from a previous mistake not to overcook cranberry sauce because then it is too thick. This turned out perfectly. You can still see the cranberries and apples. Such a pretty dish with the bits of orange.
The only thing I would do differently and the reason I didn't give it 5 *s is to only put a tiny bit of cloves or use a bit of ginger. Cloves are strong!
Review 3 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Waupun
,WI
Wisconsin
November 22, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Our favorite Thanksgiving cranberry sauce!
November 22, 2016
I have made this every Thanksgiving for the last 4 years and it's always a hit. The tart cranberries are perfectly balanced with the sweet orange and apple and it makes a very complimenting sauce to your turkey!
Pros: Easy, Quick
Review 4 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
December 20, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZING HOLIDAY STAPLE
December 20, 2015
love, love, love this cranberry sauce. have served it on several occasions and everybody was always amazed and and asked for the recipe. i have frozen leftovers and they are just as good when thawed. definitely recommend!!
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,NY
November 9, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Ever!
November 9, 2015
I've used this simple recipe for a few years now and it just gets better each time. The flavor is even more amazing the next day so I'd prepare it a day or two ahead. I have started to modify the recipe and add 1/2 of a peach or pear, as well as substitute 1/2 cup of water for red wine. Original or modified - this recipe is a staple. Divine!
Pros: Healthy, Easy, Quick, Kid-Friendly, Good Value, Will Make Again, Adaptable, Appearance
Review 6 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Central Coast
,CA
November 26, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flavorable Cranberry Sauce
November 26, 2014
I just made this sauce for Thanksgiving tomorrow. I blended the sauce in my food processor so it has a smoother consistency & not so lumpy. It taste great! This is a keeper recipe!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Davie
,FL
November 24, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Takes some time, but so worth the effort!
November 24, 2014
I've been making this for my family & my friend's during Thanksgiving & Christmas for about 3 to 4 years now. It is a little time consuming, but definitely worth it. Everyone loves it!!! The really great aspect of the recipe, is that you can make it 2-3 days ahead of time, and just keep it in the fridge. It's good cold or room temperature. One suggestion: When you cut up the orange rind, make it as small as possible.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 8 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Seattle
,Wa
October 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to make
October 20, 2014
I made this to go with my bone-in pork loin roast. It was a nice addition. In reading the recipe, it seems to call for the juice of 1/2 orange for the liquid. This wasn't enough, so in addition to the juice, I used a cup of liquid consisting of water and orange juice. It worked well.
Pros: Easy
Review 9 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,South Ogden
,UT
August 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
zest the orange instead
August 30, 2014
To simplify this recipe, I zest the orange instead and then add the zest and the juice of the orange with the other ingredients and then cook. Adds a bright orange flavor and in my opinion the orange flavor is better than boiling the rind My family goes crazy over this every Thanksgiving! Sometimes I add another 1/2 of an apple too! Excellent Recipe. Your kitchen will smell amazing!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 10 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lethbridge
,AB
December 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's a hit!
December 27, 2013
I will never buy another can of cranberry sauce after making this recipe. The only thing I would change is reducing the amount of sugar slightly. Everyone else thought it's the perfect amount of sweetness, so it's just a personal preference. It's so simple and everyone loved it!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,council bluffs
,ia
December 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best so far in my search
December 26, 2013
Have been looking for a recipe with the tartness bitterness of an orange/tangerine rind included in it. This did it for me. I used just a bit less water and sugar and to me it was nearly perfect. I try a new recipe each year.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 12 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lexington
,KY
Lexington, KY
December 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I've never gotten so many compliments!
December 8, 2013
I made this twice in the last two weeks-on thanksgiving day and at a potluck post Thanksgiving dinner. It was well received both times from two different groups of people. While I was cooking it on thanksgiving day, everyone in my family remarked at how wonderful the house smelled. Cranberry sauce is usually very one note tasting, but this is a complex tasting dish with layers of flavor-tart, citrusy, sweet, a little spicy, and aromatic. My husband, who doesn't even like cranberry sauce, said it was really good!
My modifications: After reading other reviews, I used half the amount of rind the recipe called for (which gave it the right amount of citrus), increased the cinnamon and clove to slightly less than double, and I let it simmer for 30 minutes.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 13 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Tamarac
,FL
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Finally a keeper!
November 30, 2013
In the past there was always left over, lost in the back of the fridge cranberry sauce weeks after the holidays...NOT this year! Amazing sauce, gobbled up by all. Can't wait to drizzle it on vanilla ice cream. Perfect mix of tart and sweet!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 14 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
November 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
3of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fail recipe is fail
November 29, 2013
I really don't understand why this recipe is rated so highly - if you make it as-written, it will never gel, because it has double the amount of liquid needed. I highly recommend using a cup of apple cider. USE ONLY ONE CUP OF LIQUID. I made this work in time for t-day dinner, but only by dumping out the tons of extra liquid and using a single package of unflavored gelatin.
Cons: recipe is wrong!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DesireeV
Sunny FL
Posted December 20, 2013
Read the directions
The directions clearly state to drain the water off of the orange rind. You do not keep the water. You only keep the orange rind and add it to the rest of the ingredients. The only liquid added back in is the orange juice you squeezed out and reserved in the beginning.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Jose
,CA
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yearly favorite for Thanksgiving
November 28, 2013
Easy to make, taste great and have been a favorite every year at the Thanksgiving table. The mixture of the orange, cranberries, apple and spices makes this a complex but delicious cranberry sauce to go with our turkey.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 16 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
November 27, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
MORE DETAILS PLEASE
November 27, 2013
Do you drain the orange rind and save that? Or do you drain and save the water? How am I the only one to comment on the lack of details here?? Help please
Cons: Confusing
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
susan44
Posted November 30, 2013
Orange Rinds
I, too, was confused with the directions regarding the orange rinds and water but as I read further, the directions have you combine the apples with the orange juice, Orange Rind, sugar, etc. Hope this helps even tho its after the holiday!
0points
Customer avatar
DerekRapa
Philadelphia
Posted November 28, 2013
Same question
We had the same question and decided to save the rind, not the water with the rind. It was the right decision.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,St. Augustine
,FL
November 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tried first time for Thanksgiving dinner
November 27, 2013
This recipe was the best idea, I've done to replace the traditional canned cranberry sauce. It had such great favors. Everyone should try this recipe!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, taste
Review 18 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Modesto
,CA
November 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Annual Tradition
November 23, 2013
I have been making this cranberry sauce for 20 years and it's always a hit. I'm going to can it this year and give it as gifts. Easy to make and for those of you with guests that don't like cranberry sauce, this will love this one!
Review 19 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Sandy
,ut
November 21, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Ultimate Thanksgiving tradition
November 21, 2013
I know for many families that Thanksgiving cranberry sauce plops out of a can in a gelatinous tube. Well this year, treat yourself to the Cranberry sauce that I have used for years. It is so good and makes your house smell so good. I eat it by the spoonful.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, smells wonderful
Review 20 for Apple-Orange Cranberry Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Toms River
,NJ
November 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My absolute favorite so I canned it
November 7, 2013
I make this every year and this year I jarred it so I can have it throughout the winter with chicken, pork and of course Thanksgiving Turkey. I love the warm spicy flavor of the cloves and cinnamon, this recipe tastes and smells like Christmas. My kids even love this. We went to my in-laws home last year and they were so bummed to have that canned cranberry sauce. The brightness of the orange with the warmth of the spices along with the bite of the apple really makes it great.
Pros: Appearance, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Buttercupnyy
Hewitt, NJ
Posted November 16, 2013
Looks beautiful in those jars!
Your jarred cranberry sauce looks so good it has inspired me to try "canning" for the first time! Thanks for posting! I am trying to figure out what size your jars are so mine can look the same!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
page1 2 next