Apple-Cheddar Pie

Apple pie served with a slice of cheddar cheese is a traditional combination. In this delicious twist on the classic recipe, white cheddar cheese is blended into the piecrust.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apple-Cheddar Pie
Review 1 for Apple-Cheddar Pie
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Aaryn
,Flagstaff
,AZ
November 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overwhelming
November 21, 2011
I love the crust but think it would be better for a quiche or pot pie. We used sharp cheddar because it was the only white cheddar available and it made the crust very, very cheesy.
Maybe something is missing from this recipe because when it came to reducing the apple "juices" to 1/3 cup, I barely had any liquid at all. From my reading of the recipe, I had added at that point 1T butter and 1T lemon juice. I have no idea how anybody would have more than 1/3 cup at that point. I think the lack of juice led to the pie being a bit dry.
I would prefer to have the apples listed by volume rather than weight. I don't have a scale in the kitchen.
This dish was met with mixed results. In general, the men liked this dish and the women did not. This may be due to the lack of sweetness or the cheese crust.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Taste, Confusing, Lengthy
Review 2 for Apple-Cheddar Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookincookie
Marin, CA
September 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Family Favorite
September 13, 2011
I first made this for Thanksgiving 3 years ago, and since then have made it every year. I'm even baking it up today to celebrate the start of fall and the harvest!
In regards to the crust, the sharpness of the cheese most likely affects how strong it is. Our family loves the deep cheddar taste, but for those who prefer something lighter in cheese taste, I'd recommend using a mild cheddar versus a sharp.
Highly recommended!
Pros: Appearance, delicious!
Review 3 for Apple-Cheddar Pie
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KDH318
Saint Clair, MI
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A bit overwhelming
January 4, 2011
I made this pie for Christmas dinner. Both the filling and crust were very easy to put together and the directions were spot on for cooking time. When it came time to eat, I had several people reminiscing about the days when they served apple pie with a wedge of cheese. Having said that, most of the guests also felt that the cheese crust was a little overwhelming. The filling was delicious, but I would make it again using an all-butter pie crust as that is what most people expect now.
Review 4 for Apple-Cheddar Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Naples, FL
November 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Apple Pie Ever!
November 23, 2010
This pie has become a tradition in my family every holiday season. The crust is so delicious and is very easy to work with. It comes out picture perfect every time.
Review 5 for Apple-Cheddar Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pjwolfe
Atlanta
September 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of the Best
September 13, 2010
I have been making this pie for years and my family loves it while it does take some time to put together it is well worth the trouble. Our son who does not really like Pie looks forward to this one.