Acorn Squash Rings Glazed with Maple & Orange

So named because of its distinctive acorn shape, the acorn squash has ribbed, dark green skin that turns orange with storage. Its orange flesh is mild and sweet. Here, we combine acorn squashes with maple syrup and dried cranberries-favorite flavors of autumn-to create a warming side dish.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Acorn Squash Rings Glazed with Maple & Orange
Review 1 for Acorn Squash Rings Glazed with Maple & Orange
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lesvia
December 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely, crowd pleasing!
December 25, 2012
I enjoyed this recipe very much. It was easy to make and not too sweet, in spite of the maple syrup. Everyone liked them. Served it with turkey. I also cut the squash in half crosswise and then in strips lengthwise, which I found easier, yet nice for presentation.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Acorn Squash Rings Glazed with Maple & Orange
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ABC123Cook
October 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great side
October 18, 2011
I loved this recipe! It tastes great and the squash look like flowers. The only hard part is slicing the squash. You need a sturdy, sharp knife and the biscuit cutters may break if you do not cut the slices thin enough. So cut them thin and then bring this dish to your friend's house and wow them.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Acorn Squash Rings Glazed with Maple & Orange
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ahlee
Columbia, MD
November 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Thanksgiving Side Dish
November 25, 2010
This recipe got rave reviews at Thanksgiving dinner. I modified it by using butternut squash cubes rather than acorn squash. I prepared it a day ahead through the saute with orange juice, added the maple syrup and cranberries, let it cool, and refrigerated it. On Thanksgiving, I popped it in the oven for about 30 minutes while the turkey was resting. Easy and delicious.
Review 4 for Acorn Squash Rings Glazed with Maple & Orange
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clarejan
marblehaed, MA
November 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thanksgiving tradition
November 21, 2010
I have made this recipe for the past 3 thanksgiving dinners. It is very atttractive and has become a tradition. I microwaved the squash (after peicing with a knife) for a few minutes to soften them and then the slicing was quite easy.
Review 5 for Acorn Squash Rings Glazed with Maple & Orange
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jcereghino
Plano, TX
June 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Thanksgiving (or anytime) Hit
June 21, 2010
I loved this recipe, as did my family! You definitely need a sharp knife to slice into acorn squash, but they are worth the effort. The combination of flavors is perfect and the maple syrup creates that beautiful caramelization.
I transfered the acorn squash to a baking sheet and brushed them with the maple syrup mixture, rather than leaving them in the pan, for the last step; this helped the rings to caramelize.
I made this last year for Thanksgiving and have made it since, served alongside pork tenderloin. YUM!
Review 6 for Acorn Squash Rings Glazed with Maple & Orange
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kmosca
Rochelle Park, NJ
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Surprised this made WS's recipe box!!
May 14, 2010
Didn't like this AT ALL. Slicing the squash was a pain, baking took FOREVER and it didnt even taste good. Kills me to say that b/c this is the ONLY bad recipe (and Ive taken alot) I got from this website. I wouldnt even give it 1 star :(