6-Hour Chili

To ensure impeccably fresh meat, we recommend grinding it yourself with an electric meat grinder. Try using boneless chuck with some of the outer fat still attached.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for 6-Hour Chili
Review 1 for 6-Hour Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandyluv2cook
,Tahlequah
,OK
December 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Chili Recipe
December 6, 2013
My family loves this Chili. I do add a can or two of pinto beans with jalapenos for extra spice. I also tend to add the lesser amount of chili power. The chili has an excellent flavor and is adaptable.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for 6-Hour Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bduffy
,Mountain View
,CA
November 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent!
November 1, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. I think it would be great made as is, however, I did make a few minor changes (as I usually do with recipes). My family prefers to have some beans in our chili, so I made this using 3 lbs. of 93% lean ground beef and two cans of drained black beans. I ended up using 8 Tbs. high quality chili powder because we like things spicy. I also substituted masa harina for the cornmeal since I had some on hand and it's more flavorful.
Everyone raved about the chili and it's even better a few days later. We got 7 large dinner sized servings out of this recipe. This is my new go-to recipe!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for 6-Hour Chili
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MrsMitchell
,Blaine
,MN
April 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
April 4, 2012
I had been looking for a great slow cooker recipe for my family. I stumbled upon this recipe and was anxious to try it out. When we finally tried this recipe it was so disappointing. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone. I should have known something was off when I saw how much chilli powder was included in the recipe-even with the amount of ground beef it called for.
Cons: Taste
Review 4 for 6-Hour Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rsmithor
,Portland
,OR
March 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This Is My Go-To Chili Recipe
March 6, 2012
For more years than I can remember... "6 Hour Chili" recipe has been my go-to chili. I stumbled across it in a Williams-Sonoma Christmas catalog, under slow-cookers, side column... it was instant..."I've got to try this recipe" and was an tasty success. You can spice the recipe up. It's great with or without a beans... Sour cream, grated cheese, red onion toppings make this "go-to" chili recipe complete. Mm-Mm Good.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, Yield, Quick, Easy
Review 5 for 6-Hour Chili
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
megan51
,RI
Rhode Island
January 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great chili
January 26, 2012
I really liked this recipe. I made about a half recipe, using 1# of beef and about 1# of red kidney beans. I used dried beans, soaked overnight, and was concerned about them being done when the chili was ready, but it was perfect.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
megan51
Rhode Island
Posted January 28, 2012
1/2# of beans!
Sorry, I meant I used 1/2# of dried kidney beans!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for 6-Hour Chili
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Joyskitchen
,Mineola
,Ny
Mineola, NY
September 12, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hearty meal
September 12, 2011
I made this dish for a party this weekend. It was finished by the end of the night. I switched out 1 pound of meat for a can of kidney beans. I served it with tortilla chips, shredded cheese and red onions. It was good but could have been a little spicier.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 7 for 6-Hour Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joy1
Portland, Oregon
October 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy for a cold day!
October 31, 2010
We have made this for several years now, and find it to be very tasty! We do add beans and green pepper, and serve with feta cheese and red onion on the top!
we also use the best ground beef money can buy!
This is just such a great cold fall day dinner!
Review 8 for 6-Hour Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
polsby
Pasadena, CA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Chili
May 14, 2010
When the W-S catalog comes, I know for a fact that the recipes included will be great. When the issue came that was asking us all to purchase crock pots and below it was this fabulous recipe for 6-hour chili. It is unbelievable as to the taste. And the ease of preparation? All in one pot. I've given this recipe to so many people hoping that they'll enjoy it as much as my family does.
Review 9 for 6-Hour Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarbaraD
Valparaiso, IN
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for a cold winter night
April 30, 2010
I've made this 6-Hour Chili many times and have gotten many great comments on it. When I have leftovers, they are great too. I have also experimented a bit with this by adding different types of beans and some spices to make it a bit spicier but its also great by itself.
Review 10 for 6-Hour Chili
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CMK2
New Orleans, LA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Football Parties
April 30, 2010
I've made this a few times during football season (Saints games!) and love it because I don't have to stand over a stove all day. A couple of things I changed were using chopped tomatoes with green chilis in them - it just adds a little more to it - and adding a little bit of finely chopped jalapenos (just enough to taster). Otherwise, close to perfect chili recipe!
Review 11 for 6-Hour Chili
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DizzyJulie
Middle Tennessee
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wonderful winter treat!
April 30, 2010
I really enjoyed preparing this recipe. My family enjoyed the results!! The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because of the family split on beans or no beans in our chili! The flavor is wonderful and prep easy. worked great in my crock-pot and when paired with the Cheesy Mexican Cornbread recipe just a lovely warm meal on a wintry night!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
dannanj
Posted February 27, 2011
Cheesy Mexican Cornbread
Where did you find the recipe for the Cheesy Mexican Cornbread. I looked here and couldn't find it and would love to have it.
Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)