6-Hour Chili

To ensure impeccably fresh meat, we recommend grinding it yourself with an electric meat grinder. Try using boneless chuck with some of the outer fat still attached.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for 6-Hour Chili
Review 1 for 6-Hour Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandyluv2cook
,Tahlequah
,OK
December 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Chili Recipe
December 6, 2013
My family loves this Chili. I do add a can or two of pinto beans with jalapenos for extra spice. I also tend to add the lesser amount of chili power. The chili has an excellent flavor and is adaptable.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for 6-Hour Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bduffy
,Mountain View
,CA
November 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent!
November 1, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. I think it would be great made as is, however, I did make a few minor changes (as I usually do with recipes). My family prefers to have some beans in our chili, so I made this using 3 lbs. of 93% lean ground beef and two cans of drained black beans. I ended up using 8 Tbs. high quality chili powder because we like things spicy. I also substituted masa harina for the cornmeal since I had some on hand and it's more flavorful.
Everyone raved about the chili and it's even better a few days later. We got 7 large dinner sized servings out of this recipe. This is my new go-to recipe!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for 6-Hour Chili
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MrsMitchell
,Blaine
,MN
April 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
April 4, 2012
I had been looking for a great slow cooker recipe for my family. I stumbled upon this recipe and was anxious to try it out. When we finally tried this recipe it was so disappointing. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone. I should have known something was off when I saw how much chilli powder was included in the recipe-even with the amount of ground beef it called for.
Cons: Taste
Review 4 for 6-Hour Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rsmithor
,Portland
,OR
March 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This Is My Go-To Chili Recipe
March 6, 2012
For more years than I can remember... "6 Hour Chili" recipe has been my go-to chili. I stumbled across it in a Williams-Sonoma Christmas catalog, under slow-cookers, side column... it was instant..."I've got to try this recipe" and was an tasty success. You can spice the recipe up. It's great with or without a beans... Sour cream, grated cheese, red onion toppings make this "go-to" chili recipe complete. Mm-Mm Good.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, Yield, Quick, Easy
Review 5 for 6-Hour Chili
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
megan51
,RI
Rhode Island
January 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great chili
January 26, 2012
I really liked this recipe. I made about a half recipe, using 1# of beef and about 1# of red kidney beans. I used dried beans, soaked overnight, and was concerned about them being done when the chili was ready, but it was perfect.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
megan51
Rhode Island
Posted January 28, 2012
1/2# of beans!
Sorry, I meant I used 1/2# of dried kidney beans!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)