This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce

Turn your favorite pastas into harvest classics with our handcrafted sauce - you'll taste the rich, earthy flavors of fall in every bite. Our autumnal recipe combines slow-roasted pumpkin simmered with heavy cream and aged Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, then seasoned with fresh sage, caramelized onions and roasted garlic. Try it with everything from fettuccine and penne to ravioli and lasagna. 24.5 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.923 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
29 of 39(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mychols
,Long Beach
,Ca
October 20, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
BEWARE Vegetarians!
October 20, 2013
I should have checked before buying: THIS IS NOT VEGETARIAN for anyone that may think it is. I added my own homemade Vegetable Stock and tasted it and right away I knew something was off- it is flavored with Chicken!
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Flavor
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DebKC
,Phoenix
,AZ
October 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Different and Quite Good
October 7, 2013
The reviews of "grainy and thick" are amusing because what is real pumpkin anyway? Isn't pumpkin pie filling grainy and thick? Anyway, this was a delicious seasonal version of pasta sauce and made an excellent lasagna from the recipe provided online.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nccait
,Asheville
,NC
September 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Different and Delicious
September 19, 2013
Some of the reviewers have pointed out that this sauce is very thick...and yes, it is...it's pumpkin, which is much thicker than a tomato based sauce. I used it in the Pumpkin Lasagne and loved that thickness...it didn't run all over the layers and made a substantial casserole. The pumpkin flavor is subtle but it was there, not overshadowed by the cheese in the sauce. And the price works well if you are using it in a casserole where it feeds a large number of people. Will be going back to get more for the holiday baking.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mace
,CA
December 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Horrible...
December 17, 2012
I don't understand all of the positive reviews for this sauce! When I opened the jar, the product was so grainy, thick and dried out, I thought that maybe I had received a jar that had spoiled somehow. I prepared it to the jar directions and had it over some chicken tortellini... Yuck! So thick and nasty that it barely coated anything, mostly sticking to the tortellini in small areas in clumps. It had no pumpkin or really any taste, for that matter. I made the mistake of ordering the 2-pack... I am actually going to try and return the extra jar... It is that bad. And at $16.95 a jar, I expected something much better! VERY disappointing!
Pros: none
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hud18son
October 10, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Light Pumpkin
October 10, 2012
It's thick so I added some of the boiled pasta water to it. It's got a light pumpkin favor which I like. My 1 year old daughter liked it as well. We had it over Mushroom Ravioli and grated extra Parmesan over it.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Cons: Texture
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annapolis7280
,Annapolis
,MD
September 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Deliciousness in a Jar
September 9, 2012
This is one of my favorite sauces! It pairs perfectly with sausage and sautéed with any pasta but I love to make it as a baked ravioli with some Parmesan. The baked ravioli dish is my go-to quick meal for home but also great for bringing to a neighbors or a party that will guarantee you will not have any leftovers and people begging for the recipe!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camey21
,Cypress
,TX
October 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Perfect Thanksgiving Side Dish!!!
October 26, 2011
This was great!, I made whole wheat penne pasta and then poured the sauce over it. Once I mixed it together, I poured it into a greased 11x13 casserole dish and sprinkled with some really good quality parmesan cheese, baked it at 350 for 15 minutes and it was delicious!!!!!!! I am serving this at Thanksgiving
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skayj
,Okemos
,Mi
October 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Great product!
October 10, 2011
Most used as a pasta sauce with sausage..great combination. Another unexpected use is for pumpkin risotto..just thin sauce with chicken broth and finish with butter and extra Parmesan..tastes amazing!
Pros: Quality, Time-saver
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
severlupe
,st louis
,mo
st. louis
September 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Perfect pairing with chicken and sage
September 11, 2011
Always amazed when people just assume they pour and serve, especially with pasta sauces... Made this with ground chicken breast browned in sage infused olive oil, and served over rotini pasta. Family got upset when the pasta and sauce were all gone (they were eating it so fast it's kind of embarrassing). Terrific fall dinner option.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tabithalorraine
,Chicago
,il
September 8, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
I wait every fall just for this sauce!
September 8, 2011
Amazing sauce! Tried it with a pumpkin/zucchini lazagna recipe the WS associate printed up for me and it was to-die-for!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Flavor
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
genovr
greenwich village, NY
September 2, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
home run! with this sauce
September 2, 2011
my family is from northern Italy, we live on Pumpkin sauce...I looked all over for a suitable replacement for the homemade sauce and W-S hit a home run with this sauce...rich flavor and the strong taste of cheese...it was incredible! and I would highly recommend it with pasta or rice with chicken.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BklynKins
NYC
August 3, 2011
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Totally Blah
August 3, 2011
Sooo disappointed with this sauce. I've made pumpkin pasta sauce from scratch and was expecting a similar flavor. What a disappointment. No pumpkin flavor and the only thing I tasted was the extra parmesan cheese I added trying to doctor it up.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Annie813
New York
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Would not buy again
December 26, 2010
I was very disappointed with the way this sauce tasted.
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LASW
Pittsburgh, PA
November 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Nice pairing with Gnocchi
November 8, 2010
I made this last night with pumpkin sage gnocchi and topped each serving with crispy fried sage leaves in a brown butter & garlic sauce and it was a nice change to the traditional red sauce.
Very much enjoyed the subtle taste with the parm cheese; I am curious about the low ratings from others who might have expected a more pumpkin pie or sweeter taste, perhaps? But I found it to be wonderful and might add some maple sausage or other savory sausage to the mix next time. Will have to experiment with other combinations, as well but definitely 5 stars for me.
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GrandmaCooks
Tampa, FL
November 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Pumpkin Blah!!!
November 7, 2010
As much as I hate to say this about this sauce because I was looking so forward to Sunday dinner using this sauce on my favorite macaroni. This has to be the worse sauce I have ever had. I have used sauces from Williams-Sonoma for many years and have never had a complaint about any of them. I was just so upset over the overwhelming smell and taste that I just needed to say something.
You could probably use this sauce as an add to make a good pumpkin soup or to make a casserole with. It's usable but not as a sauce for pasta alone. It's just too strong tasting and smelling.
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ebeth
Davidson, NC
November 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Made into soup...absolutely delicious
November 7, 2010
The lady at the store recommended making this into a soup with potatoes, bacon, celery, onions, and chicken broth. I must say, it was incredible and highly recommend this idea to others!
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pbfaux
Lancaster, CA
November 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
pasty pasta sauce
November 4, 2010
I tried this last evening over pappardelle. It was too sweet for a main dish sauce and tasted like "just pumpkin"... no garlic, cheese. Would not buy again or recommend.
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HKMK
Rhode Island
October 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Disappointing!!!
October 24, 2010
Tastless and very salty! Looked forward to trying this item since we love anything made with pumpkin...could not even eat it, in the trash it went!
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Internationalcook
Chicago IL, Paris France
October 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Exceptional taste of fall sauce
October 12, 2010
I found this to be a delicious sauce! A very earthy and deep flavor. Creamy texture. Goes perfect with the fall seasonal vegetables and pasta. Served with Merlot = a savory and hearty meal. I find it interesting that reviewers either give this product 5 stars or 1 star - nothing in between. I guess I fall in the 5 star rating catagory. I will be buying this again, very impressed. Perfect for the refined palate.
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Pumpkin Parmesan Pasta Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BellaG
Falls Church, VA
October 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Best use of Pumpkin by far!
October 7, 2010
I bought this a few weeks ago, because i love anything pumpkin- but rarely use it in a savory manner. I made this over some curly noodles to soak up the sauce and presented it to some friends, and have turned all my friends to this sauce.
page1 2 next