Pulled Pork Starter

Our time-saving starter makes it easy to create your own rendition of the pulled pork sandwich, a classic with as many versions as there are southern barbecue cooks.A sweet and smoky blend of ingredients, including spicy brown mustard, tangy apple cider vinegar, savory chicken demi-glace, vine-ripened tomato and blackstrap molasses.The ingredients are slow-simmered for hours to achieve complex smoky-sweet flavors.Simply combine the starter with pork in a slow cooker or Dutch oven and simmer.1 lb. 10 oz.Made in USA..A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.361 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
53 of 61(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pulled Pork Starter
Review 1 for Pulled Pork Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
grammieS
,Erie
,PA
March 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WAAAAAY TOO HOT!
March 2, 2014
Label says sweet and smokey. Cooked 4 pounds of lean pork loin and I am very disappointed with the spice level. If I wanted it hot, I could have added heat. Very expensive to be so bad. I was raised in Texas and I love good barbeque. This is not it. Williams and Sonoma- you let me down!
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Flavor, too spicy
Review 2 for Pulled Pork Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect sandwich!
July 25, 2013
We put shoulder roast in our smoker all day, shred it and mix it with this starter, then into the oven for an hour. OMG good.....very tangy, just perfect!
Review 3 for Pulled Pork Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AllyC
,Houston
,TX
September 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this BUT...
September 9, 2012
I really love this starter as does my entire family. I have made it on 2 separate occasions. However, Williams Sonoma please eliminate the High Fructose Corn Syrup! Yuck! I really depend on Williams Sonoma to have high quality products, and was disappointed to see this on the label.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 4 for Pulled Pork Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lissi1969
,Ellicott City
,MD
Maryland
December 19, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
True Carolina People will not like this.
December 19, 2011
I tried this tonight in my crockpot. My husband is from North Carolina and knows good pulled pork. He made a sour face when he took his first bite. This sauce has way too much vinegar and has a fake pungent smoke smell and flavor. This is the first WS sauce that has not been a good one for us. Pretty disappointed. Will not be buying this again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Flavor
Review 5 for Pulled Pork Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
onlinefoodie
October 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great product, i made my own based on ingredients
October 12, 2011
excellent product, tried a couple times and then made my own starter based on the ingredient list
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining
Review 6 for Pulled Pork Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Missmissmissy
Georgia
August 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Pulled Pork
August 29, 2011
I made this on a Sunday evening so that supper would be ready on Monday after work. I used a pork butt and followed the directions for cooking in a dutch oven. The meat fell off the bone and was so easy to pull into pieces with two forks. I did add water to the sauce since it had thickened quite a bit after cooking for 3 1/2 hours. The result was an outstanding southern meal with pulled pork, cole slaw and baked beans. I'm looking forward to leftovers tomorrow.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Pulled Pork Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CubanSpice
Miami Beach
August 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummmy!!!!
August 13, 2011
My family love pulled pork during summer time and ofcourse I saw this the other day at the WS store and had to try it...well I made it today and wow it was a huge hit tonight. I really recommend this to everyone that love pulled pork
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, very tasty
Review 8 for Pulled Pork Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chuck49
Santa Rosa, Ca
July 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pulled pork sandwiches made great with this sauce!
July 11, 2011
I followed the directions on the jar except I put the pork shoulder into a slow cooker and followed the directions for the slow cooker. The results were the best dinner imaginable for our 4th of July weekend! I would recommend the sauce to anyone and I know my guests will order and tell their friends and family. This was the very first time I ordered anything from Williams-Sonoma. It certainly will not be my last. Thank you for a very special product. I'm quite sure all you offer is equally of great quality.
Review 9 for Pulled Pork Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KKipp
June 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AWESOME!!!
June 5, 2011
I used a nice 3 lb piece of pork shoulder from the butcher shop, seasoned it with kosher salt (ironic no?), pepper, and some garlic powder. I let the meat sit for about an hour in the fridge...then seared it off in a heavy dutch oven with some veg. oil...poured the sauce over the meat, covered the pot and popped it in an 325 degree oven for 3 hours & 15 min. The meat just fell apart...fabulous!!! I have made this several times and it never fails to please. It is so excellent I don't tell folks I used a jar :-)
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 10 for Pulled Pork Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Davis1295
Atlanta, Georgia
May 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Once delicious recipe changed
May 30, 2011
This was once one of my favorite starters from Williams-Sonoma. However, I believe they have recently changed the recipe, adding more vinegar and red pepper flakes. The flavor just isn't as balanced as it was before. Very disappointed.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 11 for Pulled Pork Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ngorden
San Diego, CA
May 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy with a Kick
May 23, 2011
Made this yummy pulled pork in my new crock pot (the new cuisinart exclusively for WS)...OMG the best sauce ever. It cooked all day (about 10 hours) and made the house smell heavenly. The pork just fell apart and the sauce is so tangy with quite a kick. Even the kids gobbled it up..made with grilled corn on the cob and coleslaw...i will be making this again. Great sauce WS :)
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 12 for Pulled Pork Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
malianewjersey
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
May 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Delicious, Easy to Make
May 19, 2011
This was such a delicious, easy to follow recipe for pulled pork! The seasoning level was perfect and tasted better than any pulled pork starter kit I've used before. Definitely will buy again.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 13 for Pulled Pork Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AndyAndPennysMom
NEAR MEMPHIS, TN-BBQ CAPITAL OF THE WORLD!
May 1, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
YUMMY BBQ--EASILY
May 1, 2011
I bought this to use with a boneless rolled pork roast. Since the rolled roast has twine holding it together, I did not brown it.
I simply put roast in slow cooker, poured starter over it and 7 hours later had DELICIOUS pulled pork BBQ. So easy, I bet my Hubby could do it!
I do wish I had held out a half cup to warm and pour over the pulled pork. But it was very tender and tasty.
I will get another couple of jars to have on hand--Hubby loved it too!
Oh--Hubby has been a judge more than a couple of times for the Memphis in May International BBQ Festival--so he knows his "Q".
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 14 for Pulled Pork Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ginger123
jersey city, nj
April 20, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
too much vinegar
April 20, 2011
too much; very bitter
not what we are used to from other Williams Sonoma products
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 15 for Pulled Pork Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NDFarmGirl
Rural ND
April 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZING COMBO OF FLAVORS!
April 20, 2011
Simply fabulous! I have tried many, many recipes from scratch to achieve a depth of flavor in Pulled Pork that does not taste like BBQ sauce and this by far out does any time consuming recipe I have ever tried. Worth every penny and you will get rave reviews from everyone. Super simple and wonderful flavors! I cooked it in my Le Cruset Dutch Oven & it's perfect every time! Planning to serve it at a special family function this summer in large quantities. It even leaves you with tasty and moist leftovers!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 16 for Pulled Pork Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dianel
Michigan
April 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy way to cook
April 8, 2011
I use this sauce as a starting point for my pulled pork.Adds a vinegary tang to the meat-but-still need to add my own barbeque sauce at end of cooking.I recommend you try this.It tastes so good and is so easy.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Flavor
Review 17 for Pulled Pork Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuzyQ1
Patterson, CA
April 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Easy and Great
April 5, 2011
My whole family loved this and it was even better the second day.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 18 for Pulled Pork Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jenbalaya
New Orleans, LA
March 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Even the boyfriend thought it was better
March 20, 2011
I've done my own recipe of pulled pork and this one, and my boyfriend and I both agree that this jar starter is simply the best. The flavor, the spice, and the EASE of doing it. It was absolutely delicious!
Review 19 for Pulled Pork Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kmv5810
PA
February 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the best, but filled our craving
February 4, 2011
I purchased the pulled pork starter because my husband and I are huge fans of pulled pork. It was super easy to use and made a ton. I wouldn't say it was the best pulled pork I ever had...but it was good enough to fill our craving. I would probably only use this again if I had a large crowd coming over...since it makes a ton!
Review 20 for Pulled Pork Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SearsPoints
Sacramento, CA
February 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Stuff
February 2, 2011
As advertised, good product. Everytihng was easy and good.
page1 2 3 4 next