Pulled Pork Starter

Our time-saving starter makes it easy to create your own rendition of the pulled pork sandwich, a classic with as many versions as there are southern barbecue cooks.A sweet and smoky blend of ingredients, including spicy brown mustard, tangy apple cider vinegar, savory chicken demi-glace, vine-ripened tomato and blackstrap molasses.The ingredients are slow-simmered for hours to achieve complex smoky-sweet flavors.Simply combine the starter with pork in a slow cooker or Dutch oven and simmer.1 lb. 10 oz.Made in USA..A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
6 of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pulled Pork Starter
Review 1 for Pulled Pork Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fernee
,Chicago
,IL
October 23, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A hit every time....
October 23, 2014
I make this every time for the office potluck. Everyone believes it is mine. Sure it is a little pricey, but if you cost out all of the ingredients it would take to make this sauce and the time, it is MORE than worth it to get this sauce.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 2 for Pulled Pork Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lalisa
,Baltimore
,Md
September 5, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everyone LOVES this, but...
September 5, 2014
Everyone Loves this! I have served it at fall parties and family gatherings. I am asked for the recipe often. However, I am disappointed to discover that High Fructose Corn Syrup is used in this. I try to avoid that ingredient, so I now I have a dilemma. I feel guilty feeding that ingredient to those I love. (or anyone)
Come on WS, use something else please.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: high fructose corn syrup
Review 3 for Pulled Pork Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Malza1113
,Chicago
,IL
July 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overwhelming vinegar taste
July 22, 2014
I have used WS starters in the past. Liked all of them, though not this one. If you are from the South and like the taste of a vinegar-based BBQ sauce you might like this. We are from the Midwest and did not like it at all. The bottle says sweet and smoky. It was smoky but it was not sweet. And, the bottle did not mention spicy. Some in the family could handle it, most could not. Would not recommend.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 4 for Pulled Pork Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Linda001
,Appleton
,WI
July 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A New Family Favorite
July 6, 2014
Pulled Park Starter was a hit with our entire family. It had a strong distinct flavor without being too hot or spicy. I highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 5 for Pulled Pork Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Diamondboy
,San Francisco
,CA
June 11, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
family favorite
June 11, 2014
Better than ordering prepared pulled pork from even a good restaurant. Easy to use in the crock pot and invariably consistent and delicious.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 6 for Pulled Pork Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
grammieS
,Erie
,PA
March 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WAAAAAY TOO HOT!
March 2, 2014
Label says sweet and smokey. Cooked 4 pounds of lean pork loin and I am very disappointed with the spice level. If I wanted it hot, I could have added heat. Very expensive to be so bad. I was raised in Texas and I love good barbeque. This is not it. Williams and Sonoma- you let me down!
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Flavor, too spicy
Review 7 for Pulled Pork Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect sandwich!
July 25, 2013
We put shoulder roast in our smoker all day, shred it and mix it with this starter, then into the oven for an hour. OMG good.....very tangy, just perfect!
Review 8 for Pulled Pork Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AllyC
,Houston
,TX
September 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this BUT...
September 9, 2012
I really love this starter as does my entire family. I have made it on 2 separate occasions. However, Williams Sonoma please eliminate the High Fructose Corn Syrup! Yuck! I really depend on Williams Sonoma to have high quality products, and was disappointed to see this on the label.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: Unhealthy