Provence Place Mats, Set of 4

We've freshened the intricate floral motif of our Provencal-style table linens with bold new colors. Inspired by the classic French textiles, the pattern of these place mats is hand screened on soft, durable cotton in India. Machine-wash. 20" x 14". Set of four. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.562 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
14 of 32(44%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
Review 1 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ArborBnB
,Prince George BC
,bc
October 9, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the expected quality
October 9, 2012
I assumed that anything bought from William and Sonoma would be excellent quality - these placemats are poort quality and certainly not worth the money spent. They are fine as long as you don't launder them - the lining fabric and the placemat fabric and not the same quality and after only one wash they wrinkle. Basically disposable/one use placemats for way too much money. I won't order here again
Review 2 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
McCaf
,Gloucester
,MA
August 1, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looks like my favorite color is back!
August 1, 2012
Bought the place mats years ago and LOVED them. Replaced them recently and hated the dark blue, hated the napkins that don't match. Returned the napkins, but kept the place mats. Rarely use them because they're so dark. This color looks more like the old ones that I need to replace. Please make napkins that match - all colors in the napkins, not just the green and yellow.
Pros: lovely blue
Cons: napkins don't match exactly
Review 3 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
,Martinsburg
,WV
April 10, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't be ironed!
April 10, 2012
I ordered these after seeing the negative comments and wish I hadn't! These place mats are really beautiful, but they need ironed after washing. However the front and back sides are not connected except at the edges and that makes it impossible to iron them as the top layer bunches up.
Review 4 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wsthebest
January 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
9of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
bad placemats
January 8, 2012
SAVE YOUR MONEY i shopped at ws all the time for years never did i ever send anything back these placemats are in the trash used them one time try to press them forget about it not going to work bye bye i spend ALOT of money with ws 1000 a week sometimes and more on wed they should give everyone a gift card come on ws do the right thing going on web now for more all clad copper cord this week alone 3000 dollards or more thank you ws
Cons: Not Durable, Quality, High-Maintenance
Review 5 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
retirednurse65
Pittsburgh, PA
September 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very French Place Mats
September 6, 2011
These are really pretty and look great in my blue and white kitchen. Even though I used them once, I got many compliments on how nice they look and how well all of the colors work together. They are a nice size and truly make a statement.
Review 6 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ruby6028
Lancaster, OH
July 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great until they need washed.
July 19, 2011
I washed these placemats in cold water and hung them to dry.The printed side still shrunk while the back solid color side did not. It's impossible to iron them to make them look good again.
Pros: Color
Cons: Difficult to Clean, shrinks
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
sunsethous
Posted January 27, 2012
I agree with this post
I did the same thing - cold water wash, hang to dry. The back shrunk and they front was impossible to iron. Looked awful from that day forward. A waste of money.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JohnsMom
Charlottesville, VA
July 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Make your tablescape shine!!
July 12, 2011
These placemats are the perfect for everyday or more formal dinnerware. The quality of excellent. Just for a little added protection, I did Scotchguard them before I used them.
Pros: Quality, Color, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 8 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Equestrian
Glen Arm, MD
July 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Placemats
July 5, 2011
I bought these placemats to go with the matching tablecloth for my elderly mother. She loves how the placemats complement the border of the tablecloth. Makes a beautiful setting1
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile, Design
Review 9 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
doubleR
san francisco CA
June 1, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My beautiful french place mats
June 1, 2011
excellent quality and very nice material; I also bought the table cloth to make curtins out of to match the placemats. great price also and fast efficient shipping
Pros: Texture, Quality, Color, Strength, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NanasMama
St. Louis, MO
January 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Disappointed
January 3, 2011
I have had a set of these place mats, both red and blue for a long time and live with them with no problem. I launder them as I do all of the others I own; wash and line dry. Red fabric is always to be suspected, and mine is still bleeding, too.
Review 11 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FrogsLeap
Mendocino, CA
November 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Disapointment
November 1, 2010
I have to agree with the reviewer's that indicated that this beautiful set of place mats are no longer so after the first laundering. I too had the experience of the mats bunching up, slight fading even when following wash instructions, and fabric that seems to easily stain. I love the color of these mats and matching napkins, but they have become unattractive and I use them only for daily family use- not for company.
Review 12 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pjrg
Wichita, Kansas
September 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So, so disappointed...
September 6, 2010
I was so disappointed in how these placemats washed up. I washed them in cold water on the gentle cycle, and they came out looking like they had been tie-dyed with dark blue ink in the middle. They were so pretty in the package, and that is where I wish I had left them.
Thank you.
Review 13 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NOLABride
New Orleans
August 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do Not Wash
August 9, 2010
They look great until you get them wet... then they shrink and misshape.... it is impossible to iron out. I hand washed mine (even though the tag says you may machine wash) and they shrunk a good inch (compared with the ones i did not wash) and the borders are no longer straight. Very sad b/c they were so pretty.
Review 14 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tawny
Loveland, Colorado
June 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Placements
June 28, 2010
I love these sunny yellow placements. This is my second time to order them. They are easy to spot clean with a little detergent and water. I wash them on the delicate cycle in cold water and lay flat to dry, and touch up with a warm iron. I've had my first set for over a year and they still look great. They really brighten up my dining room. Love the nmatching napkins as well.
Review 15 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
4600
Nashville
May 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do not buy
May 15, 2010
Adding another voice to those disappointed in the placemats after washing. They get so wrinkled and puckered that they are unusable. And don't think that with some persistence you can iron them flat. You can't. I am surprised W-S sells something this bad since I am usually very satisfied with the quality of their products.
Review 16 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bagpipes
I live in IA. & enjoy seasonal decorating
May 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty Placemats
May 6, 2010
The placemats were quite pretty but they weren't as bright yellow as I needed for my decor. I decided to return them for this reason.
Review 17 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Davica
Oklahoma City
April 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
At Least 1 1/2 Years of Use
April 18, 2010
I just looked at this website to order placemats for a friend; I have had my yellow ones for about 1 1/2 years. I was shocked to read the negative remarks. You certainly would understand that many times I have had spills and washed them in washing maching and dried them in a clothes dryer on medium heat for about 15 minutes. They are my favorite!
Review 18 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lasmith
San Rafael, CA
April 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The worst placemats I have ever purchased Provence
April 12, 2010
I purchased two sets of these place-mats, along with napkins a couple of months ago, only having used them a couple of times. These are by far the worst place-mats I have ever owned. I washed them in delicate cold water, tumble dried on low, as the directions state. The place mats have a backing sewed on, and after washing they get very "bunched up," and become uneven. It appears that the back is larger than the front of the place-mats. They look awful and I would be embarrassed to use them again! A huge waste of money. Buyer beware! They look nice when you first buy them, but after that......just awful!! I tried to iron them, but that didn't help much at all! I believe Williams-Sonoma should consider dropping these from their line of linens! I am a regular customer and am very disappointed in this product!
Review 19 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JustLoveWS
East Windsor, NJ
April 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shrank
April 2, 2010
I loved these when they arrived. However, after they were washed according to the instructions, they shrank by more than an inch in each direction. But the real problem was that the backing did not shrink as much as the cover and so they puckered - a lot! Please note that I also bought the same print as a tablecloth. And while it shrank a bit, it washed nicely and I love it. I returned the mats with no problem and WS was very nice about it.
Review 20 for Provence Place Mats, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Arturo
New York
March 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better in paper or cardboard
March 25, 2010
I love these mats, and i wanted to buy them, but reading the reviews I shall wail until you have them printed on paper or cardboard.
It is good that you show all the reviews, but I believe that WS cann't offer this type of poor quality product and should deliver it inmediatly to the outlet
page1 2 next