Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter

A magical forest of castles and animals enlivens our earthenware serving platters. Displaying this folkloric design from the 17th century, each hand-painted platter bears the touch of its artist and differs slightly in color and pattern. The heirloom-quality pieces are crafted at a small Portuguese pottery and destined to be the focal point of many an occasion. Small Platter, 19 1/4" x 13 1/2"; Large Platter, 23" x 15 1/2" diam. Hand wash. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.111 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
5 of 9(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
Review 1 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KayLeo
,Houston
,TX
Houston, TX
October 2, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
These used to be made in Italy!
October 2, 2014
These are not the same serveware that Williams-Sonoma used to carry many years ago! It doesn't even make any sense that something called Provence would be made in Portugal because Provence is a region in south France, near the border of Italy, and Portugal doesn't touch France because there is an entire country in between them (Spain).
The colors are still vivid and lovely, but the artistry and craftsmanship are clearly sub-par. The painting is sloppy and the glazing is uneven. My mother purchased the salt keeper from many, many years ago, and just by comparing the appearance of the platter and salt keeper side-by-side it is very apparent that the new versions are not made nearly as well as they used to.
These used to cost nearly double of what they are being sold for now, but I would gladly pay the price for a better quality product!
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Size
Cons: Quality, Appearance
Review 2 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Illinoismom
,Chicago
,IL
Chicago, IL suburb
November 2, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Same problem
November 2, 2013
I read the reviews, but somehow I didn't think they would still (Nov. 2013) send out defective platters. WRONG! My platter has the same sloppy painting described in other reviews. I am really disappointed. It will have to go back.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Versatile
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Store, paint job
Review 3 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Almost
,Baltimore
,MD
March 28, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely beautiful!!
March 28, 2013
I purchased the salad plates, and both size platters. I love the fact that they differ, so you can really tell they were hand-painted. We have enjoyed putting salad on the platter and sharing. I am thrilled with them and it was a very good price:)
Review 4 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
FionaCarino
,TX
March 2, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Berries are Smudges
March 2, 2013
I must agree with the other reviewers who describe sloppy painting. I bought a piece of this collection in Portugal and it's beautiful, but this new piece from WS appears more like a factory second. On the back the artist states "made for Williams-Sonoma". Too much trouble to return.
Pros: free shipping
Cons: sloppy paint job
Review 5 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dianne9580
,Millis
,Ma
February 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sloppy Painting
February 25, 2013
I received this platter as a Christmas gift. I recently took it out of the box for display. Upon closer examination, I have to agree with the last reviewer that the "berry design" is poorly done. It looks like the paint was "dabbed on" with a q-tip. There is no definition to that one detail. The rest of the design is fine. I still like the platter very much but I wish I had checked it sooner. I would have definitely exchanged it for one with better attention to detail. : (
Pros: sturdy whimsical nice colors
Cons: lack of attention to detail
Review 6 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DebbyfromChgo
,Evanston
,IL
January 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Inferior artistry
January 30, 2013
I was so looking forward to getting this platter. I thought it was beautiful online, and in the store.
The one I received was clearly handpainted. The artist decided that instead of the individual spots of the items that look kind of like raspberries, he would just do a large, sloppy brush stroke. The quality control from the distributor was clearly not to W-S standards!
W-S customer service was great to work with, and the item was easily returned.
Pros: well made, thick. solid construction, great size
Cons: poor paint job
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RJordan
Hanover, MA
Posted October 1, 2014
Mine is just fine
I bought this large platter two years ago - no problems with the artistry or the quality of the piece. If there were, I would have returned it post-haste to W-S.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChezMJ
Boston
January 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
When You Need It, You Need It!
January 19, 2013
The large platter is LARGE! But...when you need it, you need it. I had a 29 pound turkey which we carved and arranged to look like a whole bird on this gorgeous platter. The deep well contains any juices or sauce so it almost functions as a shallow bowl. I use pomegranates, herbs & tiny pears to decorate the platter but the design decorates the food all by itself. I love it and based on prices I've seen on similar items in my travels, this is quite reasonable.
Review 8 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MDS830
,cookeville
,tn
February 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Provence Serving Platter
February 22, 2012
This is a beautiful platter. Just the right size.
Wish regular size plates were still available. Beautiful design.
Pros: Color, Design
Review 9 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UNCCHGRAD
,CHAPEL HILL
,NC
January 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEAUTIFUL POTTERY
January 7, 2012
I LOVE THIS POTTERY. I PURCHASED SIMILAR POTTERY IN PORTUGAL AND IT BLENDS TOGETHER VERY WELL. I PURCHASED THREE LARGE PLATTERS AND USE THEM IN MY KITCHEN TO SET LARGE CLAY POTS WITH CHRISTMAS CACTUS ON THEM. THEY LOOK SO BEAUTIFUL ON MY FRENCH BAKER'S RACK. THE FIRST ONE THAT I PURCHASED HAD MUTED COLORS WHICH I LIKE BETTER THAN THE TWO WITH VIVID COLORS. FORTUNATELY, IT IS DIFFICULT TO SEE THE DIFFERENCE BECAUSE OF THE LARGE PLANTS.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Design, Weight