Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter

A magical forest of castles and animals enlivens our earthenware serving platters. Displaying this folkloric design from the 17th century, each hand-painted platter bears the touch of its artist and differs slightly in color and pattern. The heirloom-quality pieces are crafted at a small Portuguese pottery and destined to be the focal point of many an occasion. Small Platter, 19 1/4" x 13 1/2"; Large Platter, 23" x 15 1/2" diam. Hand wash. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.958 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
19 of 24(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
Review 1 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Illinoismom
,Chicago
,IL
Chicago, IL suburb
November 2, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Same problem
November 2, 2013
I read the reviews, but somehow I didn't think they would still (Nov. 2013) send out defective platters. WRONG! My platter has the same sloppy painting described in other reviews. I am really disappointed. It will have to go back.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Versatile
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Store, paint job
Review 2 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Almost
,Baltimore
,MD
March 28, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely beautiful!!
March 28, 2013
I purchased the salad plates, and both size platters. I love the fact that they differ, so you can really tell they were hand-painted. We have enjoyed putting salad on the platter and sharing. I am thrilled with them and it was a very good price:)
Review 3 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
FionaCarino
,TX
March 2, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Berries are Smudges
March 2, 2013
I must agree with the other reviewers who describe sloppy painting. I bought a piece of this collection in Portugal and it's beautiful, but this new piece from WS appears more like a factory second. On the back the artist states "made for Williams-Sonoma". Too much trouble to return.
Pros: free shipping
Cons: sloppy paint job
Review 4 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dianne9580
,Millis
,Ma
February 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sloppy Painting
February 25, 2013
I received this platter as a Christmas gift. I recently took it out of the box for display. Upon closer examination, I have to agree with the last reviewer that the "berry design" is poorly done. It looks like the paint was "dabbed on" with a q-tip. There is no definition to that one detail. The rest of the design is fine. I still like the platter very much but I wish I had checked it sooner. I would have definitely exchanged it for one with better attention to detail. : (
Pros: sturdy whimsical nice colors
Cons: lack of attention to detail
Review 5 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DebbyfromChgo
,Evanston
,IL
January 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Inferior artistry
January 30, 2013
I was so looking forward to getting this platter. I thought it was beautiful online, and in the store.
The one I received was clearly handpainted. The artist decided that instead of the individual spots of the items that look kind of like raspberries, he would just do a large, sloppy brush stroke. The quality control from the distributor was clearly not to W-S standards!
W-S customer service was great to work with, and the item was easily returned.
Pros: well made, thick. solid construction, great size
Cons: poor paint job
Review 6 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChezMJ
Boston
January 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
When You Need It, You Need It!
January 19, 2013
The large platter is LARGE! But...when you need it, you need it. I had a 29 pound turkey which we carved and arranged to look like a whole bird on this gorgeous platter. The deep well contains any juices or sauce so it almost functions as a shallow bowl. I use pomegranates, herbs & tiny pears to decorate the platter but the design decorates the food all by itself. I love it and based on prices I've seen on similar items in my travels, this is quite reasonable.
Review 7 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MDS830
,cookeville
,tn
February 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Provence Serving Platter
February 22, 2012
This is a beautiful platter. Just the right size.
Wish regular size plates were still available. Beautiful design.
Pros: Color, Design
Review 8 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UNCCHGRAD
,CHAPEL HILL
,NC
January 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEAUTIFUL POTTERY
January 7, 2012
I LOVE THIS POTTERY. I PURCHASED SIMILAR POTTERY IN PORTUGAL AND IT BLENDS TOGETHER VERY WELL. I PURCHASED THREE LARGE PLATTERS AND USE THEM IN MY KITCHEN TO SET LARGE CLAY POTS WITH CHRISTMAS CACTUS ON THEM. THEY LOOK SO BEAUTIFUL ON MY FRENCH BAKER'S RACK. THE FIRST ONE THAT I PURCHASED HAD MUTED COLORS WHICH I LIKE BETTER THAN THE TWO WITH VIVID COLORS. FORTUNATELY, IT IS DIFFICULT TO SEE THE DIFFERENCE BECAUSE OF THE LARGE PLANTS.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Design, Weight
Review 9 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TammyC123
December 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Serving piece
December 20, 2011
I Have been wanting this piece for a long time and finally bought it. It is better than I thought. The colors are gorgeous and it has some depth to it.
Review 10 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GoBronco
,Lansing
,MI
September 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely Platter!
September 21, 2011
Loved by me and by those who have received them as gifts from me.
Pros: Quality, Size, Design
Review 11 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LVaught
Fresno, CA
September 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exquisite Serving Piece
September 7, 2011
I love this platter for serving large loaves of fresh bread or roasted chicken and potatoes. Due to the hand painted nature, it doesn't look the same as the one I saw in store or the large platter I returned; but I love the uniqueness of it and that the pieces aren't cookie cutter. Super easy to clean with a wipe down and stunning on the table.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, unique
Cons: Weight, not the same as in store
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moondreamer
Smith Mountain Lake Virginia
August 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Platter for displaying a Turkey
August 24, 2011
I received this platter as a gift. A friend thought it was so beautiful I gave her one for her birthday. She was so thrilled and plans to also display it on her wall when not using it serve Thanksgiving Dinner.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JaneAll2
Texas
Posted September 5, 2011
how did your friend display it?
I have this, or a very similar, platter that I got as a wedding gift years ago. We just moved and I want to display it in my new kitchen, but can't work out how. Any advice? Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mbHuntsville
Huntsville, Alabama
August 2, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Serving Piece for any Occasion
August 2, 2011
Beautiful platter for those large gatherings of friends and family! Blends easily with most dinnerware patterns and is a standout on any serving table. This is an heirloom piece perfect for your family. Williams-Sonoma is careful in their packing to guard against any potential shipping damage!
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 14 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaureenG
Naperville, IL
June 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great shower gift
June 15, 2011
I gave this as a shower gift...it was a hit with the bride to be as well as the guests--beautiful and unique. I plan on buying one for myself.
Review 15 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AuntWebbie
Plano, TX
May 2, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Such a beautiful piece
May 2, 2011
I'm so glad I splurged and got this. So beautiful, so worth the money. I love that they're hand-crafted. Thank you, W-S!
Pros: Quality, Color, Design
Review 16 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wedding
Connecticut
May 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
gorgeous/hand painted/high quality
May 2, 2011
i was really really happy with this platter. i have an art degree and the skill in the painting impressed me.. the colors are gorgeous, too. the weight is heavy and the gift was everything that i hoped it would be and more.
Pros: Quality, Color, Design, Weight, quality hand painting
Review 17 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AnonymousOneThree
Portland, OR
April 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty but not as high-quality as previously
April 12, 2011
I had wanted to purchase both the small and large platters for a couple years, but they were always way too expensive. My husband ended up purchasing the soup tureen when it was on sale, as well as the spoon rest, so I have a couple of the "more expensive" pieces to compare these platters to. I asked the associate why these new items were so inexpensive compared to what WS sold before, and she told me it depends on the Euro, and that these new pieces are being manufactured by a new company. I have to say that the colors are not as vivid as my tureen and spoon rest. I also have the serving bowl and while it's beautiful, it doesn't have that "something" that these pieces used to have. Also, the platters are supposed to be ready for wall-mounting, and they aren't. The large platter is huge, which is good but it will not fit in my sink!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 18 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Eagershopper
Fort Worth, TX
March 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Quality
March 10, 2011
I bought the small platter via the catalog. The colors are pale, not nearly as deep and striking as these photos. And the design doesn't appear to be painted on at all; it seems to be stamped on. This is a cheap imitation of the real thing. Very disappointing.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
wedding
New England
Posted May 2, 2011
Responding to Inaccurate Review..
I don't agree with this review at all. First of all, the design is CLEARLY and BEAUTIFULLY hand painted on the white ceramic background. It's not "stamped." Secondly, the colors are deep and rich and not pale. I seriously don't understand the inaccurate review.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
metibo
San Jose, CA
March 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not happy with the quality
March 8, 2011
I wasn't happy with the quality of the painting on the plates.
Review 20 for Provence Hand Painted Serving Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MMNJ
NJ
February 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gorgeous collection
February 19, 2011
I have the smaller platter, some dishes, bowls, and larger bowl. I love them all and they are beautiful to display and serve in. The plates are quite large and don't fit in my cabinets - I actually use them as serving pieces. This is one of the prettiest patterns I have ever come across. If you love beautiful serving pieces include one of these in your collection. You won't regret it. I also get tons of compliments - they are just striking.
page1 2 next