Provence Hand Painted Salt Keeper

In European kitchens, salt keepers like ours are kept near the stove for easy access - either on the countertop or hung on a wall. This earthenware vessel is fitted with a polished mahogany lid that conceals a cache of salt (not included). Crafted at a small Portuguese pottery, this colorful kitchenware is hand decorated with a centuries-old design. Hand-wash. 2-cup cap.; 5 1/2" x 4 1/4" x 7 3/4" high. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
6 of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Provence Hand Painted Salt Keeper
Review 1 for Provence Hand Painted Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kittyb
Waldwick, NJ
July 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Salt Keeper
July 25, 2012
I was in the market for a salt keeper and saw this in my local W-S store. At first I thought it was too expensive. After searching, I came back to purchase. Someone else mentioned to purchase in person rather than on-line. Absolutely, I found that each one had a different issue. Check the lid, as the dowel that fits into the pottery, I found, some were harder to open than others. Also, the wood itself on each were different shades of stain. As far as the pottery itself, absolutely, check the pattern as some were definitely smudged, but again, since they are handmade and glazed that plays a factor. The W-S Manager was kind enough to let me view quite a few until I was happy. All in all it is a lovely piece and it's nice that you can leave it on the counter or there is a hole on top that you could hang on a nail on a wall near your cooking area.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Review 2 for Provence Hand Painted Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Retiredcook
,Bluffton
,SC
Bluffton, SC
May 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The end of a search for the perfect salt box!
May 30, 2012
I have used my salt box daily for the past year. I love the pattern, it is a beautiful addition to my kitchen. I live in a high humidity area and have never had a problem with the salt absorbing moisture. I was skeptical at first as the lid was tight, but with use, it is a perfect fit. This salt box is perfect in every way. I highly reommend it.
Review 3 for Provence Hand Painted Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bedlington
,Hackettstown
,NJ
November 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Finally found my heirloom treasure
November 15, 2011
This salt box is gorgeous! I had been looking for one with painted designs for many years as my father had one in his farm house kitchen. It reminds me of him and how he loved to bake and cook. The bright colors cheer up what was a dark corner in my kitchen. The painting on mine is nice and so is the wood finish. I am very pleased. I am just hoping that if it ever breaks I will be able to get a replacement!
Review 4 for Provence Hand Painted Salt Keeper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lindon
Alexandria, VA (outside of Washington, DC)
May 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Salt Keeper
May 20, 2011
Unfortunately, the reviews I read about the salt keeper before I ordered it were correct. My daughter wanted this for Mother's Day so I ordered it for her. It took several days for delivery. Upon receipt of the item, the wooden top had a deep dent in it and had been stained over. The painted area was blurry as well. She is exchanging it in person at a local WS store. This problem surprised me since I have never had issues with WS product before.
Cons: Quality
Review 5 for Provence Hand Painted Salt Keeper
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Greek
Spencer, Ohio
January 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
too large and inconsistant in detail
January 23, 2011
I had ordered one of these salt keepers and immediately thought it was very large which was not a deal breaker but the wood lid was warped and the paint job of the animals was not very good. I received a second one and the paint job was very nice but the lid was knicked in several places. My conclusion is that some things just need to be purchased in person rather than over the internet. Especially hand made or painted items like this.
Review 6 for Provence Hand Painted Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pjj206
Des. Moines Washington
December 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite salt box.
December 19, 2010
Love, Love, Love this salt box. The pattern is what I have been looking for. It is convient to use and I am thrilled with this product. Would highly recommend it. Well worth the money.
Review 7 for Provence Hand Painted Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marshgammon
Minneapolis, MN
October 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Salt Keeper
October 13, 2010
I just purchased this a local Williams Sonoma store. So far, I've really enjoyed it! I like the heavy lid (it does stick the first couple times) and the option to hang it on a wall. It really adds a nice punch of color to my counter.
My only suggestion is to look at the product before you buy it. I almost bought a squeaky one.
Review 8 for Provence Hand Painted Salt Keeper
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JLHTX
Dallas, TX
September 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful but big!
September 17, 2010
I received this as a gift off of my bridal registry. It is a beautiful piece and the wood top is a nice touch. It was difficult to open and close at first, as the top was a tight fit. Now that the corners have worn down a little from use it opens and closes just fine. My only other complaint would be that it is larger than expected but I guess that is my fault for not reading the dimensions. I would say it will comfortably hold 2 cups of salt. All in all I use it all the time and love it!