Provence Salad Plate, Set of 4

The classic hand-painted pattern of these earthenware salad plates is a longtime Williams-Sonoma favorite. Its 17th-century depiction of forests, castles and animals is based on traditional European folklore. Each bowl is crafted at a small Portuguese pottery where ceramists rely on time-honored techniques to meticulously decorate it by hand. The pieces feature a new creamy white background that sets off the intricate design. Hand-wash. 8" diam. Set of four. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
4 of 6(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Provence Salad Plate, Set of 4
Review 1 for Provence Salad Plate, Set of 4
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
iceclone
,Los Angeles
,CA
July 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's cute.
July 5, 2013
The size is very small. It's just a little bigger than a saucer plate. I don't know why this is called a salad plate, I don't think it can hold any salad... maybe a bread or a piece of cake, but salad? No.
Since it's hand painted, there will be slight differences with the plates. Three of my plates were consistently light colored, but the fourth one was darker in color. I wish I had more of the darker one because that's what the picture is shown in the product info. The other three is just washed out.
I do love the design and may still order the individual bowls.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Appearance, Design, Weight
Cons: Color, Size
Review 2 for Provence Salad Plate, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
apsbath
,Bath
,NC
April 11, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A much coveted item
April 11, 2013
These plates have such a beautiful and striking design. I finally couldn't pass them up.
They arrived in perfect condition; WS packages their products with such care that rarely, in all the years I have shopped with them, has anything arrived damaged. If it has, their customer service has always been responsive and replaced the item.
I am so proud to display these in my kitchen.
Pros: sturdy, striking design, unique, excellent workmanship
Cons: none
Review 3 for Provence Salad Plate, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RebeccaT
,Baltimore
,MD
September 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful plates with european style charm
September 10, 2011
Very sturdy and charming. A great plate to mix in with white dinnerware. I love everything from the Provençal collection--I only wish they would make dinner plates! Only con is that they are hand wash only, but they are so small that it's really not a nuisance.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Color, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 4 for Provence Salad Plate, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NMcook
New Mexico
June 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful plates
June 14, 2011
I use these for a bit of color with my plain white dinner plates. They are so pretty & substantial, & they aren't made in China (I'm always on the lookout for items made elsewhere, even if it's not the US). I love the hand painted detail.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight, affordable luxury
Review 5 for Provence Salad Plate, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
aster
June 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
disappointed
June 2, 2011
I've ordered this set (plates, platter, spoon rest and bowls) 3 different times over the years, because this is such a beautiful pattern and I really love the hand painted drawings. The last item I ordered is the set of two bowls, and this will be the last time. Unfortunately, the qualify of craftsmanship has gotten steadily worse. The drawings are getting sloppy, and the qualify of the plates themselves are sub-par. I've already asked for replacement, and they are still the same, and considering the price, it's really not worth it anymore. Very disappointing.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
aster
Posted December 12, 2011
revised - 4 stars - bought at store
OK, I broke down and got a 14 inch serving bowl when I saw it at the store. It's just too beautiful. (but the store didn't have plates or bowls in stock.) I did have frustrating experience ordering online, but this time I was able to check for any imperfections before buying.
I still say the spoon rest and platter I got the first time were much better quality. But I do love this unique "magical forest" pattern.
0points
Customer avatar
Tagoncalves
Colorado
Posted July 31, 2011
Aster
These are amazingly well done. I have been to Portugal where they make these items. The craftsmanship is impeccable. Don't agree with this person's assessment at all!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Provence Salad Plate, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anacapri
March 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely handpainting
March 7, 2011
I am ordering these as I already have the larger plates which are so lovely. The handpainting adds to their attractiveness.