Provence Dinnerware Collection

The classic hand-painted pattern of these earthenware pieces is a longtime Williams-Sonoma favorite. Its 17th-century depiction of forests, castles and animals is based on traditional European folklore. Each piece is crafted at a small Portuguese pottery where ceramists rely on time-honored techniques to meticulously decorate it by hand. Hand-wash. Soup bowls, 1-qt. cap., 9 1/2" diam. set of two; Small platter, 19 1/4" x 13 1/2"; Large platter, 23" x 15 1/2" diam; Salad/dessert plates, 8" diam., set of four; Serving bowl, 5 1/4-qt. cap., 14 1/4" diam., 3" high; Salt keeper, 2-cup cap.; 5 1/2" x 4 1/4" x 7 3/4" high. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Provence Dinnerware Collection
Review 1 for Provence Dinnerware Collection
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
birchtree22
,Larchmont
,NY
New York, New York
January 29, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recommend to Friend Without Kids
January 29, 2014
I own the large platter and soup bowls from this set, and I love them. They are beautiful and the bowls provide plenty of space for a diner to cut meat (like in a stew), but still contain the juices. However, the bowls are very fragile. I was hand washing one after using it for the first time, it slipped out of my hands, feel 3 inches to the sink basin and shattered. However, this just makes me want to buy another one, because I really do love them. :)
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Color, Appearance, Versatile
Cons: High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 2 for Provence Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
trvlnchic
,Commerce City
,CO
Rocky Mtn Quadrant
August 5, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Classic Provence perfection & presentation
August 5, 2012
We received the large platter as a wedding gift and added the serving bowl ourselves. These hand painted beauties are unique with variances in individual pieces. They appear to be water based paints and as a result, look "smeared". That is the type of dinnerware this is.
It does seem very fragile and we are extra careful with handling, hand washing, and storage. The colors are amazing and the kids love the animation.
Overall, a stunning set to serve food on as it decorates and enhances food presentation. Highly recommend for use and/or a classic Provence display.
Pros: rich colors, presentation, artwork
Review 3 for Provence Dinnerware Collection
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
disappointed110
NYC, NY
June 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+34points
35of 36found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
poor quality and unlike the store models
June 5, 2011
We were very disappointed as we had ordered an entire set of this collection as we fell in love with it in the store. We received the first batch of plate servers and bowls and had to return all of them due to chips in the sides paint that had bled and poor quality. We gave it another chance and asked them to send it again and to check before it was sent out. We received the order (over $800.00 worth) and when we called in to complain they insisted that was the way they were supposed come come and that it was due to being hand painted. Went to the store and looked and the display models were very nicely painted and had none of the problems we were experiencing. After giving up and returning it all it took 3 months and 4 phone calls all over 45 minutes to get our full refund back. Very disappointed and would not recommend. (only ordered online because we live in NYC and would have to rent a car to get it from the store to home) Buy it in store and inspect every piece.
Cons: Quality, Color
Review 4 for Provence Dinnerware Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katster
Hendersonville, NC
October 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
5of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and Practical..
October 3, 2010
The Individual Serving Bowl and Individual Bowls sold as a set used to be marketed as a pasta set. They are perfect for pasta dishes and large salads. The dinner plates are very generous in size.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Downgraded
San Francisco, CA
Posted January 18, 2011
Unfortunate Situation
My wife and I have collected the "Provence Program" for several years. We have at least 18 full place settings.
Unfortunately, the Williams Sonoma table top buyer Mara Cras; based in San Francisco, California has decided to produce a horrific knock off of the original design. Beginning at the end of 2010 the original clay has been changed from a crisp white color to a dingy beige. The paint colors don't have the hues that they used too, and as a result they don't match the "original" AT ALL!
We have tried to discuss this with them and they just argue with us. I took my concern all the way to the VP of stores.
I certainly hope this is not a trend!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)