This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce

A fresh interpretation of a classic recipe, our rustic sauce enhances foods with the vibrant flavors of the Provencal countryside. Prepared just as it would be in a French home kitchen, the sauce is made with ripe tomatoes and white wine and simmered with olives and herbs, then slowly cooked for deep, complex flavor.A savory versatile sauce, enhanced with the flavors of nicoise and Sicilian olives, aromatic garlic, basil and thyme.Simply combine the base with chicken or pork in a slow cooker or Dutch oven and simmer.16 oz.Made in USA.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
17 of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
Review 1 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CABJ
,Gulfport
,MS
Gulfport, MS
February 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Terrific Sauce!
February 26, 2012
I used this for the first time this weekend. I did make changes - I used organic chicken breasts dredged in organic unbleached flour, pepper, and salt, the trinity (onions, celery, and bell pepper for those of you who do not live on the Gulf Coast), more garlic, carrots (that I had to share with my two goldendoddles), and 3/4 cup of King Estate Pinot Gris. Absolutely wonderful!l! And, I do not like processed foods such as black olives. The black olives gave it a wonderful flavor - a first for me! Wonderful!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 2 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susie822
Rockford, IL
April 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
delicious and easy!
April 14, 2011
I love this! I was first given a jar by a friend, at Christmas time. I recently ordered two more jars of it. I know that I could probably find a recipe and make it myself. But I work six 12-hour nights in a row every other week and this is so easy, besides being delicious. I add a few potatoes cut up on the bottom of the slow-cooker to make a more complete meal. Add a salad and french bread. it's fabulous!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 3 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KitKat3
Northern Virginia
March 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
What a way to eat chicken!! Yum!!
March 2, 2011
Rarely do you find such an easy and delicious way to make ordinary food fabulous! This sauce was really tasty and didn't hide the fact we were eating chicken. Just pop the chicken and the sauce into a pot and come back later...Yum!!
Review 4 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HGWT
Richmond, VA
February 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
This is Great sauce
February 8, 2011
Just made this for my husband - used both skinless and skin on thighs with my Dutch oven. It came out perfect. Plan to buy more before they discontinue this item.....
Review 5 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bevo4
Bristol, Virginia
February 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Yummy and Easy
February 2, 2011
I used this delicious sauce following the recipe exactly as it suggested on the jar and it was wonderful. It saved me so much work if I were to try and duplicate something like this myself. Now that I can't do the cooking like I used to because of chronic back problems, this is the way to go. It is well worth the cost since it is so tasty and it served 4 people quite easily as a main dish.
Review 6 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Christie77
Texas
January 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
A Bit Lacking
January 14, 2011
My husband and I both thought this sauce was just okay, lacking a bit of something. It didn't have the wonderful flavor we have come to expect like some of the other great Williams Sonoma sauces we have tried. Though I won't buy this one again, it won't keep me trying others.
Review 7 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
suburbancinderella
Los Angeles, CA
December 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Sooo good, sooo easy!
December 17, 2010
I used this sauce exactly as recommended, using bone-in chick thighs with skin, and browned up real nice, tossed into slow cooker, poured sauce and plugged in. That easy! I browned them in a cast iron skillet, which I think made a difference. When done, the meat was tender, and easy to remove from the bone, skin just fell off. My kids - 7,9, and 12 just raved, and can't wait for me to make this again. Hubby thought is was yummy too, and said the leftovers were even better the next day. It's definitely good for a cold night, and I think would make an impressive meal for company, with the right sides.
Review 8 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ShelleyJB
Austin, TX
November 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Good, but others are better
November 25, 2010
This sauce was good, but not as good as other WS sauces I have tried.
Review 9 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ponsonbybritt
knoxville, TN
October 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
October 10, 2010
I used this sauce with a rotisserie chicken I bought at the grocery store. and the result was very nice indeed.
Review 10 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patsy
The Villages, Florida
August 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
beef stew/w/ potatoes,celery carrot, onions, wine
August 16, 2010
i really like all of your sauces that i have ordered. they are excellent, and make the food taste excellent. i love them
Review 11 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mariatini
Albany, NY
May 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Tasty and Easy
May 3, 2010
The family loved this. We used it in the slow cooker with boneless chicken. The sauce was tasty and was great over rice. Nice time saver. Next time, I'll add extra olives near the end of cooking.
Review 12 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beachsidecook
Wilmington, NC
January 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
great flavor for the buck
January 10, 2010
Used this sauce with chicken in Le Cruset and served over angel hair pasta - excellent flavor. The tomotoes and olives really shine in this sauce. Hope they keep this one around.
Review 13 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
karenm
Ferndale, MI
August 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
absolutely great slow-cooking sauce
August 5, 2009
Once again, you folks have come up with
a no-trouble cooking sauce that results in a truly delicious dinner. Can't wait to order another jar. Thank you, thank you!
Review 14 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sue1955
Frederick, MD
June 23, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Good product and different
June 23, 2009
My adult daughter and I used this a few nights ago using two large chicken breasts (WITH skin, but boneless) with linguine on the side. She sauteed the chicken first until lightly browned and then simmered with the sauce for about an hour. It was excellent. I will likely purchase again. However, this is a heavy sauce that is perhaps better eaten not so late in the evening. If you like rich Italian food (and who doesn't?), go ahead and try it.
Review 15 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mugsy
Redlands, CA
May 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Sublime!
May 20, 2009
This is an absolutely terrific sauce and so easy to prepare. Delicious with homemade gnocchi as we made today, along with beautiful haricot verts from the farmer's market picked fresh today! You can definitely bring your meals up to the next level with this beautiful sauce. Highly recommended!
Review 16 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a617
Roswell, GA
March 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious!!!!
March 5, 2009
Wow is all I can say... soooo easy AND sooo good. This is my new "go to" meal for any occasion. ...love it!
Review 17 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DenHeels
Boston, MA
February 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Definitely stock up on this sauce
February 27, 2009
This sauce was amazing. I made the chicken recipe as described on the bottle and it was out of this world. I froze the leftovers and they are just as good as the "fresh" batch. In a word, fantastic.
Review 18 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nurdlinger
Minneapolis, MN
February 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Good stuff, Maynard!
February 20, 2009
I picked up some of this on a whim at my local WS and used it in my crock pot to slow cook a brisket on a cold, snowy Minnesota day. Talk about tasty, this stuff is awesome. Everyone in the family loved it. Well worth the price.
I can't wait for the next snowstorm!
Review 19 for Provencal Slow Cooking Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lakelady
Jonesboro AR
December 27, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Surprisingly good
December 27, 2008
I bought this on a whim while at the WS store and pulled it out of the pantry the day the kids were coming in for Christmas just have something for them to eat before dinner. I browned meatballs and poured on the sauce and put them in a dutch oven and slow cooked for about and hour and a half; really didn't think they would go for this but they loved it! It's just spicy enough. Some ate them with a toothpick and some made a sub sandwich with the meatballs. I will make this a staple in my pantry.