Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board

Used for centuries on sailing ships, teak has a legendary moisture resistance and hardiness that make it ideal for cutting boards. This classic board withstands rigorous slicing, dicing and chopping. Made of FSC-certified teak from an environmentally responsible plantation. End-grain construction is extremely durable yet gentle on knife blades. Doubles as a presentation piece for sliced meats or cheeses.
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
13 of 18(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
Review 1 for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CSherwin
,Tulsa
,OK
August 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Started splitting the first week!
August 1, 2012
This is the most expensive cutting board I own and its also the worst. It started splitting the first week, it now has a large gaping crack that runs halfway across the board.
This was a gift my husband bought me for Christmas to go along with a very expensive set of Japanese knifes. I should have returned it pronto but I didn't want to hurt his feelings.
Cons: Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MTyler
,Austin
,TX
September 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Board!!!!!
September 9, 2011
As someone who is in the kitchen constantly, I needed a top-notch cutting board. I received this board as a birthday present. It is by far the best cutting board I've ever used!! It is durable and it's appearance is absolutely beautiful!! I never put it away- it's a great conversational piece as well!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, beautiful
Review 3 for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
VirginiaCustomer
Northern Virginia
July 26, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beauty is only skin-deep
July 26, 2011
What a beautiful cutting board! We use our chopping boards daily, wanted a third that was large, effective, and beautiful. This appeared to fit the bill, but the board cracked through within the first year. Williams-Sonoma exchanged it for us and the next board cracked within two months. Williams-Sonoma was great - exchanged it for other items without a hitch, but it was really disappointing. We oiled these boards, like our others, regularly and never left them wet. Better quality adhesion than what these have is required for good cutting boards.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Weight
Cons: High-Maintenance, Fragile, cracks through
Review 4 for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elizabeth6003
Austin Texas
June 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
!!Stunning!!
June 17, 2011
This cutting board is absolutely gorgeous. I use mine all the time, and I can not tell you how many compliments I receive when we entertain- which is quite often. It is durable and beautiful. Way to go Proteak!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Shape, Weight, stunning
Review 5 for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
suzannee
Northern New Jersey
March 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful but...
March 22, 2011
We bought this product online and were beyond thrilled when it arrived. This board is simply gorgeous! Unfortunately, although I washed and cured as recommended, the board cracked within a couple of months. I returned the cracked one for a replacement and this time, it lasted for a year. A couple of weeks ago, I noticed a complete break crack (from top to bottom) on the one edge. Apart from that, the board was solid, beautiful, and perfect for cutting everything from chicken pieces to carrots for stew. The ones we received were made in Mexico but I would think this would not make a difference. Again, this board is stunning.
Review 6 for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ProudUSACook
San Diego CA
March 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
10of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Made is USA or Mexico??
March 19, 2011
I did my research online to purchase this beautiful cutting board and saw that it was Made in USA in the summary description-- so I purchased it at the San Diego WS. Sadly when I arrived home I saw in the fine print that is was actually made in Mexico so I went back online and it clearly states in the description as being made in USA however on another "more info page" it ALSO states that it was made in Mexico. My family makes it a habit to purchase Made in USA products to support & sustain jobs in the USA... so please be accurate & consistent in your descriptions as to not waste gas & time in the purchase (& return) of purchasing a product not consistent with our spending values.
Review 7 for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JR0D
Orlando, FL
February 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply Amazing!
February 11, 2011
Expensive but worth every penny. Beautiful Tropical Wood, Stunning. Make sure to wash and cure.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
juliachilds
Palatine, Illinois
December 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful - if you find one that is not cracked.
December 15, 2010
I thought this was a beautiful board when I saw it in the store, but upon closer inspection it was cracked, so I asked the salesperson to bring me another one. After inspecting 10 boards in two different stores I found one that was in good shape (the others were either cracked, chipped, or scratched). I gave it 5 stars,but it took some work to find one that didn't have any flaws. Additionally, the colors vary greatly from light to dark (another reason why you may want to view in store, so you don't have to ship it back - it is quite heavy).
Review 9 for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SunnyG
Las Vegas
October 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful & Durable
October 5, 2010
This is by far the best cutting board I have ever used. Its gentle on my knives, easy to maintain with a little mineral oil and looks stunning in my kitchen. I highly recommend going into the store to pick out your cutting board so you are able to see the wood quality. When I went to purchase mine the one on the sales floor had a greenish hue which wasn't very pleasing so I asked for another one which they had in the stockroom. The one they brought out from the back was perfect.
Review 10 for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wayteach
Neptune, NJ
July 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So impressive!
July 12, 2010
I just love this cutting board! It is truly a work of art that will stay out on my counter. It's easy to chop on, kind to the knives, and with a little mineral oil treatment once a week it looks magnificent! I'm so glad I got it!
Review 11 for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefKC
NYC, NY
May 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection in a Cutting Board
May 26, 2010
Being in the food industry as a cook/chef for over 25 years -- I have used hundreds of boards. This board is perfection. The size is generous without being unwieldy. The weight is heavy enough to stay put while using, yet not too heavy to move/pick up with ease. (I have a Boos that weighs in at 25 lbs. Not fun to move around.) The teak end-grain is quite durable withstanding rigorous chopping, and is kind to knives. And of course, the beauty of this board is stunning. I could not be happier that I decided to give Proteak a try.
Review 12 for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jancook
abq, nm
May 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nice addition
May 12, 2010
i didn't NEED this cutting board, i wanted it. it is beautiful, perfect size and comfortable to use. guests comment on its fine appearance.
Review 13 for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tank
Los Angeles, CA
May 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
big and beautiful
May 3, 2010
this thing is a new fixture in my kitchen. even if i weren't using it everyday, i'd still leave it out where i can admire the wood. excellent size, excellent thickness. i'd recommend to anyone, even that guy on Kitchen Nightmares.
Review 14 for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
April 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Cutting Board
April 14, 2010
I've been using my cutting board regularly for the past 4 months and it shows almost no signs of wear. Not to mention, nothing looks as good as teak when it's oiled up. I leave it sitting out on the counter just to show it off.
Review 15 for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mdbev
baltimore maryland
November 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
gorgeous product
November 11, 2009
I believe that the beauty of this board surpasses even its rugged functionality. The only maintenance needed is an occasional wipe with mineral oil. When I serve breads and cheeses this holiday season, I'm certain that this board will attract as many compliments as the food!
Review 16 for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Miami, Florida
September 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb!
September 4, 2009
Much more beautiful in person and at first glance I was impressed by the beauty of the grans in the wood as well as its impressive size. Once we used it we were so delighted at how comfortable it was. We love displaying it on our main table over white linen and with a basket of flowers atop. You'll enjoy this one!
Review 17 for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kitchennut
Spring, Tx
September 3, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best kitchen gift
September 3, 2009
We got this table as a gift two years ago.
Initially we were worried using it would ruin its great looks. When we eventually got around to use it we truly fell in love with it.
It has matured beautifully with little maintenance, soap and water (no oil yet).
It has been very gentle on our ceramic knives, and heals itself with time and use.
Now we like it so much we do not put it away after use.
Review 18 for Proteak End-Grain Round Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LindsayFromPA
Harrisburg, PA
March 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The coolest wooden item I own!
March 2, 2009
This butcher block is the most beautiful block I have ever seen - it is even nicer in person than in photos. The design is very intentional and unique and the quality is top-notch. I love that it is a large size and the perfect thickness - at 2 inches thick it is hefty and bold without being too high to cut on effectively. According to everything I've read on butcher blocks (and I researched for DAYS!), end-grain construction is the very best for keeping your knives sharp. This item is the nicest thing in my kitchen. I even contacted the manufacturer with some questions and they were equally excellent! I couldn't be more pleased!