William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill

Designed with equal parts style and functionality, this mill performs impeccably in the kitchen or at the dining table, ensuring fresh flavor and a uniform texture. Patented mechanism crushes - rather than grinds - the peppercorns. Use the three-step adjustable ring to select your preferred consistency: coarse, medium or fine. Acrylic viewing window near the bottom of the mill lets you see when it's time to refill. Brushed-stainless-steel body. High-output ceramic rotor. Crafted in the USA by William Bounds, a family-owned company that has been making specialized kitchen tools of enduring quality for more than 40 years.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
15 of 21(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
Review 1 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scuppermom
,Niantc,
,CT
October 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love this pepper mill !
October 7, 2012
Owned my pepper mill for 5 years and use it daily. I've not experienced any of the problems reported by others. I've given this product as gifts and not heard of any problems.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Review 2 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kimmig
,Haymarket
,VA
February 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Peppermill jams easily
February 5, 2012
I have had this pepper grinder for 3 years and need to continually take it apart in order to get the grind adjusment to work. The grind adjustor tends to jam up and then gets stuck in a position. When set on "fine", it will grind course. The mill looks great, and when it works, it works well. It is just very tempermental.
Pros: Quality, Size, Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental
Review 3 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Endzone
,Atlanta
,Ga
November 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just want a good Pepper Mill
November 21, 2011
Bought this pepper Mill 2009.had to replace it 2010 because secure nut on top won't fit.
2011 acrylic window has chips in the edges and the glue that holds the window to the body has broken loose... NOT HAPPY ,NOT HAPPY and won't buy another one from WS....THis item should be almost bullet proof..
Pros: Size, Versatile
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 4 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
FiddlerBob
,Okemos
,MI
October 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Grinds well, until it breaks.
October 24, 2011
Has a lifetime warranty, except for the plastic parts, which is, of course what broke. $70 for a pepper mill that lasts 4-5 years is not a wise investment. I would be interested in knowing how to get replacement parts.
Also, the clear window would move around unless the cap was on tight.
It is possible that it was knocked over and fell on its side, but if that is all it would take for this to have broken, it is not a high quality item, which is what I expect from Williams Sonoma.
Pros: Design, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
daffykathy
Wichita, Kansas
November 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pod Pepper Mills
November 29, 2010
I have 2 of the Pod Pepper Mills and have used them for years. They are fantastic. The reason I am writing this is to ask other owners if they have had to replace any of the mechanisms. Our mills are not working currently. I don't have any information on taking them apart and am afraid to in case I really do mess them up. Can anyone out there help me. I miss using them as I cook with them all the time. Thanks
Review 6 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Momesq
New Hampshire
October 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Huge, odd grinding motion, but good coarse grind
October 12, 2010
Oy. This thing is really, really tall, and rather heavy.
The "back and forth" motion was unlike other grinders I've used, but once I figured it out, it was fine. It does take some serious physical effort to use, and I just can't recommend it for fine grinding. It's too much work for fine grinds, and it would be too time-consuming to use for that purpose.
I bought this grinder to replace my older WS pepper grinder that is excellent for fine grinding, but not at all good for medium or coarse grinds. I expected to use the other grinder for another purpose, but now I will be keeping it for fine grinding, and use the "monster" for medium and coarse grinds.
One thing I will say: Although the "monster" is very expensive, and can be unwieldy to use, it sure does look fabulous.
Review 7 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mareth
Tulsa, Oklahoma
September 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kitchen art!!!
September 30, 2010
I love this peppermill!! I've had it for 3 years and it's like it is still brand new. I love the three levels grinding size and it's looks great sitting out on my range. Kitchen art!!!
Review 8 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fritzie
Washington, Mi
September 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Doesn' Work
September 30, 2010
This is the most useless thing I have ever purchased. Very disappointing.
Review 9 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Teel
Orlando
September 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this pepper grinder!!
September 6, 2010
Have gone thru so many pepper grinders over the years. I was very excited to get this as a gift from my daughter. Love the design and the 3 different levels of grinding. You can feel the quality.
Review 10 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lkkg
Pasadena, CA
August 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Broke immediately
August 29, 2010
The glass view portion cracked and broke immediately, grind also imperfect. I would not purchase again or recommend.
Review 11 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChristineMG
Onekama, MI
July 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best pepper mill
July 12, 2010
Our pepper mill arrived in a timely fashion, was well packaged and is attractive.
We enjoy using the three different "grinds". It is especially fun to add the coarse ground to salads.
Review 12 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MattsMom
Helmetta, NJ
June 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works great!
June 16, 2010
Very dependable and attractive. Grinds pepper perfectly.
Review 13 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reddy48
Charlotte, N.C.
April 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My brother loved this
April 13, 2010
I bought this peppermill for my brother who is a real cook and lives in Chicago. He absolutely loves it. I wanted something tall, easy to fill and that would last. He is extremely pleased. He hasn't tried the clam shucker yet or the specialty peppers, but I am sure he will love them also. He said the gift wrapping was beautiful!
Review 14 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Radical1
Oakland, RI
October 13, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Far . . .
October 13, 2009
It's like a dream come true. I can't begin to count how many pepper mills we've had that have been a struggle to live with. We finally bit the bullet and bought a good one. We'll see. . .
Review 15 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goody2shoes
Avon IN
June 16, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT pepper mill
June 16, 2009
Has held up to over three years of almost constant use-we seem to put fresh ground pepper on everything. I need to get a second for kosher salt! Definitely worth the money.
Review 16 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BBQKing
Dallas, TX
June 16, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality Pepper Mill
June 16, 2009
I have had several different brands and types of pepper mills and this one stands head and shoulders above the rest. Your only problem will be having enough peppercorns around because you will use it all the time.
Review 17 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SkipK
Sacramento, CA
May 24, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Peppermill
May 24, 2009
I like fresh ground pepper--and I use it on a lot of recipes. This is the best peppermill I've found. The variable grind is great--it grinds evenly and doesn't "powder" the pepper at all. Pricey, admittedly, but you really only need one good peppermill, so toss out the cheap ones.
Review 18 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SousChefII
Monrovia, CA
March 15, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
2 Required!
March 15, 2009
My husband likes it so well I had to purchse a second one for kosher and sea salts.
Review 19 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meg123
Sacramento, CA
February 24, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Didn't Last
February 24, 2009
We're on our second one and it just broke. It's really beautiful and worked well for a while, but the bottom plast piece that holds the peppercorns wasn't strong enough to withstand our use I guess.
Review 20 for William Bounds Pro View Pepper Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MartiniGal
Honolulu, HI
September 14, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth Every Penny!
September 14, 2008
This is the best pepper mill I've ever had. It's a little pricier than most other mills but it's worth every penny. It's elegant enough to leave on the counter and very easy to use.
page1 2 next