Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer

Check temperatures of foods and liquids with split-second accuracy - and avoid having to stand over a hot oven or grill. This compact unit instantly reads temperatures from -40deg.F (-40deg.C) to 450deg.F (230deg.C) with scientific precision. Shock-resistant thermometer features a thermocouple microtip probe, a high-contrast LCD display and automatic power saving after five minutes of inactivity. A simple pivot turns the unit on or off, and temperatures can be displayed in Fahrenheit or Celsius. Backed by a Factory Calibration Certificate that guarantees performance. This NSF-certified product meets the high-level safety standards of commercial kitchens. Uses three AAA batteries (included).
Average Customer Rating:
3.882 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
11 of 17(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer
Review 1 for Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
builderkm
,East Providence
,RI
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Accurately described
January 3, 2013
In one review described as a random number generator. Worked for a couple months sometimes. Now just generates numbers when it feels like. Waste of $100. I am now buying a thermapen. solid reviews
Cons: Inaccurate
Review 2 for Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
,Durham
,NC
October 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good while it lasted
October 16, 2012
When new it was accurate and easy to use. At 15 months the battery indicator started flashing and I replaced the batteries. Now all I get are error messages both high and low. When digits are displayed they shift up and down in value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 3 for Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JanineD
Stilwell, KS
October 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I LOVE THIS THERMOMETER!
October 7, 2012
I use this thermometer every day. It's fast, accurate and really takes the guess work out cooking meat to the perfect temp. I've tried several other thermometers and this is by far the best. I've seen the complaints some reviewers had with it jumping to random temperatures and I think that's uncommon and due to improper calibration from the manufacturer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Easy to Store
Review 4 for Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TexasWino
Plano, TX
May 29, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
May 29, 2012
This has been the best thermometer I have used and I have tried almost everyone that Williams-Sonoma sells. Mainly use for the grill. Easy to read the display and very quick and accurate.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 5 for Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shooky
,Chicago
,IL
December 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-22points
1of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as fast as had hoped
December 17, 2011
I imagined this would be an 'instant read' thermometer. Jam it in, shows the temp, take it out. I haven't used it yet to cook, I just got it, but testing the temp of the air, and then my hand, it seemed to take like 30 seconds before it finally settled on a temp. I have a $20 thermometer that reads just as fast. I'll see how this does with real food and we'll see if I keep it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: Temperamental, slow
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
QueenofGadgets
Pittsburgh, PA
Posted October 30, 2012
Don't review products that you haven't used
For all of us who look at reviews of products, please don't give a bad review to a product that you haven't properly used. It skews the ratings and makes them inaccurate.
0points
Customer avatar
Shooky
Chicago, IL
Posted June 24, 2012
In the end, I love it.
I've been using this product for 6 months and Its one of my favorite kitchen gadgets now. Its fast, accurate, and really helps when you want to have control over your food temps. Back up to 5 Stars.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KevMo
,Walnut Creek
,CA
December 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Disaster of a Product
December 4, 2011
This is an absolute disaster of a product. Put it in steak, 90 degrees, remove it and reinsert it 225 degrees. Its all over the place...incredibly unreliable. In fact, I'm convinced it isn't a thermometer...sell it as a random number generator and your golden.
Cons: Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 7 for Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DHMS
,RENO/TAHOE
,NV
November 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
THE ABSOLUTE BEST!!!
November 26, 2011
I love a steak once a week, and I used to never get it perfectly cooked: I like it between rare and medium rare. Only very fine steakhouses know how to cook my steaks this way. But with this thermometer, I get it right every time. I've had this for a year, and I can't tell you how many thick, juicy steaks I have cooked perfectly every single time. Unless you cook for a living, you can't possibly get meat cooked this perfect! I've used this also for my Prime Ribs for the hoiidays, and for turkeys for Thanksgiving, and even when I cook a hamburger patty, it always comes out perfect. In the past, my husband's and my worst arguments were when he would BBQ steaks, and they would get overcooked. This past year, we have only had perfect meat every time. This has been the best purchase of anything in my kitchen in years, and I'm buying more for gifts...especially for my son the professional chef, since I think everyone can use this kind of help from the kitchen gods!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 8 for Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pattyk
,Brooklyn
,MI
Brooklyn, Michigan
November 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very helpful product
November 17, 2011
We have had the Maverick commercial thermometer for a few months. It is so helpful with meats, breadmaking, even beer making. It's quick and accurate.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Design
Review 9 for Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dontcare
greer, sc
April 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not as quick as claimed
April 18, 2011
Bought it because it was advertised as immediately showing the temperature. It is no quicker than the dial thermometer I already had. Works well, just not worth the price.
Pros: Accuracy, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Cons: Quality, slow
Review 10 for Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Cozad, Nebraska
March 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fast and Accurate
March 10, 2011
no hanging out over the hot grill waiting for the thermometer to register,... this unit is a reliable quick read. great buy. good gift item.
Review 11 for Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AlaskanBuyer
Fairbanks Alaska
January 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Easy Read Thermometer!
January 28, 2011
This is a great thermometer.
Very easy to read and displays the temperature quickly! Definitely worth the price.
Review 12 for Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TahoeJan
Lake Tahoe, CA
January 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Maverick Meat Thermometer a disappointment
January 16, 2011
I received this thermometer for Christmas as I love to cook. I was extremely disappointed as it took about 30sec. of it jumping up and down 30 degrees before it would settle into a temp. Then it didn't seem accurate as the filet was a perfect med rare but the temp showed well done! I have no problem paying the big price if it delivered what it said, but it doesn't. Maybe mine is defective but I read similar reviews like mine on other web sites.....sorry.
Review 13 for Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DHMSHOP
RENO, NV
January 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
FINALLY......A PERFECT ROAST!
January 11, 2011
I HAVE COOKED A PRIME RIB EVERY CHRISTMAS FOR THE PAST 30 YEARS. I ALWAYS BUY NEW THERMOMETERS, AND THEY ALWAYS ARE INACCURATE, OR DIFFICULT TO SEE, WITH DRIPPINGS SPLASHED ALL OVER THE DIAL. THIS YEAR, I BOUGHT THIS NEW THERM. .....IT WAS SO EASY TO READ, SO FAST, SO CLEAN, SO AMAZING. MY ROAST CAME OUT ABSOLUTELY PERFECT. IT TRULY IS THE BEST PURCHASE I HAVE MADE FOR MY KITCHEN IN YEARS. I'VE USED IT FOR BBQ-ING STEAKS, SINCE WE BBQ IN THE DEAD OF WINTER AND IT'S SOMETIMES DIFFICULT TO GET THE TEMP JUST RIGHT IN THE SNOW! THIS THERMOMETER DOES THE TRICK. NO MORE OVERCOOKING OR CUTTING INTO JUICY STEAKS TO CHECK DONENESS. NO COOK, NO KITCHEN SHOULD BE WITHOUT THIS STATE OF THE ART TECHNOLOGY!
Review 14 for Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maryfromwildwood
St. Louis, MO
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very accurate
January 4, 2011
I purchased this for my husband for Christmas and he used it that day. He is difficult to impress, but even he was excited when he found how quickly this adjusted its temp. and how accurate it was. Keep in mind its only been used once, and my husband would probably shoot me if he knew how much it cost, but I was happy to finally find something that wow'd even him.
Review 15 for Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
seejay
fort worth
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great all purpose thermometer
December 26, 2010
I got this because it is fast and has a large temperature range. It is good for any project. I am pleased with this purchase.
Review 16 for Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nofolady
Long Island, NY
December 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the Money...
December 20, 2010
I gave this as a gift to our daughter after her Thanksgiving turkey was almost overcooked due to a faulty thermometer - actually, she had TWO useless ones. She has already cooked a pork loin roast to perfection and I had her bring it to our house when they visited this past weekend so we could check it out on an expensive Prime Rib roast. My husband has rejected every thermometer I have ever bought but he LOVED this one so I'll be ordering one for us now. I'd rather have one expensive thermometer that actually works than a drawer full of six inexpensive ones that don't!
Review 17 for Precision Pro Commercial Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3GAC
San Diego, CA
November 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
17of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I'm Glad I Spent the Money
November 4, 2010
I wasn't sure I wanted to spend this much money on an instant read thermometer, but I'm glad I did. It's fast, accurate, and the big backlit display makes it very easy to read - especially at night at the grill. All of my meats now are turning our great. I'm throwing away all of my other themometers.