Potlatch Seasoning

In the Pacific Northwest, coastal Native American tribes regarded salmon as a culinary cornerstone of the potlatch-a lavish ceremonial feast. For centuries, cooks would catch salmon at the mouths of rivers, where the freshwater streams met the sea. They'd season the fillets with wild herbs, then grill the fish over a crackling driftwood fire on the beach. With our classic blend, we've made it easy to recreate these rich, smoky flavors at home. 3-oz. tin. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.957 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
23 of 23(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Potlatch Seasoning
Review 1 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JohnCrawford
,Franklin
,TN
May 27, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile--not just for seafood
May 27, 2014
I am a W-S Associate. We have trouble keeping this in stock. People love it. I have heard many of the suggestions I read here before and a few I haven't seen. One customer uses it, mixed with sour cream, as a dip.
What a great idea!
Review 2 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
twignut
,San Juan Capistrano
,ca
San Juan Capistrano, CA
May 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
what took me so long?
May 22, 2014
I don't remember how I came across this seasoning, perhaps because I needed a salmon dish that was more than ordinary?
This seasoning is unbelievable! I will never
go back to ordinary salmon, that's for sure!
Not being a salmon lover in the past, I have to say that now, I am. My husband, who's not a compliment-ready kind of guy, loved it.
Now, do you have something for 'not-so-complimetary-husbands? Kidding!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 3 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stowcook
,Stow
,OH
Ohio
December 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flavor
December 6, 2013
This is the best combo of flavors for salmon and shrimp; adjust the heat by how much you sprinkle on. I have many cookbooks and haven't found anything comparable that I've made myself. Purchasing my 3rd tin.
Pros: Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 4 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CareyAnn
,TRINITY
,FL
October 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Salmon and more!
October 10, 2013
This is the yummiest! A perfect seasoning for salmon and other fish and shellfish, the seasoning has identifiable seeds and bits of seasoning with just enough heat to bring out the sweetness of salmon, grouper, and scallops. An instant preparation for grilling, broiling, and pan frying. Our sons look forward to finding this in their stockings!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Baker52
August 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding seasoning
August 17, 2013
This is our favorite seasoning for salmon. Just sprinkle it on and bake, broil or grill. Everyone always raves when we use it.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, no prep
Review 6 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maryef27
,Sugar Land
,TX
August 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tastiest Salmon Ever
August 1, 2013
I ALWAYS have seconds when I use this seasoning. It couldn't be easier to prepare either - just sprinkle it on top. If I can't afford the fresh Sockeye and get the cheaper Atlantic salmon this kicks it up a notch and it tastes delicious!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
Review 7 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LennyFM
,Altamonte Springs
,Fl
July 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Seasoning
July 8, 2013
This "Potlatch Seasoning" was exactly what I expected. I had received my original can from a friend and loved it on grilled or baked salmon. Not knowing where to purchase future supplies I "Googled" it and came up with "Williams -Sonoma" as a source. I am completely happy with their product and will return to their site for additional purchases.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 8 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
taylo
,houston
,TX
July 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
can't get enough
July 7, 2013
I love this seasoning--great on all kinds of seafood. I purchased 2 to give as gifts for friends that love to cook.
Pros: Flavor, Great Gift
Review 9 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Farrel
,Ketchikan
,AK
June 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite way to prepare salmon
June 20, 2013
I am a 4th generation Alaskan and have caught, smoked, canned and cooked salmon for years. This product, together with the cedar planks sold by WS, is the perfect way to cook fish. The only addition I made was to coat the fish lightly with olive oil before applying the seasoning. I use a lighter hand for myself, heavier hand for my husband who likes food a little spicier. Great product, especially bought with the planks.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LacyL
,St Petersburg
,FL
St. Petersburg, FL
May 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kicks salmon up a notch
May 31, 2013
I don't know how WS did it, but I recently tried this on wild salmon for the grill. My husband likes bland spices and I like very spicy stuff, but we both LOVED this on the salmon. Now it is a regular at our house, since we eat salmon so much!
Review 11 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sparky7
,Honolulu
,HI
April 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Salmon Seasoning
April 30, 2013
We love this seasoning! Every summer we go fishing is Alaska and this is our "go to" seasoning for our salmon!!!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 12 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thatcyberchick
,Sunnyvale
,CA
April 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Seasoning
April 25, 2013
Used this seasoning on salmon last night and it was amazing. Very fragrant with deep flavors and a rich after taste that keeps you coming back for more. Will definitely purchase again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: larger quantity would be great!
Review 13 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rose714
,Los Angeles
,CA
March 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrific Rub
March 26, 2013
I love this rub...I've used it on shrimp and other fish dishes and they always get rave reviews. Marrinate your fish/shrimp for a few hours. I also added a bit of fresh orange juice and olive oil to add a bit of moisture and then cook and serve.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 14 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
,London
,UK
London
March 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best all around seasoning for white meat
March 16, 2013
Ive been using this for over 2yrs now. I actually came online today to see if WS still sell it as I'm about to run out!
It is amazing on salmon, which is what I mainly use it for. But I also use it on shrimp, chicken and in the breading for fried than baked pork chops. In all cases it's a winner. It reminds me of Old Bay seasoning but not as tangy (in a good way).
The only downside is you can't buy this online to get shipped outside the USA. So I always have to wait until I visit the States to stock up on it.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Flavor
Cons: no international shipment
Review 15 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bonbon1227
,Atlantic Highlands
,NJ
March 8, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Potlash seasoning
March 8, 2013
this seasoning takes ordinary chicken, fish or pork and makes it flavorful, tasty and enjoyable to eat!
Pros: Flavor
Review 16 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JillGa
,Charleston
,SC
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great with salmon
December 31, 2012
In an attempt to impress my brother, I bought this seasoning based on the WS reviews. He enjoyed it so much, I ended up giving him the can before he left town. It's perfect for salmon. Just use lemon and the WS cedar planks and you've got a great dinner.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 17 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
QueenB1024
December 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile Spice for adding kick to chix or beef
December 21, 2012
Yummy! This is a great spice mix. Difficult to describe the taste but it has a nice mix of mild heat and tang. We use it very frequently for simple broiled chix breasts. Also use it for beef and is great on grilled kebobs. Since we first tried this a few years ago, we've bought more several times. This is a great tool for us to have a healthy, lean meal that is not bland without adding a bunch of calories. Highly recommended.
Review 18 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
herbgardener
,Stevens
,PA
August 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Potlatch Seasoning Not Just for Fish
August 16, 2012
Since becoming a vegan I no longer eat fish but I am always in search of spicy seasonings to go with my veggies. I love this seasoning especially with corn on the cob. I actually can't eat corn without it! I have been using the Potlatch seasoning for several years now and highly recommend it. I hope Williams Sonoma always carries this spice!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 19 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lcruz27
,Carteret
,NJ
June 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best seasoning EVER
June 25, 2012
Yes, this is delish on fish, especially salmon. But I think it's even better as a dry rub on chicken (grilled or baked) and I even rub it on corn before I grill it. I'm back ordering more before it goes out of stock!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 20 for Potlatch Seasoning
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
June 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Easy! So Good!
June 24, 2012
Being from the Pac NW, salmon is a serious business with me. We have purchased this and used it repeatedly. Phenomenal.
Either rub it straight onto the salmon or add a bit of olive oil to the salmon, then add the rub. Just slap in the oven to roast or on the grill. The results are always terrific.
I have yet to use it in a compound butter, but it sounds fantastic! Also perfect as a gift.
My only issue is the volume. I wish there was more for the price.
Incredibly fast and easy. Love it.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
page1 2 next