Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Potlatch Seasoning

In the Pacific Northwest, coastal Native American tribes regarded salmon as a culinary cornerstone of the potlatch-a lavish ceremonial feast. For centuries, cooks would catch salmon at the mouths of rivers, where the freshwater streams meet the sea. They'd season the fillets with wild herbs, then grill the fish over a crackling driftwood fire on the beach. With our classic blend, we've made it easy to recreate these rich, smoky flavors at home. 3-oz. tin. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.968 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
31 of 31(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Potlatch Seasoning
Review 1 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Philaddelphia
,PA
December 2, 2016
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Seasoning Ever
December 2, 2016
I have never written a review on a product before, however, this seasoning is so amazing that I had to write a review on it! I am not a huge salmon lover, because any time I have ever ordered salmon in a restaurant, it was a hit or miss. A friend recommended this seasoning and raved about it, so I decided to give it a try. IT IS PHENOMENAL! Without fail, every time I use this seasoning, my salmon comes out better than any salmon I have had a restaurant. I now eat salmon every week! It is my new favorite meal - and so easy to prepare!
Pros: Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Great Gift, Healthy, Quality, Time-saver
Review 2 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Anchorage
,AK
Anchorage, AK
September 25, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Still one of my favorites
September 25, 2016
Ordered some when it first came out and gave a positive review. Have now ordered another batch. It is good on EVERYTHING. Had it on my eggs this morning.
Pros: Amount, Flavor, Great Gift, Quality, Texture, Time-saver
Review 3 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Buena Park
,CA
July 16, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Seasoning for Salmon
July 16, 2016
There is no other seasoning like this; I use it on salmon with some teriyaki sauce and cook it on the grill. Invariably, I get rave reviews for serving great salmon. Thanks for the product of Potlatch.
Pros: Amount, Authentic, Flavor, Great Gift, Quality, Texture
Review 4 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
South Carolina
June 26, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Seasoning for Salmon
June 26, 2016
This is my 3rd purchase of Potlatch Seasoning. It is the best rub I've ever used for salmon.
Review 5 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Timnath
,CO
December 28, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Salmon's best friend
December 28, 2015
This is an awesome rub for salmon and other meaty fish. I use it on my salmon before I plank it on the grill. It makes all fish taste great.
Review 6 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Victorville
,CA
October 31, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tastes Great
October 31, 2015
This is great on salmon. We are on our third can. It is so good.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 7 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Randolph
,NJ
July 31, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Salmon Seasonin
July 31, 2015
This is the perfect seasoning for grilling your salmon. I purchase several when they go on sale. use it on both top and bottom of fillets and place on the Wilton Fish Grilling Pan. In 15 minutes at 400 degrees I have perfect grilled salmon
Pros: Flavor
Review 8 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Charleston
,SC
July 28, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite for salmon.
July 28, 2015
Amazing. You will very happy with this product. Family loves the taste. I used this on salmon which I cooked on cedar planks on the grill. Delicious.
Pros: Quality, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Healthy, Decadent, Great Gift
Review 9 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Franklin
,TN
May 27, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile--not just for seafood
May 27, 2014
I am a W-S Associate. We have trouble keeping this in stock. People love it. I have heard many of the suggestions I read here before and a few I haven't seen. One customer uses it, mixed with sour cream, as a dip.
What a great idea!
Review 10 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Juan Capistrano
,ca
San Juan Capistrano, CA
May 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
what took me so long?
May 22, 2014
I don't remember how I came across this seasoning, perhaps because I needed a salmon dish that was more than ordinary?
This seasoning is unbelievable! I will never
go back to ordinary salmon, that's for sure!
Not being a salmon lover in the past, I have to say that now, I am. My husband, who's not a compliment-ready kind of guy, loved it.
Now, do you have something for 'not-so-complimetary-husbands? Kidding!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 11 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Stow
,OH
Ohio
December 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flavor
December 6, 2013
This is the best combo of flavors for salmon and shrimp; adjust the heat by how much you sprinkle on. I have many cookbooks and haven't found anything comparable that I've made myself. Purchasing my 3rd tin.
Pros: Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 12 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,TRINITY
,FL
October 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Salmon and more!
October 10, 2013
This is the yummiest! A perfect seasoning for salmon and other fish and shellfish, the seasoning has identifiable seeds and bits of seasoning with just enough heat to bring out the sweetness of salmon, grouper, and scallops. An instant preparation for grilling, broiling, and pan frying. Our sons look forward to finding this in their stockings!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SuSu2
NY
Posted February 7, 2015
Top 25 Contributor
Good Review
You're right, this seasoning is excellent and does bring out the sweetness of salmon.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
August 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding seasoning
August 17, 2013
This is our favorite seasoning for salmon. Just sprinkle it on and bake, broil or grill. Everyone always raves when we use it.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, no prep
Review 14 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Sugar Land
,TX
August 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tastiest Salmon Ever
August 1, 2013
I ALWAYS have seconds when I use this seasoning. It couldn't be easier to prepare either - just sprinkle it on top. If I can't afford the fresh Sockeye and get the cheaper Atlantic salmon this kicks it up a notch and it tastes delicious!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
Review 15 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Altamonte Springs
,Fl
July 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Seasoning
July 8, 2013
This "Potlatch Seasoning" was exactly what I expected. I had received my original can from a friend and loved it on grilled or baked salmon. Not knowing where to purchase future supplies I "Googled" it and came up with "Williams -Sonoma" as a source. I am completely happy with their product and will return to their site for additional purchases.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 16 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,houston
,TX
July 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
can't get enough
July 7, 2013
I love this seasoning--great on all kinds of seafood. I purchased 2 to give as gifts for friends that love to cook.
Pros: Flavor, Great Gift
Review 17 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ketchikan
,AK
June 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite way to prepare salmon
June 20, 2013
I am a 4th generation Alaskan and have caught, smoked, canned and cooked salmon for years. This product, together with the cedar planks sold by WS, is the perfect way to cook fish. The only addition I made was to coat the fish lightly with olive oil before applying the seasoning. I use a lighter hand for myself, heavier hand for my husband who likes food a little spicier. Great product, especially bought with the planks.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 18 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,St Petersburg
,FL
St. Petersburg, FL
May 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kicks salmon up a notch
May 31, 2013
I don't know how WS did it, but I recently tried this on wild salmon for the grill. My husband likes bland spices and I like very spicy stuff, but we both LOVED this on the salmon. Now it is a regular at our house, since we eat salmon so much!
Review 19 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Honolulu
,HI
April 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Salmon Seasoning
April 30, 2013
We love this seasoning! Every summer we go fishing is Alaska and this is our "go to" seasoning for our salmon!!!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 20 for Potlatch Seasoning
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Sunnyvale
,CA
April 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Seasoning
April 25, 2013
Used this seasoning on salmon last night and it was amazing. Very fragrant with deep flavors and a rich after taste that keeps you coming back for more. Will definitely purchase again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: larger quantity would be great!
page1 2 next