This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Potato Storage Canister

Like a countertop cellar, our ceramic canister provides cool, dark and well-ventilated storage that helps keep potatoes at their best. Made of durable earthenware with a versatile white glaze. Six ventilation holes release moisture. Easy-to-read embossed label identifies contents. Dishwasher safe. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Potato Storage Canister
Review 1 for Potato Storage Canister
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Moca
,Honolulu
,HI
Honolulu, Hawaii
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Nice looking storage jar
January 10, 2012
I've only had this jar for over a week. I like the look and the size is great. But because Hawaii is a little humid and we don't use central air (windows are all open) the moisture from the air causes the potatoes to sprout. I've yet to see how long the potatoes will last in this jar. Overall, happy with my purchase, especially since the jar was on sale.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 2 for Potato Storage Canister
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MikeFromMaine
,Portland
,ME
November 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A Pantry Plus
November 18, 2011
Tidies up my pantry nicely. I actually bought another of these I liked it so much.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Potato Storage Canister
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
vdub
New York
September 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
A bit large, but really great
September 6, 2011
This potato canister is lovely - it's simple, but very attractive on a countertop. My only regret is that I didn't look to see how big it was - I don't have too much counter space in my apartment, so it takes up more room than I would have liked. You could probably store about 8 potatoes in there - maybe even 10.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Size
Review 4 for Potato Storage Canister
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marot1
Scranton, Pa.
August 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Love the potato cannister
August 29, 2011
I love the potato cannister. It is very attractive and does hold about 5 pounds of potatoes. I wish I bought this years ago.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 5 for Potato Storage Canister
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ccanne
Crescent City, CA
August 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
A fabulous container
August 26, 2011
Finally! Some place to keep all of the new potatoes that come in my weekly CSA boxes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Potato Storage Canister
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fabriholic
Chicago
May 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Proper way to store potatoes
May 19, 2011
I bought 2. One for onions and one for potatoes. THe largest size. It holds a lot, aound a 5 lb bag at least. Using it with sweet and red potatoes at present. The onions didn't last long in the fridge and you aren't supposed to put potatoes in either.
I like the canister as it is white so it goes with any decor and made well. I was given one from Italy for garlic and know how wonderful they can be.
THe best way to store your root vegetables.
I used to own a house in Connecticut that had a root celler which would store farmers vegetables over the winter. These crocks are nicely made and are doing a good job. Just don't keep it next to your appliances that give off heat or moisture as that would not be good for the vegetables. A great find.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Potato Storage Canister
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookingbuff
alabama
February 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
13of 18found this review helpful.
cute and functional!
February 8, 2011
i was tired of having potatoes (also bought the onion and garlic canisters) that had no 'home' of their own so to speak. found myself empting the fruit bowl cause i had more potatoes than i had fruit at the time. i had had my eye on this set, because it was cute. not sorry i bought. the set. the potato canister held 10 fairly large baking potatoes - very pleased with that. but, did not seem to be instrusive in overall size. the onion canister held 3 lbs of vidalla onions with no problem. the garlic canister looked so empty with the 6 cloves of garlic. i like these so well, that all three canisters are on my christmas list for family and friends. highly recommend. infact thinking about getting more for different types of onions and potatoes. does make a difference for sure in how neat the pantry looks! or displayed in a kitchen. you won't be sorry with this purchase, either for yourself or as a gift.