This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Potato Masher

Create ethereal mashed potatoes with this easy-to-use handheld tool. Its open wire-loop design functions as a spring to incorporate air while gently breaking apart the cooked potatoes.Made of durable, easy-care stainless steel.Flexible head gently breaks up cooked potatoes and incorporates air to make them light and fluffy.Long soft-grip handle lets the head reach deep into tall pots.Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
3.318 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
14 of 22(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Potato Masher
Review 1 for Potato Masher
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rnypaver
,Co
October 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Go To Whisk
October 17, 2013
Get one. Keep it very handy. Lumps out of sauces? Hold in one place and push it up and down. Keep thickened sauce uniform? Hold upright and skate along bottom of pan. Use for making cream of wheat. I'm 65 and my household has always had are least one. Never tried to smash potatoes with one, but never tried to make gravy without one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Versatile, Design, multipurpose
Review 2 for Potato Masher
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
blips
North Carolina
October 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Don't bother with this specialty item
October 5, 2013
It doesn't work well to mash potatoes, and certainly can't be use for other steamed vegetables. Stick to cheaper and more practical mashers in W-S or elsewhere in the marketplace. I returned this item.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store, bad design
Review 3 for Potato Masher
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sallybet
,Philadelphia
,Pa
Philadelphia PA
September 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Surprisingly Good Performance
September 29, 2013
I bought this on sale with skepticism due to all the mixed reviews. I loved the results; probably because I wanted mashed potatoes, not whipped potatoes. This design made short work of the mashing as well as incorporating the cream, butter and seasoning. Better than the conventional mashers I have used.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 4 for Potato Masher
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
EBINASH
Asheville
November 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Not an improvement
November 5, 2010
This is not a good potato masher. Part of mashing potatoes is to get into a good rhythm - this masher is stiff and does not work with you but rather against you.
It did work better on softer foods.
Review 5 for Potato Masher
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EBTEK
Elizabeth, Colorado
December 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
What took them so long to think of this ???
December 30, 2009
For "smashed" potatoes, this is a winner.
It's spring loaded (sorta) and makes the "smashing" much easier.....and the attached silicone strip - on the front-most ring ensures you won't be scraping the pot.
Additionally, the handle is positioned such that it brings the silicone strip to the front, right where it should be - you don't have to "fiddle" with it to align it properly.
When you occasionally want "smashed potatoes" instead of whipped potatoes, this one is the correct choice !
Review 6 for Potato Masher
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
eagleman
southern il
December 15, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
best ever
December 15, 2009
this was the best masher we ever had. all the family used it at thanksgiving
Review 7 for Potato Masher
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
micmacmaid
Rich Creek, VA
December 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Potato mashing made easy
December 7, 2009
This masher made turning 10 pounds of potatos into creamy mashed potatos for Thanksgiving an easy task. I am very glad I purchased this tool.
Review 8 for Potato Masher
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
onecook
phila PA
October 21, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
masher
October 21, 2009
LOVE this thing! I usually pull out the kitchenaid mixer to make mashed potatoes, so I don't make them often, especially if I only want to make 1 or 2 servings. But this thing is fantastic - easy to use and makes a fluffy mash, even if you only mash up 1 potato. Will definitely use it often!
Review 9 for Potato Masher
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
thelimey
SoCal
August 12, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
4of 8found this review helpful.
Disappointing
August 12, 2009
I've just used it and will take it back this weekend.
The masher does work, but then you can use many other tools to mash potatoes. Even a fork!
So as you mash down, the spring effect means you can't get a good mash effect down the edges of the pan until you've mashed in the center a few times. The spring compresses at an angle and slides into the center of the pan.
Then, as you continue, the mash accumulates above the spring
This means as you lift the masher out to mash down again, the accumulated mash above the spring falls off and out of the pan onto the floor/work surface
How about at the end of mashing when you want to knock off the mash remnants. Beware! This is a SPRING. And will catapult those mash remnants all over your kitchen.
Am I the only person in the world that thinks that mashing is a vigorous task? Do I need to buy a pan that is 12" wide and 12" tall to stop mash falling out? NO.
DON'T BUY if you put effort into your mashing technique!
Review 10 for Potato Masher
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gossipgirl
Dallas, TX
April 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Why all the bad reviews???
April 26, 2009
I bought this on a whim because I needed a potato masher, and before I used it at home I read all the bad reviews here. Needless to say, I wasn't expecting much when I first tried using it. However, I was delightfully surprised!! I'm not sure why everyone seems to hate this tool because it worked very well for me. I've mashed sweet and red potatoes and they came out perfectly! (I cut the potatoes into small squares and boiled them until they were really soft.) I would like to contradict some earlier reviews and let you know that 1) I had no problem pushing it down (although I do workout!), and holding it was not unusually awkward or difficult, and 2) when I pushed down the masher, my potatoes came up through the rings and looked like a flower.... it didn't just push them down to the bottom of my bowl. I would definitely recommend this product to someone, and I hope you'll give it a chance despite all the bad reviews! I feel sorry for this poor potato masher for getting such a bad rep!
Review 11 for Potato Masher
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
nratt
North Carolina
April 3, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
On a whim
April 3, 2009
I bought this on a whim because it was on sale. Perhaps I have not used it enough to perfect the proper technique, but I am not impressed inasmuch as I don't find it any great shakes over a conventional potato masher, which I've become fairly proficient using for mashing/creaming potatoes without the necessity of any other tool, save a spoon for dipping 'em up. But I'll give it a few more chances before giving up on it completely.
Review 12 for Potato Masher
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Leny
Inglewood, California
March 14, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
A different wayto mash potatoes
March 14, 2009
The potato masher made is easy to get all of the lumps out of the potatoes when I was making mash potatoes. The design allowed me to mash more potato at one time. Great product.
Review 13 for Potato Masher
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PastryDiva
Naples, Florida & St. Augustine, Florida
March 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Disappointed
March 8, 2009
This tool just didn't help me at all. The spiral cone design just flattened the potatoes to the bottom of the pan.
The old fashion "S" shape masher is still a work horse in the kitchen and gets the job done.
Review 14 for Potato Masher
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mitchells
Unison, Virginia
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Terrible Design
February 5, 2009
This masher is really poor. First of all, it's too long so your hand is in an awkward position when you try to use it. Second, the spring is too tight and adds to the huge force needed to press it down on the potatoes. Third, it's too small so you have to press it down (which is difficult) many many times. The old fashioned kind which has a large sort of "s" shaped wire end and short wooden handle is far easier to use and produces better results - and cost lots less too.
Review 15 for Potato Masher
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gotnonickname
Texas
December 24, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Whup dem spuds
December 24, 2008
Easiest potato masher I ever used. Mash dem spuds with no effort at all. Mighty good.
Review 16 for Potato Masher
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Harrisburg, PA
December 11, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Masher doesn't mash
December 11, 2008
I was very disappointed with what i thought was a novel and effective design for a potato masher. Because the steel rings are so soft and pliable to allow the masher to be pushed flat in mashing potatoes, it rides up and over the potatoes, not mashing them at all. My recommendation is to stick to the ordinary and effective design of traditional potato mashers.
Review 17 for Potato Masher
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BFontaine
Purcellville, VA.
December 10, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
What a Masher!!
December 10, 2008
I love this potato masher. It works great and is so easy to use. Mashes potatoes excellent and doesn't leave my arm exhausted.
Review 18 for Potato Masher
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Whitefish
Montana
December 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
0points
potato masher
December 3, 2008
We loved the recipe which you used with the masher, but the masher itself did not work. Three members of the family tried to mash with it and instead of fluffy potatoes ended up with a squished mess pushed to the bottom of the pan. We tried several different techniques, but nothing seemed to work. I am sorry, because I had high hopes.
Review 19 for Potato Masher
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aarika
Arizona
November 25, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Perfect Potatos!
November 25, 2008
This is an excellent potato masher, works great and easy to use. Perfect, fluffy potatos.
Review 20 for Potato Masher
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SamH
Hartsville, Tn
November 19, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Potato Masher
November 19, 2008
It's a pleasure to use and works as well or better than any utensil I have used before. I especially like the silicone tip on the masher and it is a snap to clean.
page1 2 next