Potato Grilling Rack

Cooked over the indirect heat of an outdoor grill, whole potatoes become buttery-soft on the inside and crispy-skinned outside. This handy rack holds four whole potatoes on upright spikes that conduct heat to the centers for a speedier cooking time. Sturdy stainless-steel construction. Spikes distribute heat within the center of each potato, allowing for faster cooking time. The base catches seasonings and drippings so they don't spill onto the grill. Compact arrangement leaves plenty of room for other foods on the grill. Can also be used in the oven. 15 3/4" x 3 1/2" x 2" high. Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
4.278 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
16 of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Potato Grilling Rack
Review 1 for Potato Grilling Rack
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
furbet
October 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hard to clean and slow at cooking
October 20, 2013
Extremely hard to clean, potato sticks to it and it immediately stained. Also, cooks potatoes slower than wrapping them in aluminum foil. Overall adds nothing beneficial to the potato grilling process except a neat looking holder.
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 2 for Potato Grilling Rack
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MichO
,Ut
September 28, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this potato Griller
September 28, 2013
I have used this on the grill and in the oven and it has always cooked my potatoes just right and quicker. I do find it hard to keep clean, stuff sticks to it and has stained it but I am ok with that. I would still recommend it and I would buy it again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 3 for Potato Grilling Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heatherc123
,Bensalem
,pa
September 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Surpise its awesome
September 19, 2013
we grill alot figured i try it for the price, worked GREAT! i didnt think it would make a difference and it really did. Potatos were extra good!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 4 for Potato Grilling Rack
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mischa869
,Jacksonville
,FL
September 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very good, but...
September 17, 2013
I used it in my oven with some smaller Idaho potatoes. I greased the tips of the rack with olive oil, then rubbed oil over the washed potatoes (I clean them with baking soda to get the extra dirt off). I then salted and peppered them.
I placed them in the oven at 350F for 45 min. along with my wrapped tenderloin. They weren't done when the meat was done, ao when I pulled out the meat, I bumped the temp to 400F for another 15 min.
When I checked, the internal temp was 220F, so per the instructions they were "done". Well, the skin was wonderful - my son ate his off the entire potato! But the inside wasn't as fluffy or as done as I would have liked. Next time I'll try higher heat for a little longer.
It cleaned up fine. No issues.
The bottom line is that it needs more specific cooking intructions. I can see that once I get the correct cooking times/temps down, it will be great!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Weight
Cons: instructions
Review 5 for Potato Grilling Rack
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sunryze
,Dodgeville
,Wi
August 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Potato Grilling Rack
August 16, 2013
Sturdy design to get those spuds on the grill - upright and cooking!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Size, Weight
Review 6 for Potato Grilling Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsTiffG
,Plainfield
,IL
July 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Potatoes
July 28, 2013
These made THE best potatoes ever! They were crispy on the outside and light and fluffy inside. The added smoke flavor was an added bonus.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 7 for Potato Grilling Rack
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nancy333
,bethany beach (and PHX, AZ)
,de
July 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Potato Grilling Rack
July 27, 2013
Love it! Potatoes are crisp on the outside and just the right of mushiness on the inside. So easy to use, really effortless! So nice to grill the entire dinner; just add a salad and dinner is complete! The bad news is that it's not so easy to retrieve from the grill and it is not easy to clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, not easy to take off grill when potatoes are hot
Review 8 for Potato Grilling Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cynkee
July 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worked great
July 26, 2013
This is a handy item, whether you use it in the grill or the oven. And yes, I read the reviews about it being hard to clean, but I didn't have a problem. I rubbed a little olive oil on the prongs, baked my potatoes, and they slid right off, perfectly cooked. Threw the rack in the dishwasher and it came out spotless.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Design
Review 9 for Potato Grilling Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SueSue2
,NY
New York
July 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Potato Grilling Rack
July 14, 2013
I've used this rack twice in the oven so far and the baked potatoes have come out buttery-soft on the inside and crispy-skinned on the outside just as advertised.
I rubbed the skins with olive oil and sprinkled a little kosher salt on before baking. Both times, our company made a point to compliment the potatoes and asked to see the grilling rack so they could purchase one, too.
We store it upside down in a grill basket (when not in use) so we don't cut ourselves on the the sharp spikes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design, the potatoes taste great!
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 10 for Potato Grilling Rack
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TomKin
Huntsville, AL
June 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
-7points
0of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Potato Grilling Rack
June 25, 2013
I purchased it as a gift so I cannot really review it except to say that I feel sure the recipient will like it.
Pros: other
Cons: none
Review 11 for Potato Grilling Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kbj0707
,Milwaukee
,Wi
June 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New Favorite Baked Potatoes!
June 19, 2013
Potatoes take so much less time to cook, crispy on the outside/soft on the inside and with that great grilled taste!
This is really easy to clean and store too - being only 1 piece.
Review 12 for Potato Grilling Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CaSue
,Ca
May 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost didn't buy it, but....
May 2, 2013
I am so glad I did. I got it last year when the only review on here gave it 1 star. I thought the idea of it was great, so took a chance. The key is to follow the directions and not cook directly over the fire. You can also use it to cook bell peppers : )
Pros: Time-saver, Design
Review 13 for Potato Grilling Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsDk0ta
,Mena
,AR
April 19, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Potatoes Made Easy
April 19, 2013
I do lots of cooking and needed something to cut down on the cook time for baked potatoes. This not only cut down the cook time but was so very easy to clean also.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Strength, Weight
Review 14 for Potato Grilling Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CBayne
,Roselle
,IL
April 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Gadget
April 10, 2013
We used this the other night and the potatoes come out awesome. Crisp skins with a creamy center. I brushed with olive oil and threw on some salt & pepper. A medium size potato takes about 35 minutes. Make sure to soak right after you take out of the oven or it can be hard to clean.I highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 15 for Potato Grilling Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TLWcal
,Victorville
,ca
October 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for sweet potatoes too
October 8, 2012
This simple little tool makes wonderful potatoes. We have enjoyed regular and sweet potatoes on the grill all summer since this rack got here. Just ordered several more for gifts.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Design
Review 16 for Potato Grilling Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BobsChef
July 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works Great
July 13, 2012
I was concerned the potatoes wouldn't bake fast enough but this contraption works great. I scrubbed medium sized potatoes, pushed them onto the flat metal spikes, and put them on before I grilled the main course. It took about 45 minutes total and the potatoes cooked fluffy and perfectly soft. What a great idea. Clean it right away though. I didn't and had to soak it overnight to remove the potato remnants. I bought two and they stack for easy storage.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 17 for Potato Grilling Rack
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
deb0925
,Pittsburgh
,Pa
June 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
3of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
do not try
June 18, 2012
When I saw this on the web site I was excited to try it. We cook out all the time and thought this would be great , I can cook the bake potatoes outside. First time I used it potatoed on the outer shell burnt and the potatoed stuck to the spikes. I thought ok, maybe I need to use pam. I used again on Father's Day for a cookout. That was a big missstake. The potatoes burnt worse and they stuck to the posts even more. I am going to give it a try in the oven , but never ever on the grill again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SuSu
Asheville, NC
Posted January 2, 2013
Top 50 Contributor
Fabulous for Potatoes on the Grill
I have this potato grilling rack. It is wonderful. In fact, I am getting ready to order an additional one to accommodate up to eight potatoes total. You place the grill on the center of your grill with no direct heat. I have a Weber and keep the back and front burner on medium (try to keep about 350 degrees). Before you place the potatoes on the grill, coat the potatoes with extra virgin olive oil. For large baking potatoes, cook about 1 hour to 1.25 hours at the 350 degrees. You will have a culinary delight with these potatoes. Absolutely fabulous!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Potato Grilling Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hpcook
,highland park
,il
highland park il
May 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
made the best baked potatoes ever
May 28, 2012
heavenly baked potatoes on the grill--crispy on the outside and creamy perfection inside. make sure potatoes are room temp.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo