This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Porcelain Salt Pig

Ever present near the stove in country kitchens, a salt pig keeps the seasoning within quick reach. Our pig is based on an old design, featuring a large, open snout that simplifies grabbing a pinch or a spoonful of salt. Crafted of white porcelain. Embossed with the word Salt. Easy-to-access 3 3/4" opening accommodates measuring spoons. 3-cup capacity. Dishwasher safe. A Williams Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Porcelain Salt Pig
Review 1 for Porcelain Salt Pig
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melinda0412
Dundalk, Maryland
February 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Great Salt Keeper
February 4, 2011
I bought this for my Mom to use when cooking. She likes to pour the salt into her hands instead of measuring. She really likes it, her hand can fit into the mouth very easily without spilling the salt out onto the counter.
Review 2 for Porcelain Salt Pig
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pauline510
,Ashburn
,VA
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Salt Pig Perfect
November 28, 2013
Love this salt pig. Cute and serviceable!!
Sits right next to my stove so I use it every time that I cook!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 3 for Porcelain Salt Pig
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
themomster
,New Milford
,CT
January 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Check your hand size first
January 22, 2013
I have always wanted one of these, so purchased it. It is good because it holds a lot of salt, which I seem to go through quickly. I was a little disappointed because my hand is wide and had a hard time fitting to grab the salt quickly. I also did not take into account that I would be using it elsewhere besides the stove and it is a bit cumbersome to drag around the kitchen. The upside is it keeps the salt clean and it does hold enough so I am not constantly refilling.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size
Cons: opening too small for me
Review 4 for Porcelain Salt Pig
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jesssssmc
,Hershey
,PA
January 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Awesome Salt Pig!
January 10, 2013
I received this salt pig as a Christmas gift after telling my mother I needed something to put my kosher/sea salt in. WOW!! - this salt pig is bigger than I expected it to be, you can actually fit your whole hand in it (so can my boyfriend). It also looks really nice on our counters. Great product - great for cooking - just need to get more salt to fill it! :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 5 for Porcelain Salt Pig
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jfarabee
,Lincoln
,Ne
September 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
It is HUGE! Nice quality.
September 25, 2011
Okay so huge might be an overstatement...but it is much larger than the other two salt pigs I have...I LOVE it! It will hold an entire canister of salt and my hand can fit into the ample opening if necessary. I use a small bamboo spoon I purchased and it is perfect. I will be purchasing more for the serious cooks and canners on my Christmas List. I sit my three salt pigs in a grouping and I get many compliments on them. I have the red le crueset one (from W & S also) and a smaller one that looks like a little pig with ears. They each hold a different type of salt ..but you could put any spice or herb you use a lot of in cooking.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Review 6 for Porcelain Salt Pig
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
polarbear742
Upstate South Carolina
September 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Favorite item for countertop
September 6, 2011
I love my salt pig. It gets a workout every day and is perfect for the cook who wants to use pinches of salt when cooking. It's a great item and convenient to use plus it's an attractive addition to any kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 7 for Porcelain Salt Pig
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
molliegirl
edmond,OK
July 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A Pig for My Kitchen
July 21, 2011
I had been looking everywhere for something clever and unique to keep my sea salt handy for cooking.
This pig doesn't fly, but it fills the bill!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Design
Review 8 for Porcelain Salt Pig
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blgpts
Gallipolis, Oh.
July 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love my salt pig
July 20, 2011
I was a little skeptical when I first ordered my pig, but after having it for a week, I love it! It's easy to use, and the salt really does stay dry. So convenient to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver
Review 9 for Porcelain Salt Pig
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Binkie
Oregon
May 31, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Holds a ton of salt, easy access
May 31, 2011
I really like this. I no longer have to reach for the box of kosher salt. It doesn't have a lid and I wasn't sure I woud like that, but it's actually nice to just reach in a grab a pinch or two of salt and not worry about dropping the lid. The opening is large enough for my husband's large hands.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 10 for Porcelain Salt Pig
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vbenson
Deltona, FL
May 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
I Love this Pig!
May 19, 2011
It looks great and is bigger than it looks in the picture- so convenient!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 11 for Porcelain Salt Pig
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
homemaker2
manhattan, il
February 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
highly functional
February 1, 2011
I have been using this salt pig for two years. It's great! No covers to remove when your fryin up quickly or your hands get sticky. It keeps the salt clean. Easy access for measuring spoons. It holds alot of salt. And it's already labeled, everyone knows what it is. One of my favorite storage containers.
Review 12 for Porcelain Salt Pig
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
UneVieChic
Baltimore, MD
August 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
6of 12found this review helpful.
Handy Helper In My Kitchen
August 15, 2010
After having to open a canning jar (the kind with the rubber seal) every time I wanted to grab some sea salt I got this to try. I love it! Makes it so easy to grab some fleur de sel while cooking or to sprinkle on top of some fresh farmer's market tomatoes.