Porcelain Mortar & Pestle

One of the oldest cooks' tools, the mortar and pestle is still unrivaled for crushing whole spices and fresh herbs to extract maximum flavor. Made in England, our heavy porcelain mortar stays steady while you grind. Unglazed surface provides resistance for efficient grinding. Handy pour spout. The porcelain pestle's wooden handle provides a secure grip. Pestle's heavy weight does work for you. Deep sides keep food in bowl. Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Porcelain Mortar & Pestle
Review 1 for Porcelain Mortar & Pestle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
gpmaven
,San Francisco
,CA
September 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not an efficient tool for making pesto
September 12, 2011
I bought this mortar and pestle to make a paste from garlic, ginger and jalapeno peppers and it worked okay. I had not used one previously, so I didn't have anything to compare it to.
Yesterday, I used it to make basil pesto and found that the surface is too smooth to mash the leaves efficiently, even with coarse sea salt added. I think a granite mortar would probably work better for this purpose. An advertisement I saw for this product shows basil leaves in the mortar, so I am led to believe that making pesto is one of its intended uses. In my opinion, it requires too much effort to make pesto in it.
As other reviewers mentioned, I agree that it is easy to clean and a quality product. However, think about what you intend to use it for before you decide which type of mortar and pestle to buy. I think this one would work much better for dry ingredients or pastes that are not predominately leaves. If you intend to make pesto, consider purchasing one with a rougher surface.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean
Cons: lacks versatility
Review 2 for Porcelain Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JIMMYJ
Monterey,Ca
July 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A must for every kitchen.
July 11, 2011
If you don't own a Mortar,you are not getting the full flavor from your cooking.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 3 for Porcelain Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UncleBubba
Long Island, New York
April 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Indispensable in my Kitchen!!
April 22, 2011
I have used this Mortar & Pestle on a regular basis (4-5 days/week) for the past ten and a half years. It is equally important in my kitchen as my favorite knife! I use it for crushing herbs, garlic, and creating spice blends & pastes. Its size and ease of cleaning make it an indispensable asset in my kitchen. Extremely durable and highly recommended!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Weight
Review 4 for Porcelain Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
New Ipswich, NH
March 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect mortar & pestle!
March 16, 2011
This mortar & pestle is perfect in every respect: size of both bowl and pestle, weight and balance of pestle, workmanship, ease of cleaning.
Highly recommended . . . it's fun to use, too!
Review 5 for Porcelain Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YouaremySunshine143
March 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mortar and pestle
March 10, 2011
Wonderful, cleans up well. Solid and well made. It Is great for herbs nuts....etc. Its is also good for crushing vitamins that of course are crushable.
Review 6 for Porcelain Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Graham, WA
January 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very high quality mortar and pestle
January 11, 2011
I love this mortar and pestle. I especially like the pestle as it has a handle that's easy to grasp. Makes quick work of crushing fresh herbs. I will use this on a regular basis. Another reviewer mentioned it was noisy, but it is porcelain so would expect that. Would highly recommend.
Review 7 for Porcelain Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Edgefield County, South Carolina
August 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How to make a great cup of coffee
August 25, 2010
I bought this product to grind up coffee beans which I then put into my french press. For me, this little routine enhances the daily consumption of coffee. The mortar and pestle are very well made and I expect they will be around when I'm long gone.
Review 8 for Porcelain Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mamapajama
nj
February 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I used this almost daily!
February 5, 2010
I have taken to smashing a raw garlic clove with salt and this is perfect and easy to use and to clean. I even mix a dressing in it and the pour spout comes in very handy for anything that gets mixed with it.
Review 9 for Porcelain Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MKCMD
Delmarva Penninsula
December 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb Quality - Best M&P I ever acquired.
December 28, 2009
I have to differ with K8NY's review. The loud clear tone of this Mortar & Pestle (M&P) is indicative of the extremely high quality of the porcelain. Should a porcelain Mortar & Pestle produce a dull, quiet, short duration tone; you would be guaranteed for it to fail in standard to heavy use shortly after placing it into service.
I have used this product and others of lesser quality over many years and to date have found none of higher quality or ease of use for working foodstuffs to a fine uniform texture. I do use other types (stone) for less fine and course grinding but this M&P is my favorite by far. It can do it all well and do it very fast.
Review 10 for Porcelain Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IshOsborne
Battle Creek, Michigan
September 6, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best for herbs
September 6, 2009
I got this for my wife so that she could mix herbs and seasonings for rubs, soup and other dishes. She enjoys it very much and uses it quite often.
Review 11 for Porcelain Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
schnooks
Lindstrom, MN
April 19, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Every kitchen should have this
April 19, 2009
I love this product. It was given to me as a gift and is EXACTLY what I would have picked. It will last forever, easy to clean, and works perfectly to grind herbs, etc. to a very fine grain. Every kitchen should have this.
Review 12 for Porcelain Mortar & Pestle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
K8NY
New York, NY
March 19, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-26points
2of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too loud and clangy
March 19, 2009
I received this as a gift and was very pleased to have it. However, it is unbearable to use. When the pestle strikes the mortar, as it invariable does, it makes a painful and jarring noise. Why not just have a wooden pestle?
Review 13 for Porcelain Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lilli
City Island, New York
January 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Grinding Matters
January 7, 2009
When my husband asked for a mortar and pestle to grind spices and herbs for cooking from fresh ingredients, I immediately thought of Williams-Sonoma to look for the product. Not only is the stone mortar bowl and pestle useful in our kitchen, but it will be useful for years to come. The sturdiness of this product is why I buy from Williams-Sonoma.
Review 14 for Porcelain Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pjmac101
Frisco, Texas
December 28, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Enhances flavor and easy cleanup
December 28, 2008
Not only does using this product enhance the flavors of the herbs and spices I am using in my recipes but the clean up is a breeze because of the smooth surface of the porcelain. Overall I have found the English made product to be great value.