Porcelain Grease Holder

Handsome enough for the countertop, this antique-inspired porcelain crock holds bacon grease and meat drippings near the stove, ready for flavoring other dishes. Porcelain crock has a removable ceramic insert to strain out solids from the drippings. Embossed with the word Grease. 4-cup capacity. Dishwasher safe. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
16 of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Porcelain Grease Holder
Review 1 for Porcelain Grease Holder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JennNCA
,CA
CA
January 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is a very LARGE grease holder.....
January 12, 2013
I liked the "idea" of this grease holder - however the piece is much larger than I expected. If you have a smaller kitchen and not alot of counter space then you probably want to pass on this one. I put it out on my counter and it just took up way to much space. But..... if you like to hold on to alot of grease and you have lots of counter space then you may like this item. For me it just didn't work due to it's size.
Cons: Fragile, Size
Review 2 for Porcelain Grease Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jwebb
,Jersey City,
,NJ
August 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nice size and weight
August 3, 2012
great capacity , solid feel , sits well on the counter top. Fast delivery, good service.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Weight
Review 3 for Porcelain Grease Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
,London
,UK
London
June 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great capacity
June 2, 2012
I originally bought this out of a mixture of nostalgia and wanting to store grease in something more pleasing than an old coffee can. This hits all the marks. Looks lovely on my counter top, stainer works well for most serious clumps of breading/batter debris and the capacity is very impressive. It's also easy to clean after a soak in hot suds.
My only mild complaint is that it can be a bit hard to get the right angle to pour grease out of it without some slipping down the side, but I think that's true of any wide-neck container, so it's not worth docking a star for it.
I've had this for 4+ years and plan on buying my mom one to replace her old metal can for her birthday.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Design
Cons: a bit difficult to pour
Review 4 for Porcelain Grease Holder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
arlgray
,Rockport
,MA
Bi coastal, La Honda, CA & Rockport, MA
November 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Welcome addition to the kitchen
November 5, 2011
No more scrambling to find a suitable container for hot grease or risking the plumbing. The removable porcelain filter separates out the larger debris from cooking oils and allows for reuse of oil from deep frying.
Would benefit from disposable liners.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Everette
Bradford MA where we have single stream recycling
Posted November 25, 2012
Disposable liner
I agree that the container would be more attractive with a disposable liner so unwanted grease could be easily recycled or deposited with municipal grease recycling collection. I did locate a very detailed description of such a strainer/funnel patent that appears to be pending; however there was no such item available for purchase as far as I can determine. For a while we used an old vegetable can as a liner that could then be easily remover and disposed of in the garbage but have discontinued this practice since it defeats recycling the can with metal recycling. Please submit best recommendation for people who rarely reuse kitchen grease!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Porcelain Grease Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ilove2cook
Woodille, Al
August 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Grease Holder
August 24, 2011
I had been looking for a Porcelain Grease Holder and I found the perfect one. Good size, don't have to worry about salt eating it up, strainer is perfect.
I also gave my mother one and she loved it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Porcelain Grease Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amissmrs
Point of Rocks, MD
August 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very useful
August 18, 2011
The old fashion look of this piece looks great on my stovetop, and it's non-fussy style is easy to keep clean. Works great! If you cook with grease a great deal, it is a good choice.
Review 7 for Porcelain Grease Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GypsyGirl
Lake Co, FL
June 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cutest Wedding Gift
June 21, 2011
I give this all the time for a wedding gift, do you know how many times you don't have a place to pour bacon grease? Plus it makes a great place to put gift cards or a check in as an additional gift. And the WS Wrapping Paper & Ribbon make an awesome looking gift.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Scent, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight, cute
Review 8 for Porcelain Grease Holder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rchappell
Sonora, CA
April 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good size for dumping grease
April 8, 2011
This is a really good size. The only complaint I have is that the knob on the lid is too small. Would be better with a larger knob.
Pros: Durable, Quality
Cons: knob too small
Review 9 for Porcelain Grease Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kokonn
New York, NY
March 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Practical piece
March 29, 2011
This grease holder will go well on my countertop. I have not use it yet but I know that is a good addition to my kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size
Review 10 for Porcelain Grease Holder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
Casper, WY
March 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice But Strainer was broken
March 1, 2011
I really like it, but would not recommend this particular grease keeper. The top does not fit tightly, and the grease strainer was not packed well enough and was smashed to smithereens when I opened the package. I was very disappointed, but I can use it without the strainer.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
krussrn
Denahm Springs, Louisiana
Posted January 21, 2013
Insert Replacement
Williams-Sonoma is always more than happy to replace anything that's either broken or doesn't meet your expectations. So, customers never need to settle!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Porcelain Grease Holder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not2Shabby
Waycross, GA
February 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Counter-worthy Storage
February 23, 2011
I looked for a grease holder in stores for a while and you just can't find them. I'm so glad I found this one and is so cute! I love that it holds 4 cups and it is very easy to clean. I'm giving it only 4 stars because, while its wide mouth makes it easy to pour grease into, it doesn't have a spout so it's a little bit messy when you pour. Used grease will run down the side of it so just make sure you have some paper towels handy.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MsGothic
Posted February 26, 2011
I agree
I just wanted to comment that you are right, you can't find these things anymore. I have one, not this kind, it's old and I need a new one, and just can't find them. i can't believe you have to go on line and order one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Porcelain Grease Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LDMT830
Boston, MA
January 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best practical purchase
January 27, 2011
I grew up with the metal grease cans in that my Mom used. I love this porcelain one as it is so easy to keep clean! I was araid it'd break from being banged around a bit but it's been great and I've had this for about 3 years now.
Review 13 for Porcelain Grease Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cowboysrus
Montana
January 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Porcelain Grease Holder
January 20, 2011
Attractive and very utilitarian. Nice strainer included, also porcelain. Good large size. Very pleased with this product. I've looked a long time for an good grease container with strainer and this one really fits the bill.
Review 14 for Porcelain Grease Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ConcreteEstrella
Castro Valley, CA
January 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Gift
January 6, 2011
I needed a gift for the bacon lover in my life - my boyfriend. He puts bacon on almost everything and had mentioned that his Grandmother had a grease can that she collected her grease in and used it for cooking at a later time. I came across this in a google search, went to the store and was told that it was only available online. Since it was 4 days before Christmas I was skeptical about it being delivered on time and was it what I wanted? I took a chance, ordered it on line and was very happy that it was delivered on time and was very nice quality. He thought it was a perfect gift :)
Review 15 for Porcelain Grease Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SherryEsther
Long Island, NY
October 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Oh, Happy Purchase
October 5, 2010
This piece is functional yet attractive. My previous grease catcher did it's job but was not "counter-worthy." This receptacle looks nice on the counter while I cook and holds a large amount of grease.
Review 16 for Porcelain Grease Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kandjramsey
TN
July 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for collecting cooking grease
July 23, 2010
This was just what i needed. filters out all the bad and lets all the grease in so when you go to use it its clean and usable.
Review 17 for Porcelain Grease Holder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CoronaMom
Corona, California
July 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Grease Holder
July 12, 2010
The quality of the pot is good, and the porcelain looks elegant on our counter top. The strainer functions well, and the pot has a wide opening for ease of pouring grease into it. However, without a pour spout on the pot, it makes transferring the grease, (or reusing the oil) messy.
Review 18 for Porcelain Grease Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
newlywedchef
Richmond, VA
June 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the porcelain grease holder
June 29, 2010
A great throwback to down-home southern cooking. This little grease holder is both charming and convenient, adding a little bit of whimsy to your kitchen.