Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow

Decades ago, Chuck Williams discovered these absorbent sponges while traveling in Europe, and they became an instant customer favorite. Made of all-natural material, they're compressed to a thin rectangle for easy storage. Compressed to a flat, thin rectangle, so you can store six sponges in the space of one. Immersed in water, each sponge expands to full size. Made from all-natural cellulose. Highly absorbent and gentle on cookware and fine tableware. A run through the dishwasher keeps them clean and fresh. Regular sponge: 4" x 3" x 1" high (expanded). Large sponge: 5 1/2" x 3 1/2" x 1 1/2" high (expanded). Large sponges sold in a set of 6; regular sponges sold in a set of 12.
Average Customer Rating:
4.421 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
16 of 19(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
Review 1 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Salt lake city
April 25, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love these sponges
April 25, 2016
They are about 2x as thick as what you can pick up in the grocery store, and very durable. Love the natural cellulose texture. I like the smaller ones for dishwashing, and the larger ones for wiping counter tops, etc. Am already thinking ahead to christmas stocking stuffers.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Weight
Review 2 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Patterson
,NY
April 16, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite sponges for over 40 years!
April 16, 2016
I always stock up on them, so I'll never run out -- hate when that happens!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Durable, Size, small space storage!
Review 3 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,tyler
,tx
January 25, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Soak Up the Best
January 25, 2016
Over thirty years ago I had a friend from NYC send me these from Chinatown, the only place I could find them. I have searched and searched for them for years until a couple of years ago when I found them at WS. They are the perfect sponges, with that great cellulose durability, texture, performance. I put them thru the works and
they come thru every time. Wonder sponges, wonderful sponges!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, performance
Review 4 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Brooklyn, NY
December 15, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite sponge!
December 15, 2015
I just love these sponges! Whenever they're on sale, I get a bunch of pkgs. of them. They absorb moisture well, and last a long time. I like the size, too. Fits well in my hand. A MUST-BUY!!
Review 5 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
December 10, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
highly recommended
December 10, 2015
Like the other reviews, we bought these because someone in the store was raving about them. These are the best sponges we have ever used (who knew sponges varied that much?). They are highly durable and go through the dishwasher well.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Quality, Weight
Review 6 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
December 8, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best of the best
December 8, 2015
My friend turned me on to these 10 years ago and I never looked back. They are so absorbent and yet flexible so you can really squeeze them to fit into narrow spaces, tight corners of a container and all over everything. For how soft they are, they last incredibly long and it never ceases to be a small pleasure to see the dehydrated sponge pop up the first time you wet it. I cook a lot and these are one of my favorite tools in the kitchen. The small size are perfect to fit in your hand, I find the large ones a bit too big and when I have purchased those in the past, have cut them in half to use.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Durable, Versatile, Quality
Review 7 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,CT
December 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best sponge I ever had
December 5, 2015
I don't think about sponges an awful lot. Never really worried about the quality of my sponge. So many larger problems to conquer.
But one day I was in a WS shop and overheard another woman raving about these. Not wanting to miss out, I bought a pack.
Woah! This is one awesome sponge. They last a really long time, clean well in the dishwasher and look a little bit nicer than most on your sink. And also , clean all kinds of stuff just great.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quality
Review 8 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Farmington
,CT
September 16, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best sponges ever
September 16, 2015
These are the best sponges for kitchen clean up. I love that they come dehydrated in a multipack, making storage easy.
When hydrated they are just the right size to fit my hand for cleaning up.
They do an excellent job of cleaning.
I can throw them in the dishwasher to sanitize them and they maintain their integrity.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Durable, Quality, Size
Review 9 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Durango
,CO
March 10, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sponges (12)
March 10, 2015
Am amazed at strength and durability. Multiple usings than throwing into dishwasher coming out as new.
So glad after reading reviews I ordered them.
Review 10 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,NY
NY
March 7, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Still Not impressed
March 7, 2015
We tried these a couple of years ago, but didn't care for them because the sponges were not durable. Due to the rave reviews, I thought we'd try them again. They still tear and stain more easily than cheaper brands from the grocery store. The smaller but thicker (1 1/4") dimensions feel awkward; like I'm washing the dishes with a piece of pound cake. Knowing there are many who disagree, I'm sure no one will find this helpful. :-)
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SuSu2
NY
Posted December 23, 2015
Top 25 Contributor
I found the ones made in France
I found similar sponges that are more durable, closer in size, comfort, & quality that appear to be like W-S' original ones and are made in France. Not sure where Williams-Sonoma's sponges come from now, but they sure are inferior to me.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
February 10, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Absorbing Sponges!
February 10, 2015
I first ordered these about 10 years ago and just recently ordered another sack of 12. They are great for wiping counter tops. Since they can be cleaned in my dishwasher, it gives them a long life, and they don't break apart, like lesser quality sponges. I have also used a little Clorox in water, in my sink, to clean them if needed, without harm.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 12 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Seattle
,WA
October 3, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wouldn't be without them!!!
October 3, 2014
I have been using these sponges for years and wouldn't have a kitchen without them! They come in great sizes and colors and are super for clean up!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 13 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Antioch
,CA
Antioch California
February 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lov these pop up sponges
February 9, 2014
I have used these sponges for several years. Will not go back to the grocery store version. They hold up for a long time before they start to come a part. Clean them in the dishwasher.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean
Review 14 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Harvard
,Ma
September 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
These are the best!!!
September 2, 2013
There isn't much to say other then these are wonderful. Once you use one, you want want to use any other sponge again. They are absorbent. They are perfectly sized. Not to big but large enough to do the job. They last a long time. I throw them in the washing machine on a regular basis and they keep going and going.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Design, Weight
Review 15 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
San Francisco, California
July 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
EXCELLENT VALUE
July 18, 2013
I have used these sponges for 15 plus years and just recently purchased a new set. I always buy the regular sized package of 12 yellow sponges. They last an incredibly long time and when they start to look a little ragged after approximately 6 weeks of moderately heavy daily use (one hour a day at least), don't throw them away. They are still great to use for heavier , more dirty jobs such as the garage, outside, garden and automobile exterior cleaning. Over the years, I have found similar sponges from different retailers for less or the same money but they do not compare in quality, longevity and durability. I throw them in the dishwasher and microwave them for a minute until almost dry to clean and/or "sterilize them".
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 16 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Coventry
,RI
May 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love these sponges
May 26, 2013
I have been using these sponges for years. (I like the regular size) I put them through the dishwasher once a week or so and I have never had a problem with them falling apart. I will never go back to supermarket sponges. They have a permanent place in my kitchen and bathrooms from there they go into the garage and shed where they do some heavy-duty cleaning before I finally toss them.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Versatile
Review 17 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,NY
New York
May 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An expensive novelty
May 22, 2013
I purchased the regular sized pop-up sponges based on the good reviews for the set of 6 larger size ones. And like "Kitchenaid", after minimal use, pieces fall off them. At 1st, I thought it was due to cutting them while washing sharp steak knives. But, after being extremely careful while using the sponges, I discovered the sponges are just not well made. We're going back to the cheap sponges in the grocery store just as soon as we use the remaining 8 sponges, which won't be long......
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Strength, Quality, durability
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RobbyLee
Long Island, NY
Posted October 17, 2014
Strongly disagree!
I've been using these sponges (regular size) for close to 20 years & love them! They last forever (ok, not that long but they do last much longer than any other sponge I've seen or used), work incredibly well, are easy to keep clean & are simply great! Perhaps the package you got was defective but other than that being the case, I find your review to be completely inconsistent with the product. I'd suggest you give them another try…while more expensive than regular sponges they are not unaffordable for most.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,santa cruz
,ca
April 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Great Product
April 23, 2013
I recently ordered some of your great sponges, in yellow.I have been using these for years. I love these sponges. They are always in my bathroom and kitchen. I prefer the smaller ones. And I can usually put them through the washing machine at least once before they begin to disintegrate. Maybe it's time for a new color, the next time i order. Thank you for another great product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 19 for Pop-Up Sponges, Yellow
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Golden
,CO
April 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
13of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just don't do it
April 5, 2013
Years ago when Chuck Williams 'discovered' these sponges, were they made in Europe? Perhaps. Sadly, no more. The current Pop-Up Sponges are a shade of their former selves. These used to be the greatest sponges ever, but now after minimal use, pieces fall off them, stick to what you are cleaning, until you have to just throw them away. I've been using these exact sponges for years and years, and at almost $3.00 a pop (large size) they're not cheap. If they held up as they did before, they'd be 5 stars all the way... sadly you should keep looking elsewhere.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Strength, Quality, durability, Assembly, Fragile, fall apart
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
SuSu2
NY
Posted December 23, 2015
Top 25 Contributor
Look for ones made in France
I found similar sponges in a national chain store that are more durable, closer in size, comfort, & quality that appear to be like W-S' original ones and are made in France. .
0points
Customer avatar
Pattyba
NY
Posted July 17, 2013
I've been using these sponges for years & years and have loved them! When the last batch fell apart quickly I hoped it was a fluke and ordered them again. Unfortunately I now have to agree with other long time users...not the same quality as before so will no longer buy them. Very disappointing.
W-S, please try to find the quality sponge you used to sell.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)