Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator

A favorite technique of restaurant chefs, sous vide cooking is becoming popular in home kitchens as well. And no wonder - foods emerge with amazing flavor, texture and juiciness. The method calls for cooking food slowly in a low-temperature water bath inside vacuum-sealed bags. This professional thermal circulator offers precise temperature control and a pump that continuously circulates water to ensure even cooking. Easy to use-simply set the thermal circulator, place the vacuum-sealed food in the water bath and leave it to cook. Inside the airtight bags, foods cook in their own natural juices, guaranteeing tender, flavorful results every time. Great for make-ahead meals, vacuum-sealed pouches can be stored in the refrigerator or freezer until you're ready to use them. Sous vide cooking locks in food's natural flavors, nutrients and moisture. A favorite of professional chefs everywhere, this unit runs day and night in many top restaurant kitchens. Setting it apart from standard sous vide machines, it features a powerful pump that actively circulates heated water throughout the pot to ensure uniform cooking temperatures. Pump speed regulation allows this machine to circulate up to 8 gallons of water at a time. The unit clamps securely to the side of any stockpot or large container. Cooking temperatures adjust from 59deg.F to 212deg.F with the push of a button - and can be set to 1/10th of a degree. Large LCD screen displays actual and desired temperatures (in Fahrenheit or Celsius), so you can monitor progress at a glance. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
14 of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
Review 1 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BlueViolin
,Los Angeles
,CA
June 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Get the Professional, Not the Creative
June 23, 2013
I first bought the Creative model of the Polyscience Immersion Circulator. It took over an hour to reach 185 degrees for vegetables. I returned it, paid the difference and got the Professional model. This model can handle twice the circulation volume so the water heats more quickly. If you are going to be serious about sous vide, pay the extra $300 and get the Professional.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet
Review 2 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
m61376
,Plainview
,NY
NY
April 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just amazing!!
April 9, 2012
This is a revolutionary way of cooking, but the results are a good as it's touted to be. Although very pricey, it's not just something you'll use a few times and grow tired of and saves money over the long run by preparing foods in advance and freezing till needed in lieu of take-out or going out.
I would recommend getting a smaller lexan container (half pan size, 8" deep) for more frequent use, and a divided rack even at the dollar store., and cutting out a plastic cover to help retain the heat.
There is a great thread on egullet.com on Sous Vide cooking techniques with links to cooking charts, etc.- much better than the included recipe book.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, gourmet results, consistent food quality
Cons: poor recipe/instruction book
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
m61376
NY
Posted April 21, 2013
follow-up a year later
I find I use it more and more, and can't rave enough about how different things come out cooked this way! Smoked ribs, then slow cooked for 48 hours, and then seared on the grill are pure perfection! Have made quite a few dishes better than any restaurant. Even simple things like beets and carrots taste so different, because their natural juices are contained. I've heard that the lean pan that comes with it is a deterrent because of its size.. It is great when preparing large quantities, but for everyday use get hold of the 12 qt. square pan that has handles (search online for a Camwear square container); they also make a snap on cover that you can cut out for the machine. W-S should carry that container- it makes a big difference in the everyday functional usage of the machine.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lay3r3
,St. Louis
,MO
March 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My first time...
March 5, 2012
This was the first time I've used a sous vide so I don't have practical experience elsewhere to compare with. That being said, I've been playing with this a bit and thus far have been pretty impressed with it.
I didn't pay attention to the dimensions so it was bigger than I expected which means I couldn't use it on any of my existing cookware. Not a big deal since it came with a pot and a tub - although interestingly enough the tub isn't deep enough to work with the sous vide (I used wine corks to give it a lift and it worked great).
It's heavy, feels very well made, couldn't be simpler control, and quick setup make it a 4 star product. It takes an hour to get up to temp though which is what kept me from giving it 5.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Cons: Speed
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
knb53
Edwardsville, IL
Posted May 14, 2012
Start with warm water...
I've been cooking sous vide for a couple of years now. Start with warm/hot tap water near the temp you want, and you won't have to wait an hour. Unlike actually cooking food "bare" in the water, where you would want to start with fresh, cold water, since the food is sealed in the bag, you can use warm water from the tap to get near to where you want to be.... Hope this helps!
0points
Customer avatar
lay3r3
Posted May 8, 2012
cork detail
It's not the easiest to say or describe, but you can slightly make out the corks in the picture. Since the depth of the tub I got is too short, the device literally rests on the bottom of the tub. Since that's the water inlet, that's no good. So, I placed a couple of wine corks on their sides under the bracket for the Sous Vide. Or said another way, the bracket is designed so the Sous Vide rests on the edge of the tub and you use the screw to tighten it up. I placed a cork between that bracket and the top of the tub. The bracket is wide so I used two corks to make sure it was resting solid and didn't move around with the vibration of the operation. It's pretty simple to do, just put the Sous Vide on the tub, and then slide a couple of corks in between the bracket and the tub and tighten the screw.
0points
Customer avatar
PhillieFilly
San Francisco, California
Posted May 6, 2012
Top 25 Contributor
Wine corks to give it a lift? Please explain.
I purchased this Sous Vide but have yet to us it. Could you please explain what you meant by giving it a lift with wine corks since the machine did not fit in the tub? In advance, I am very appreciative of your assistance in this regard. Thank you so very much.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 4 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bordeauxbuff
,Boston
,MA
Boston, MA
January 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth every penny....
January 1, 2012
I have owned this immersion circulator for over a year now, and I am tempted to purchase a second one! This is the best unit available on the market for home use. Precise temperature control, and excellent customer service from Polyscience (my first unit had an electric malfunction, and Polyscience shipped me a new unit in 2 days).
A few tips:
#1) Be sure to cover your immersion container with foil or seran wrap to prevent the water from evaporating...especially on longer jobs over 2 hours.
#2) If you are going to invest in this unit, you need a powerful vacuum sealer. Be prepared to spend just as much or more for a vacuum sealer, as the sub $300 models do not cut it for sous vide cooking.
Only con: The unit takes about 20-30 minutes to warm up and reach desirable sous vide temperature, so prepare accordingly.
Pros: Quality, Versatile
Cons: Speed
Review 5 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DavidN
December 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic appliance
December 19, 2011
Fist time I used the Polyscience Sous Vida I cooked salmon. 122 degrees for 20 minutes. As tasty a cooked salmon to ever come out of my kitchen. Equal to any restaurant. Now I know how professional chefs cook such deliciously tender perfectly cooked meat. Can't wait to try with other meats and vegetables.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
Review 6 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TFields
,Dallas
,TX
November 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
After 1 year, still awesome!!!
November 22, 2011
This is my favorite kitchen appliance. It saves me money and time. It allows consistent unattended cooking perfection. Two important points that you can't read everywhere: 1) the only negative review here is about heat released into the kitchen, but you can now get a PolyScience lid for the lexan water bath that fits perfectly and totally prevents this, and 2) be careful if you have stone type countertops and place some sort of damper under unit so it won't vibrate and crack your countertop (like mine did - oops, sorry Honey!). I use a thick wooden cutting board under the unit, but PolyScience now has a blanket especially for this plus added heat retention to improve energy efficiency. The unit is really not quiet, but tolerable. I find myself looking forward to using this unit, and it has become my go to cookery unit. It's a great piece of equipment that holds up well. Awesome Christmas gift!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, Loud
Review 7 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JWDedmon
Nashville, TN
August 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing tool for the kitchen.
August 25, 2011
I bought this Immersion Circulator 6 weeks ago and have been putting it through it's paces since then. I use it three to four times a week to prepare everything from Steaks (perfectly cooked and juicy) to Carrots. It is pretty quiet (I think the sound fades into the background) and if you use Saran Wrap or even better Press And Seal the humidity is not a problem.
The IC is very accurate in it's temperature control and runs for hours or days with no problem. I cooked a beef shoulder roast for 3 days at 140 degrees and was rewarded with the best roast beef I have ever tasted.
If you are an excellent home cook you can already do everything that you can do with an immersion circulator but, with it you can do all of those things easier and a little more perfectly.
The stock pot that is bundled with it is fantastic and the lexan container is perfect for cooking racks of ribs or other large products.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JJB90
Altoona, Iowa
Posted October 3, 2011
Fully Agree
I bought this immersion circulator about six weeks ago. JW has summed it up perfectly. If you've been waiting on the fence it's time to buy. It's a great product.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kier
Long Island, NY
May 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite tool to cook eggs, steaks, and fish!
May 23, 2011
This circulator is worth every penny. The temperature contol is phenomenal, maintaing temperature within .2 of a degree of setting. The motor noise is mildly noticeable at night when the house is very quiet but not bad. Custardy soft boiled eggs at 146 -147 deg F for 45 - 60 min, steaks always cooked to 130 deg medium rare, fish fillets cooked succulently at 119 deg in 15 - 30 min. I was having so much fun I tried the other main consumer sous vide bath so I could cook at 2 different temperatures. Both work well, but the second device is non-circulating, so it is much quieter, but slightly less accurate at maintaining temperature and bulkier to drain and fill. My go-to sous vide instrument is this polyscience machine for it's ease of use and convenient size. Although the bonus containers are great for cooking larger items I generally use a smaller stockpot than the one included because size-wise, it's all I need and it takes up less space in my cooking area.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet
Review 9 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lcrannell
Mountain View, CA
January 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Immersion Circulator For The Home
January 22, 2011
I have been very pleased with this immersion circulator. The accuracy, the ease of setting up, and the best attribute, it the ability to put it in a cabinet when not in use. You don't have to dedicate a big section of your counter top for cooking sous-vide.
If you want to prevent steam from coming off the water then place tin foil to cover the container. For the more adventerous, I have purchased a container with a cover and cut a hole on one end to allow the cicurlator to sit in.
I have cooked every thing from an egg to a 3 lb porterhouse steak and it works like a charm. Pictured is butternut squash, and steak, cooked via Sous Vide..
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chemmagi
Des Moines, IA
January 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Phenomenal Addition to the Kitchen
January 8, 2011
I have used the sous vide system for three weeks and am thoroughly impressed with the quality of the food that is prepared. I have prepared pork, salmon, and mutliple forms of beef and the temperature is perfect for the level of preparation. The resources are also outstanding but can be enhanced with other books on sous vide methods.
I highly recommend this system as a means of enhancing your food preparation.
Review 11 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nananator
St. Louis
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-37points
4of 45found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too hot for kitchen
January 7, 2011
Sous Vide cooking is wonderful but the heat and steam that this unit and container puts off is terrible. I would prefer to have an enclosed unit.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
307RSD
Binghamton, NY
Posted April 8, 2013
Easy Fix
WS should offer the large vessel as well as the special cover for it. This will solve this issue. Another work-around is to use plastic wrap to keep the heat and steam in.
Don't let this issue put you off. This is a great device and once you start using it you won't stop. Have had mine for over 9 months now and continue to find more ways to cook with it. I have converted many of my recipes to sous vide.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FineDiningChef
Western US
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It will change your life
January 7, 2011
I'm a professional chef and we started using these circulators in our restaurant last Fall. Sous vide has changed my culinary life. Never have you eaten such succulent and flavorful food as what you can achieve cooking this method. With the special offer WS is featuring (including the stock pot and cambro), the unit was value priced even given what I could have paid for this through the restaurant. This is the future of cooking. Take the plunge...you'll never be sorry.
Review 13 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SBFOODIE
Santa Barbara, Ca
January 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No Knife Needed!!
January 2, 2011
Sous Vide home cooking has influenced what I am willing to pay for at a restaurant!
Best chicken breast and pork tenderloin we've ever consumed.
Thank you family for this wonderful gift!!
Review 14 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DenisL
San Jose, CA
December 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Low Temp Cooking for all of us!
December 7, 2010
The SVP is easy to set up for use, easy to switch between F and C to match the recipe you're following, easy to clean and easy to store. It comes up to temperature quickly and holds there, and reacts quickly when you add something cold to the bath.
The only drawback is the noise of the pump, which you only hear when nothing else is happening in the kitchen.
The cookbook and charts that come with the SVP are very helpful. The "Coq au vin" is fun to cook, and quite delicious!
You'll get used to the precise cooking temperatures. For example the standard temperature for vegetables is 185F, but potatoes have a more appealing texture cooked at 180F.
Check the Cooking Issues blog and eGullet Forums for lots of helpful tips. Here's one from Cooking Issues: cooking something that floats, like stuffing? Put a couple of butter knives in the bottom of the bag to hold it down.
Review 15 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ask8ingcat
Alamo, Ca
September 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
19of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Foolproof way to get perfect food!
September 23, 2010
I have played with this for several days now... eggs, beef... now today, chicken. I must say that everything is cooked to perfection when using the circulator. Love the convenience as well of just being able to finish off the dish, while I focus on cooking the side dishes. This is my all-time favorite cooking tool and now a must for my kitchen. It's great!!!!!