Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator

A favorite technique of restaurant chefs, sous vide cooking is becoming popular in home kitchens as well. And no wonder - foods emerge with amazing flavor, texture and juiciness. The method calls for cooking food slowly in a low-temperature water bath inside vacuum-sealed bags. This professional thermal circulator offers precise temperature control and a pump that continuously circulates water to ensure even cooking. Easy to use-simply set the thermal circulator, place the vacuum-sealed food in the water bath and leave it to cook. Inside the airtight bags, foods cook in their own natural juices, guaranteeing tender, flavorful results every time. Great for make-ahead meals, vacuum-sealed pouches can be stored in the refrigerator or freezer until you're ready to use them. Sous vide cooking locks in food's natural flavors, nutrients and moisture. A favorite of professional chefs everywhere, this unit runs day and night in many top restaurant kitchens. Setting it apart from standard sous vide machines, it features a powerful pump that actively circulates heated water throughout the pot to ensure uniform cooking temperatures. Pump speed regulation allows this machine to circulate up to 8 gallons of water at a time. The unit clamps securely to the side of any stockpot or large container. Cooking temperatures adjust from 59deg.F to 212deg.F with the push of a button - and can be set to 1/10th of a degree. Large LCD screen displays actual and desired temperatures (in Fahrenheit or Celsius), so you can monitor progress at a glance. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
Review 1 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3mamahonu
,HI
July 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
water temp
July 20, 2014
What all the reviewers are missing is this.The Circulator is designed to maintain temperature.You can heat the water w/o the device.I always use an electric kettle to boil water ,then put in your pot or plastic tub.Much quicker than boiling on stove.Once you add more water to the boiled water,you will be close to temp already.Foolish to complain about the time it takes to get the water to temp.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 2 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BlueViolin
,Los Angeles
,CA
June 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Get the Professional, Not the Creative
June 23, 2013
I first bought the Creative model of the Polyscience Immersion Circulator. It took over an hour to reach 185 degrees for vegetables. I returned it, paid the difference and got the Professional model. This model can handle twice the circulation volume so the water heats more quickly. If you are going to be serious about sous vide, pay the extra $300 and get the Professional.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet
Review 3 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
m61376
,Plainview
,NY
NY
April 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just amazing!!
April 9, 2012
This is a revolutionary way of cooking, but the results are a good as it's touted to be. Although very pricey, it's not just something you'll use a few times and grow tired of and saves money over the long run by preparing foods in advance and freezing till needed in lieu of take-out or going out.
I would recommend getting a smaller lexan container (half pan size, 8" deep) for more frequent use, and a divided rack even at the dollar store., and cutting out a plastic cover to help retain the heat.
There is a great thread on egullet.com on Sous Vide cooking techniques with links to cooking charts, etc.- much better than the included recipe book.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, gourmet results, consistent food quality
Cons: poor recipe/instruction book
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
m61376
NY
Posted April 21, 2013
follow-up a year later
I find I use it more and more, and can't rave enough about how different things come out cooked this way! Smoked ribs, then slow cooked for 48 hours, and then seared on the grill are pure perfection! Have made quite a few dishes better than any restaurant. Even simple things like beets and carrots taste so different, because their natural juices are contained. I've heard that the lean pan that comes with it is a deterrent because of its size.. It is great when preparing large quantities, but for everyday use get hold of the 12 qt. square pan that has handles (search online for a Camwear square container); they also make a snap on cover that you can cut out for the machine. W-S should carry that container- it makes a big difference in the everyday functional usage of the machine.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lay3r3
,St. Louis
,MO
March 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My first time...
March 5, 2012
This was the first time I've used a sous vide so I don't have practical experience elsewhere to compare with. That being said, I've been playing with this a bit and thus far have been pretty impressed with it.
I didn't pay attention to the dimensions so it was bigger than I expected which means I couldn't use it on any of my existing cookware. Not a big deal since it came with a pot and a tub - although interestingly enough the tub isn't deep enough to work with the sous vide (I used wine corks to give it a lift and it worked great).
It's heavy, feels very well made, couldn't be simpler control, and quick setup make it a 4 star product. It takes an hour to get up to temp though which is what kept me from giving it 5.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Cons: Speed
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
knb53
Edwardsville, IL
Posted May 14, 2012
Start with warm water...
I've been cooking sous vide for a couple of years now. Start with warm/hot tap water near the temp you want, and you won't have to wait an hour. Unlike actually cooking food "bare" in the water, where you would want to start with fresh, cold water, since the food is sealed in the bag, you can use warm water from the tap to get near to where you want to be.... Hope this helps!
0points
Customer avatar
lay3r3
Posted May 8, 2012
cork detail
It's not the easiest to say or describe, but you can slightly make out the corks in the picture. Since the depth of the tub I got is too short, the device literally rests on the bottom of the tub. Since that's the water inlet, that's no good. So, I placed a couple of wine corks on their sides under the bracket for the Sous Vide. Or said another way, the bracket is designed so the Sous Vide rests on the edge of the tub and you use the screw to tighten it up. I placed a cork between that bracket and the top of the tub. The bracket is wide so I used two corks to make sure it was resting solid and didn't move around with the vibration of the operation. It's pretty simple to do, just put the Sous Vide on the tub, and then slide a couple of corks in between the bracket and the tub and tighten the screw.
0points
Customer avatar
PhillieFilly
San Francisco, California
Posted May 6, 2012
Top 25 Contributor
Wine corks to give it a lift? Please explain.
I purchased this Sous Vide but have yet to us it. Could you please explain what you meant by giving it a lift with wine corks since the machine did not fit in the tub? In advance, I am very appreciative of your assistance in this regard. Thank you so very much.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 5 for Polyscience Sous Vide Professional Immersion Circulator
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bordeauxbuff
,Boston
,MA
Boston, MA
January 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth every penny....
January 1, 2012
I have owned this immersion circulator for over a year now, and I am tempted to purchase a second one! This is the best unit available on the market for home use. Precise temperature control, and excellent customer service from Polyscience (my first unit had an electric malfunction, and Polyscience shipped me a new unit in 2 days).
A few tips:
#1) Be sure to cover your immersion container with foil or seran wrap to prevent the water from evaporating...especially on longer jobs over 2 hours.
#2) If you are going to invest in this unit, you need a powerful vacuum sealer. Be prepared to spend just as much or more for a vacuum sealer, as the sub $300 models do not cut it for sous vide cooking.
Only con: The unit takes about 20-30 minutes to warm up and reach desirable sous vide temperature, so prepare accordingly.
Pros: Quality, Versatile
Cons: Speed
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
m61376
NY
Posted April 25, 2014
a few helpful hints...
The company makes a cover for the tub, which can be cut around the circulator if someone is handy. Makes it a lot easier to cover, and those black heavy duty paper clips are great for sealing at the 4 corners.
Instead of an expensive chamber vacuum sealer, when using marinades (so I can;t sue the cheaper vacuum sealer) I've use ziploc bags (which are rated for heat safety) and used the water displacement method to get out all the air. Even used it for long cooks, and it works great. If it's very boney and for a long cook, like marinated ribs, I've used the ziploc bag and then a regular vacuum sealer bag over it, since for long cooks if something is very boney I sometimes double up anyway,
HTH
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)