This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Platine Bakery Shades of Love Cake

This ombre pink layer cake chronicles all the stages of Valentine's Day love, from smoldering to red hot. The dessert was inspired by lifestyle expert and "Elevate the Everyday" blogger Ross Sveback and is baked for us by Platine Bakery in Los Angeles. The four-layer vanilla bean-butter cake is amply frosted with a thick layer of vanilla buttercream, and then finished with a swirl of pretty rosettes in graduated shades of pink. The silken buttercream and fine-crumbed cake are made entirely by hand using the finest-quality fresh ingredients, including vanilla bean and 100% real butter for exceptional flavor and texture. 6 1/2" diam., 6" high (serves 8-12). Shipped frozen. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
6 of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Platine Bakery Shades of Love Cake
Review 1 for Platine Bakery Shades of Love Cake
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DRaymond
,Edmonds
,WA
March 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Nice cake, wrong color on top row of rosettes
March 8, 2013
Cake looks nice but I wish the color was as advertised. The cake specifically states, "finished with a swirl of pretty rosettes in graduated shades of pink." As you can see by my picture, the top set of rosettes is white, no pink whatsoever.
Sorry, but for this kind of money Williams-Sonoma should get it right.
Cons: top rosettes were white not light pink
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MissKiki
Posted May 15, 2013
Your cake doesn't even resemble the picture, you should demand a refund! At that price it should be pink as advertised.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Platine Bakery Shades of Love Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ronniedawg01
,Pittsburgh
,PA
February 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Three Words . . .
February 23, 2013
worth every penny. Absolutely gorgeous, very light vanilla flavor, just like intended.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Platine Bakery Shades of Love Cake
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
shawnaw
February 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
not recommended
February 20, 2013
the cake was beautiful and the frosting was great...you could taste the butter and the deliciousness. however, the cake part was somewhat dry and didn't really have any flavor at all.
i gave it 2 stars because of the price...WAY too expensive for a not that great cake.
Pros: pretty
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Amount, Flavor
Review 4 for Platine Bakery Shades of Love Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NewYorkGuy
,New York
,NY
February 18, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
A Guy's Review
February 18, 2013
So I bought this cake for Valentine's Day and it turned out to be the best gift I have ever given. The cake was moist and had great vanilla flavor. The frosting was terrific, I could actually see the little vanilla beans in it. We ate this cake for days, it feeds a lot of people and is perfect for parties. I am going to buy this for my mom for Mother's Day -
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 5 for Platine Bakery Shades of Love Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Chicago
,IL
February 14, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
So good!!!
February 14, 2013
I won a Shades of Love cake in an online giveaway. I was so excited to get this cake as I had seen tons of pics and reviews floating around the internet about this cake. When it arrived, I was stunned at how well it was packed...without any damage to the buttercream roses (it was completely frozen, of course). After waiting a good day for the cake to thaw, I finally got the chance to taste it. No lie, one of the best cakes I have ever tasted! I am truly not a cake fan...icing is my thing, but this cake was so juicy and sweet that I devoured my entire slice. The buttercream icing...freaking delicious!!! I would highly recommend this cake to anyone.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 6 for Platine Bakery Shades of Love Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drummersgirl33
,Franklin
,tn
February 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Pretty in Pink
February 1, 2013
I ordered this cake for my daughters birthday. What could be more perfect than a beautiful pink cake? This didn't disappoint!
The cake arrived just as it looks in the picture. Perfect swirls of buttercream with the small specs of vanilla bean running throughout. The directions from the baker were nicely done and thorough on the thawing instructions.
This cake easily feeds 10 people... and it is simply perfect. Vanilla bean cake with pink buttercream... HEAVEN! Kudos to Williams Sonoma for offering a cake that is delivered to your door as perfect as the picture!
This is perfect for Valentines as well as a birthday cake for a little girl...
Pros: Amount, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 7 for Platine Bakery Shades of Love Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nanspalate
,Small town
,Or
January 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
I Love This Cake!!!
January 31, 2013
I see here that one person thought it needed
a bit of extra something….not so!
It was,is a delightfully light crumbed cake with a good vanilla flavor.The frosting is so subtle,not the usual knock over the guests
overly sweet,cloying cake frosting. This is
more like an ultra light buttercream,perhaps made light by whipped cream? I'll be forever guessing as I wolf down piece after piece with my friends & husband, who by the way LOVED the whole passion pink thing!!!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, unusual taste
Review 8 for Platine Bakery Shades of Love Cake
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
leepers
alexandria, va
January 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
HONEST REVIEW
January 25, 2013
This is a beautiful cake; however, the taste was not nearly as beautiful as the look of the cake....very dissapointing. Perhaps they should have made one layer strawberry (real strawberries) or cherry (real cherries). The cake arrived earlier than I had anticipated. I can't believe that I spent over $100 for a cake, but it looked so stunningly beautiful (which it is) that I decided to splurge. I don't think that I will purchase another cake in this price point, unless I know that it tastes great; looks are one thing, but for me, the taste is at least as important. Also, the texture of the cake was not moist.
Pros: presentation
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Amount, Flavor
Review 9 for Platine Bakery Shades of Love Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deabites
January 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Amazing Cake - Presentation factor is major WOW
January 12, 2013
I purchased the cake after seeing it on Pinterest. It was delivered in perfect condition, I defrosted in the refrigerator and then let it sit out for six hours on my counter - it was like a bouquet of flowers on the cake stand, I almost did not want to cut it.
When I cut it open it was so beautiful - the whole presentation factor on this is just WOW. The cake was tender and had just the perfect amount of vanilla and sweet. I loved seeing the vanilla bean flecks in the cake.
It fed ten people generously - definitely would recommend and will order again. Totally worth every penny.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift, presentation