Peppermint Platinos

Extra-dark French cocoa powder, fresh butter and pure vanilla are the secrets to these delightful peppermint cream-filled "Oreo" cookies, a best-seller at Platine Cookies in Los Angeles, founded by French Laundry alum Jamie Cantor. Her recipe calls for two soft handmade chocolate cookies sandwiched with a generous dollop of luscious pastry cream flecked with peppermint candy. Packaged in a pretty gift bag and sealed with a bow, the festive cookies offer the perfect blend of sweetness and sophistication for the holidays. 12 platinos (approx 1.8 oz. each, 21.5 oz. total). Shipped fresh. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
2 of 4(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Peppermint Platinos
Review 1 for Peppermint Platinos
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LMVDW
October 23, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality control lacking
October 23, 2014
Platine Bakery needs help with quality control. I received these and 2 didn't have any filling. The rest had good flavor, but the filling wasn't creamy-just sugary.
Also, the cookie was hard.
Review 2 for Peppermint Platinos
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
wywoman
,Jackson
,WY
December 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great cookie but skimpy filling!
December 14, 2012
The picture of the platino is very misleading as the filling does not fill the cookie and is very skimpy. The cookie itself is great as it is not overly sweet and has a great chocolate taste. The peppermint filling is wonderful. Again, not too sweet and perfect peppermint taste, but amount is not what is pictured -- only about as much as in a commercial sandwich cookie. Very disappointing as I love filling and was enticed by the photo.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: Amount, too pricey for what is delivered.
Review 3 for Peppermint Platinos
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hooroy
December 9, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Platinos should be illegal
December 9, 2012
Yep, that's just how I feel about these irresistible, almost decadent little devils. My waistline now has no chance after I received them as a gift from my daughter a week ago. Needless to say they're all gone now. I've always been a sucker for peppermint, but these take the cake. Highly recommended!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 4 for Peppermint Platinos
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
Santa Cruz CA
September 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Curse you, Williams-Sonoma...
September 30, 2012
...for creating yet another irresistible peppermint confection. Permit me to explain. I have been going through peppermint withdrawal since February, having rationed out the last bit of my Peppermint Bark stash shortly before Valentine's Day, an oversight that will not be repeated this year, to be sure. Anyway, I ordered one pack of these grown-up sandwich cookies and immediately devoured two of them! They are not too sweet, nicely chewy, and have just the right amount of filling. The only downside is that the delicate peppermint flavor will not repel non-peppermint lovers. I have had to order another box, as my husband, who does not usually like strong mint flavored confections,, has discovered these, and as I write this, two days after receipt, there are only two left. And I thought I would have these all to myself over the space of a few weeks!