Pizza Que Grill Stone

Most indoor ovens cannot reach the high temperatures required to produce the crispy crust and bubbling toppings of brick-oven pizzas. But over the high heat of a grill, our stone cooks pizza to perfection. Porous clay stone produces brick oven-quality pizza on a backyard grill. Absorbs high heat to promote crispy crusts and piping-hot toppings and cheeses. May be used in combination with smoking chips to give pizzas the light smoky flavor achieved in a wood-fired oven. Convenient built-in thermometer tracks grill temperatures.
Average Customer Rating:
4.016 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
48 of 63(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pizza Que Grill Stone
Review 1 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ChefDeJour
,SoCal
,CA
Ventura County, CA
April 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Durable
April 5, 2014
Personally, I now use the cordierite pizza stone. The cordierite is quality material and works well. It does discolor, but that is not an issue. This was a bust and returned which was a hassle.
Cons: durability, Unreliable
Review 2 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BeverlyO
,Leesburg
,fl
florida
March 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works like a charm
March 22, 2013
So we see a lot of mixed reviews. Maybe we can help. We love ours!!! We heat up to full potential. Our pizza dough is fresh. We roll it out to desired thickness. Put a little corn meal between crust and stone. Using the pizza peel is helpful. Par bake your crust. Take it off and apply toppings as desired. While that is happening you could par bake another crust. Place your ready topped pizza back on your stone and bake to desired doneness. Again the pizza peel is awesome. And enjoy! We make it a family pizza night and just put all kinds of toppings out. It's a win win for everybody and fun.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Christina16
Virginia Beach, VA
Posted September 17, 2013
Perfect explanation!
Beverly hit it right on the head. That is exactly how to use this pizza stone! Peel, cornmeal, parbake!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Kimberley15
December 31, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good idea, bad design
December 31, 2012
Love the concept, hate the execution. We are now on our 2nd stone, which is also going back. Both stones chipped where the metal post meets the stone, and the corner snapped off. I think the stone is too fragile and the metal post (holding the stone to the frame) is too close to the corner. Too bad, b/c my husband was so excited to use it!
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight, durability
Review 4 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
depell
,NJ
September 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
$100 PIECE of JUNK
September 25, 2012
1st stone arrived completely split in half, had to return it. 2nd stone arrived today intact, followed instruction to heat stone for 30 mins before use. Checked after 12 mins to see what tempature it was at and a chunk of the corner (where it is drilled to sit on the metal frame) had split off and was laying on my grill. I am sending this one back and giving up.
A TOTAL PIECE OF JUNK!!!!!!!!!
Cons: Quality, durability, Unreliable
Review 5 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Savannah1
,Canyon Lake
,CA
July 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Was it defective! or just a bad design?
July 12, 2012
It worked well, except for the fact that the corners chipped off when it reached temp-other than the cosmetics (chipped off corners) it did as described- we feel it is a design error where the metal prongs fit into the stone, it seems to weaken the corners. I should receive my replacement Que today I will keep you posted
Pros: Easy to Use, Size
Cons: Strength, Quality, durability
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Maxine1
Westchester, NY
Posted July 14, 2012
Pizza Que
We experienced the same problem with the pizza que. We took it out of the box, and the first time we used it, the corners cracked. We returned it without a problem, and are awaiting the arrival of a new one...fingers crossed! My sister has had a pizza que for over a year with no problems.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Prosecutor
November 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
5of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does not cook evenly on gas grill
November 4, 2011
Followed gas grill indirect heat instructions and pizza burned on top and thin crust did not cook well If I could I would return it.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store
Review 7 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stack
,Dallas
,TX
October 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pizza Party!!
October 11, 2011
Rather than test the Pizza Que on my immediate family, I decided to jump in and try it out on extended family and friends - 12 people. We cranked out (7) 10-12" pizzas in a little over an hour. While I was cooking one, people were in the kitchen making the next one with their own selection of toppings. I'd bring in the cooked one, which was tested and shared by all, and go out to put on the next one. This continued until everyone was full and happy. It was a fun evening and a great family activity.
The Pizza Que was very simple to use. I followed the recommendations of some other reviews and used direct heat rather than indirect.
I absolutely recommend the Pizza Que!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 8 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thedumplindevia
,Gordonsville
,Tn
September 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best pan ever
September 18, 2011
Love this pan so much that I'm getting my son and his wife , my daughter and her husband each one for a Christmas present. I love to cook with nice pots and pans so this is a keeper. Cleans up good also.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 9 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maxxie5
Salem, NH
May 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this Pizza Que Grill Stone
May 2, 2011
Love this product. Easy to use, works as advertised and ready to use when you receive it. Quality is very good, well built and looks like it will stand up to heavy use and high temps on a grill.
Creates a wonderful pizzeria style pizza, crisp crust, melted cheese and toppings. All within 20 minutes, after preheating on the grill.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Design, Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lindzykins
Atlanta
February 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Grill Accessory
February 15, 2011
We love to grill everything, and now we love to grill our pizza! We received our pizza que grill stone as a wedding gift, and we use it nearly once a week. My husband loves it! He made one of his pizza's on the grill for my inlaws when they came into town, and they promptly purchased one once arriving back home.
Review 11 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NumNum
Connecticut
January 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
January 9, 2011
This grill stone is an awesome product and I would buy it again without a doubt. It makes GREAT Pizza and the crust is not soggy in the middle, and the pizza cooks very quickly! I also use it for baking my Artisan Bread. I love this stone!
After I bake the pizza, I transfer it to my OLD stone for serving. This stone is far Superior.
The technique classes and staff at Evergreen Walk in CT are an excellent help and knowledgeable!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Palmetto
Bangor, ME
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great on the grill
December 30, 2010
Used for the first time today on Weber Genesis B. I've been tinkering with grilled pizza for the last two years - this was the best batch yet.
I took other raters' advice and pre-heated Pizza Que and base over direct heat (highest setting) for 30 minutes . Pizza (thick) took roughly 10 minutes. Crust and toppings were perfectly cooked.
Be generous with the corn meal - pizza will slide right off wooden peal
Review 13 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KBF32746
Orlando area
October 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WORKS GREAT!
October 27, 2010
I have been using this pizza que every week on my gas grill for more than a year. It is WONDERFUL!! I have not experienced any problems other consumers have mentioned. We have a 3 burner, gas grill. Prior to lighting the grill, we place the pizza que inside. It always reaches the max. temp. within 15 min.! One thing I noticed is the actual grill temp reads 450 on the exterior of the grill but the que reads 800 so don't depend on the thermometer on the grills exterior to tell you if its up to temp. Our pizza is always great and takes about 12-15 minutes to bake depending on what toppings we have one it and I like the cheese to be golden light brown. I check the pizza about half way through it's cooking time and sometimes need to rotate the pizza slightly because the back side closest to the hinged part of the grill lid seems to cook at bit faster but that is often the case with grillling on our grill.
Review 14 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cjsew
Arizona
October 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It has a learning curve!
October 21, 2010
The directions do not work at all. We tried Indirect heat for the preheat for 45 minutes slowly working up to Hi heat with not even a movement on the gauge. It did not start to get hot until it was put above the burners on our gas grill. We finally got it to the 400 mark. It does cook well, but you have to adjust to what works on your grill. We ended up on low once it got hot. The cornmeal is a must. If you are patient it will work. We also had to remove two of the alignment pegs as the holes in the bottom of the stone did not line up. Hope this helps a new buyer. We do a lot of grilling.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MrLRP
Sunnyvale CA
Posted June 13, 2011
Throw out the directions
If using a gas grill put in center of grill and turn all burners to high. In 30 min it should be screaming hot.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Debadi
Franklin, WI
September 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pizza Party Perfection!!!!
September 2, 2010
I received this pizza stone and the oven stone along with the peel for my birthday last year from my family and mother and mother-in-law. It was one of the best gifts for all of us ever received!!I have made numerous fantastic pizzas inside and out! The secret is in the heating .It works best in a coal/wood burning grill because it gets much hotter. You do need to give it time to heat, but even the best brick ovens need to heat sometimes for days!! I will never go back to pan pizzas as this is definitely greeat. I have had more compliments on the crust and how crisp it is, better than any pizza out! Corn meal is the key to non stick. Sprinkle on your peel, sprinkle on stone right before sliding pizza on. I have never had one stick. I am getting ready to buy another and my son and daughter and law want one. Maybe for Christmas?? Debadi
Review 16 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
John111111111
Greenville, SC
September 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-11points
1of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No recommendation from me
September 1, 2010
If you think you are getting anything close to a brick oven pizza - it is not going to happen.
Horrible and expensive attempt.
The stone is too expensive to return and I wish I had read a review like this before purchasing it.
The pizza tasted like smoke,smoke, smoke. Do not buy this product.
Because it cost so much to return I will try it for other applications or stow it away.
Review 17 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
corralitosgirl
Santa Cruz, CA
August 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as good as I hoped for
August 6, 2010
I was sooo excited to use this new pizza stone on the bbq. I have teens and extras all the time and everyone was going to make their own. Didn't work out that way. Took a SUPER long time to heat up on our gas grill (on high heat), literally about 45 minutes or more. Then no matter how much corn meal or flour we used the dough STUCK to the stone and never got crispy. Took way too long so we all had snacks instead. Pizza was edible (after finishing it on my pampered chef round stone in the oven) but not what we had hoped for. I'm sooooo bummed
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
pizzaqueen
Posted April 30, 2011
tips for heating the stone
Put the stone in your oven (heat oven to 500 degrees). Let your stone sit in there for a while so that it reaches that approximate temp. This will save you a lot of time/propane for your grill!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brian442
Webster NY
August 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
pizza stone is great
August 5, 2010
this pizza stone works great. I love it. Ive used 4 times already. Already recommened it to freidns.
Review 19 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LoveCeltics
Dunlap, IL
July 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pizza Stone Corners Crack!
July 18, 2010
Used the Pizza Que twice and I love it! However, each time, a corner of the stone cracked off. Once while cooling down and once while on the grill.
Review 20 for Pizza Que Grill Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SharonFChicago
Chicago, IL
July 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Pizza !
July 2, 2010
I bought this as a Father's Day gift for my husband, but I'm not sure which of us likes it more! Even frozen pizza - both thin and deep dish cook beautifully, and have a wonderful smokey flavor. Crust is crisp, not hard. This is a must-have if you love to grill.
page1 2 3 4 next