This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Pit Grilling Mitt

Made of superbly heat-resistant aramid fibers, our mitt offers unmatched protection and versatility for home grilling. Heat resistant up to 475deg.F. Synthetic aramid fibers create a flexible barrier, so heat is unable to penetrate the mitt's cotton lining. Extra-long stretchable form-fitting cuff protects the forearm. Reversible for right- or left-handed use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
29 of 31(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pit Grilling Mitt
Review 1 for Pit Grilling Mitt
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
anotherSusan
New York
October 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great mitt - too short
October 22, 2013
would be better with a longer, more protective sleeve.
Review 2 for Pit Grilling Mitt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hapa
,Sedalia
,MO
October 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
BBQ Gloves
October 16, 2013
Gloves provide great protection from heat. I like them very much.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Strength, Design
Review 3 for Pit Grilling Mitt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
puny
,Fort Worth
,TX
Fort Worth, Texas
July 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Pit Grilling Mitt
July 14, 2013
Just WOW! It is hard to believe the true benefit of this glove. It absolutely protects the hand from the heat over the charcoals. It is amazing how long you can work with the meat without discomfort.
I have purchased three more for my sons. Actually you just need one glove for use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Strength
Cons: none
Review 4 for Pit Grilling Mitt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PotHolder
,North Hills
,CA
June 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Flexibility
June 24, 2013
As my son informed me, heat transfer is not immediate. These mitts are great so long as you are not holding the hot pot too long. I love the fact that I can move my fingers and actually grasp the pot handles or edges of the pan easily, but it doesn't prevent heat transfer if you hold it longer than 5-10 seconds, then heat starts to transfer through. But, I guess I shouldn't be holding the pot or pan that long anyway. I bought one for a couple of friends too. These fit my son's large hands too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Pit Grilling Mitt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tempess
,Meridian
,Id
Meridian, Idaho
June 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
First use a success
June 19, 2013
First use by husband was a success, kept hand from being burned when basting with a short brush.
Review 6 for Pit Grilling Mitt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissPatricia
,Winchester
,VA
June 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Too Nice To Use
June 17, 2013
I use these gloves inside the house. My hands are nicely protected, they last a long time and nice to look at.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Strength, Weight
Review 7 for Pit Grilling Mitt
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HiHoSteveO
,Ballwin
,MO
June 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Stops The Heat!
June 11, 2013
I just bought a new grill and the handle gets really hot making it difficult to lift the lid. This glove solved the problem preventing ANY heat from burning my hand. It is long enough to also prevent any heat from the grill on my arm. I like it a lot and use it every time I grill. It is very easy to pick up utensils with the glove on. It is a little hot outside, which is unavoidable, and is a little difficult to slip on, besides that, I love the glove!
Pros: Durable, Quality
Review 8 for Pit Grilling Mitt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SueSue2
,NY
New York
September 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
The best grill mitt ever!
September 26, 2012
We were using a suede pot holder and mitt which both worked extremely well. But, this mitt is even better giving my husband great dexterity while protecting him from the heat. I must add that my husband is 6' tall and has excema. However, the grill mitt fits him well and does not bother his skin at all. I ordered 2 more (1 as a backup in case they are ever discontinued and 1 as a gift).
Pros: Durable, Quality
Review 9 for Pit Grilling Mitt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BroncRider
,Argyle
,TX
August 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
No more HOT hands
August 13, 2012
I ordered this for my husband who mentioned that he was burning his hands off with what he was using for gloves when he was grilling. I read the reviews and decided to give it a try. He loves it and says it works like they say it does. No more hot hands!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 10 for Pit Grilling Mitt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LZAMBRANO
,Signal Hill
,CA
August 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Super useful
August 8, 2012
This item is great, i was looking fo it and now I have it...
Review 11 for Pit Grilling Mitt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Retrev
,Raleigh
,NC
July 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Verrrrry Handy!
July 17, 2012
I watch my husband use it and am so glad I purchased it for him! Makes all his moves with grilling that much easier. He likes it, too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight, coverage
Review 12 for Pit Grilling Mitt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,SANTA CRUZ
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
June 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
So Much Better than Regular Mitts
June 29, 2012
We recently put in a heavy duty gas grill, and using mitts simply wasn't practical on such a large, powerful grill. I didn't have any dexterity, and my forearms felt like they were being grilled along with the food. With the nice long cuffs on the Pit Grilling Mitt, my arms are comfortable, and I can turn one baby potato at a time or reach in and pull out a large perforated grill pan quite easily. Food smudges wipe right off if you get it right away.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, comfort, provide dexterity
Review 13 for Pit Grilling Mitt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tomik
,San Diego
,CA
June 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Glove
June 1, 2012
Got it for my son, who's the grilling expert. He loves it.
Review 14 for Pit Grilling Mitt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CookinginGeorgia
,Atlanta
,GA
April 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A grilling necessity!
April 30, 2012
I bought this for my husband to use with our new grill. We thought it would be nice to have, but we have found it to be a necessity. We use it every time we grill anything skewered or in a grill basket - my husband loves it. Very helpful!
Pros: Durable, Versatile
Review 15 for Pit Grilling Mitt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Renorose
,Harleysville
,Pa
Pa
April 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Brilliant!
April 22, 2012
grips great and it's nice to have use of the digits. I wear a size 7 glove and this mitt fits perfectly and is comfortable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 16 for Pit Grilling Mitt
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BurninInPhilly
,Phila
,pa
October 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
You'll Never Use Mitts again
October 27, 2011
I agree with almost all positive comments previously made.
Best feature is the glove allows full dexterity and use of your fingers so that you can really grip and hold items instead of the squeezing you have to do with most oven mitts.
Only reason I do not give it 5 stars and it might be me, but the glove takes some time to put on and has some "cold" spots which will warm your hand if you hold items too long but the glove is an absolute recommended buy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: cold spots
Review 17 for Pit Grilling Mitt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vacation
September 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
great grill mitt
September 26, 2011
this mitt was wonderful to use with a kettle grill
Pros: Durable, Quality
Review 18 for Pit Grilling Mitt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Degirl
Junction, TX
July 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great for work
July 15, 2011
I work at a fast food restruant. Many have been burned cleaning the grills, the usual gloves tend to be to big and bulky for hands that are smaller in size. I used these last night and it was amazing. I could get to the tiny hard places, touching the surface lightly and never even felt the heat. Of course the grill was in clean mode. But usually this is still fairly hot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Strength
Review 19 for Pit Grilling Mitt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrandmaCJ
Orange, CA
July 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My Husband loves these!
July 13, 2011
I purchased these for my husband and he has used them several times. They are outstanding!! He has used them to carry hot pans/baskets from the BBQ to the house and has even used them to turn meat while it is cooking, when there was not a fork nearby, with no heat problem at all. These are truly a great addition for anyone who uses a BBQ.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 20 for Pit Grilling Mitt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Topdog
Miami, Florida
June 20, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Can't live without these mitts
June 20, 2011
I use them mostly in my kitchen...they are the best...you never get burnt from hot pots and pans..they are a life saver for large dishes to take out of the oven without fear of being burned ...I am talking about 500 degree stuff coming out of the oven!...easy to wear...fits well.... confortable..even with extreme heat you don't feel the heat..you also have a better feel for what you are taking out of the oven...giving you more movability with them....better than any cooking glove I have ever used or had....we had a barbeque for 50+ people and the man cooking was given these gloves to use...he loved them so much I gave them to him as a present....and immediately ordered another pair on-line for me / my kitchen and an additional set for the outside barbeque/kitchen out there....hands down they are just Excellent!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
page1 2 next