This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Pine Wine Cellar Racks

Our wooden racks store 84 bottles of wine in the least possible space on our easy-to-build shelves. Created by the storage experts at the Wine Appreciation Guild, the racks are ideal for large or small spaces and can stand vertically or horizontally. Generous wine storage, ideal for compact spaces. Created by the storage experts at the Wine Appreciation Guild. Environmentally friendly plantation-grown Australian pine. Can be positioned vertically or horizontally. Holds bottles so the corks remain moist. Accommodates standard wine and Champagne bottles. 84-bottle rack includes two 42 bottle modules, 12 shelves that hold 7 bottles each. Simple assembly required. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.875 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
8 of 16(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pine Wine Cellar Racks
Review 1 for Pine Wine Cellar Racks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PBJB
April 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Decent product
April 24, 2011
Assembly is a little difficult. After maneuvering/flipping/rotating the pieces, I can usually get the pieces to fit right. Some pieces fit better in some slots than others, so it just takes a little work to get it in right. I used a rubber mallet to work it in. Only a few pieces splintered at the joints, but I like how tightly the pieces fit together because it feels much more durable this way. Splintered joints can be "fixed" with a stain, so the fix was easy. Overall, it looks great.
Be careful when hammering the pieces together because you can crack the piece if it isn't lined up properly and you force it too much.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Strength, Design, Weight
Cons: Assembly, individual pieces can be fragile when hammered
Review 2 for Pine Wine Cellar Racks
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
EricN
January 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Assembly is terrible
January 22, 2011
I'm with those that had a terrible time assembling this wine rack. The interlocking wood pieces are designed to tightly fit, but are slightly warped, so none of them slid together. I ended up banging on pieces for an hour with a hammer to get it assembled, and I cracked several pieces in the process. It looks okay now that it's together, even though I didn't get the pieces to fit as well as I'd like, but it was a frustrating experience - if I hadn't used a gift card for this, I would have been seriously upset.
Review 3 for Pine Wine Cellar Racks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DrwineO210
Michigan
January 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Terrible quality. Poor wood. Poor milling.
January 18, 2011
Very disappointed in this wine rack. The quality did not meet Williams-Sonoma quality. The stain was poorly done. The pieces were not cut correctly and the pine was just a poor quality wood with numerous defects and knots. Several pieces were broken on delivery. Returned a will look somewhere else.
Review 4 for Pine Wine Cellar Racks
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JennMNYC
New York, NY
October 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Very difficult to assemble!
October 8, 2010
This wine rack was very difficult to assemble. The instructions are pretty clear but the pieces are slightly irregular and do not fit together easily. We had to put it together and then take it apart and rebuild it with a rubber mallet. The wine rack is now put together securely but we had to force the pieces together using the mallet so there are some splinters in the wood that are apparent. Having said that, once the wine rack is actually put together it looks really nice except for those pesky splinters. Oh well. I guess you get what you pay for. I had just assumed anything sold by Williams-Sonoma would be excellent quality.
Review 5 for Pine Wine Cellar Racks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pkc2365
Gulfport MS
September 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
worst product
September 4, 2010
I ordered and when trying to put it together the very first piece cracked. Williams and Somona kindly replaced it with another rack which came several weeks later. When I took those pieces out of the box they had broken pieces before I even got started. I cannot begin to tell you how frustrating it is to wait this long and get items already broken. Do not understand why this item is still offered with Williams and Somona I expected better quality.
Review 6 for Pine Wine Cellar Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
winegirl707
napa ca
April 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
FUN TO ASSEMBLE
April 18, 2010
This very attractive wine rack reminds me of the old rural post office mail slots, where everyone had a place for their letters. Coudl be another use for this rack?
My husband and sons had great fun organizing the parts on a the table and then fitting everything together. A little like a big puzzle but then it all fits together and it is very satisfying. My son proudly tells his friends. " See the wine rack me and my dad built". Cool!
Review 7 for Pine Wine Cellar Racks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pattyred
Arlington Hts Illinois 60005
January 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
waste of money
January 4, 2010
Wish I wouldn't have wasted the money. Very poor quality and very difficult to put together. The boards were warped and then cracked with the slightest pressure. This is not the quality I would expect from Williams Sonoma. I doubt I will shop on line again before the seeing product first.
Review 8 for Pine Wine Cellar Racks
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mel19
Minneapolis, MN
December 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
functional
December 27, 2009
I purchased this item to use in a store room, and am I ever glad. The unit is functional, and spare. I would not use it in a room setting unless you have a very casual style. I was glad I had read some reviews before assembly - the rubber mallet is a must! One of the pieces was cut slightly differently from the rest and needed to be forced into place. It broke, but a little shaving and wood glue fixed it up. It was definitely NOT the quality that I expected from Williams-Sonoma. I used gift cards to purchase so it was basically "free" to me. I would have continued looking for a different product and returned this one otherwise.
Review 9 for Pine Wine Cellar Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Napawine
Napa CA
December 21, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Amazing Architecture
December 21, 2008
Don't know who designed this rack but it is amazing that a piece of furniture this size fits together so easily with no screws, bolts or tools. I suggest only a rubber mallet to cinch the pieces together for a very sturdy rack.
Review 10 for Pine Wine Cellar Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bswords
Berkeley, CA
December 12, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Almost didn't buy. Glad I did.
December 12, 2008
I’m not the type who leaves customer reviews but I felt compelled. I was nearly swayed away from this rack because of its negative reviews here. But since these were, primarily, the most aesthetic I’ve found anywhere on the web and W-S has a full-returnable policy I ordered. Glad I did. If you can muster the imaginative power to put together an Ikea footstool you’ll come away from this simple project with a clean, sturdy, slick, very cool-looking rack. My wife is tickled silly with its conspicuous presence in her post-modernist kitchen. She’s happy. I’m happy. Five stars.
Review 11 for Pine Wine Cellar Racks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
trk227
Chicago, IL
December 5, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Not Worth the Money
December 5, 2008
Wish we had saved up for a quality wine rack or wine refrigeration unit. Difficult to put together, poor workmanship, poor quality on the finish. Thankfully it's going in a dark corner.
Review 12 for Pine Wine Cellar Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lawjo
Placentia, CA
November 27, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
love this rake
November 27, 2008
I bought the natural wood rack about 5 years ago (bought 2 large and 1 small) they are the best! I'm ordering another one right now...sorry to read the other reviews that they were disappointed with the product. hopefully my current purchase will be as good as my previous purchase!
Review 13 for Pine Wine Cellar Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tryland
Granite Bay, CA
November 10, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wine cellar rack
November 10, 2008
This wine rack was exactly what we expected, it was easy to assemble, and the unfinished wood version smells great.
Review 14 for Pine Wine Cellar Racks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Daniel
High Point, NC
October 20, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Not Worth It
October 20, 2008
Ordered it stained. It arrived and it had painted and packed wet. The pieces stuck togeather and the paint came off when they were separated. Several pieces were broken. I returned it. The second one arrived stained and packed dry. But, two pieces were broken. I glued and clamped them. I would not buy this again.
Review 15 for Pine Wine Cellar Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mela
Downsville, NY
October 16, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wine Rack fits decor
October 16, 2008
Enjoying my new wine rack. It fits my decor, and was very easy assembling for an older person. Here is a toast to you.
Review 16 for Pine Wine Cellar Racks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Speidi
Portland, Or
October 15, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Terrible Wine Rack
October 15, 2008
This wine rack comes in about 45 individually notched wood bars. The wood is very soft and when putting it together it splinters and cracks leaving very undesireable looking dings and nicks throughout the rack. I ordered the dark colored stained wood rack so I have to paint or stain all of the scratches. This is not a sturdy nice looking rack as advertised online. Save your money it was over $300.00 including shipping. I am extremely disappointed.