Pillivuyt Coupe Porcelain Cereal Bowls, Set of 4

From France, this white porcelain dinnerware is as sturdy as it is stylish. These bowls feature a classic coupe design with a gentle contour and sleek rim. Thanks to an innovative formulation of various clays, the porcelain's delicate appearance belies its strength. Dressed up or down with formal or casual linens, flatware and glassware, this versatile dinnerware coordinates easily with patterned pieces. They're made by Pillivuyt, a company respected for fine porcelain tableware since 1818. Made of high-fired porcelain. Microwavable and dishwasher safe. Set of four. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
2 of 5(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pillivuyt Coupe Porcelain Cereal Bowls, Set of 4
Review 1 for Pillivuyt Coupe Porcelain Cereal Bowls, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Arlington
,MA
March 8, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
7 years and going strong...
March 8, 2016
My husband and I registered for Pillyvuyt place settings for our wedding 7.5 years ago. We use them as our everyday china and also for special occasions -- they are perfect in that they can do double duty. They get a ton of use and they still look beautiful. I haven't had any of the discoloration issues or markings some have written about and I wonder if the marks are coming from the dishwasher rack? The cereal bowls are lovely. They have a beautiful shape that's very pleasing to look at and to hold, and they are a perfect size -- not too large or too shallow. I can stack six bowls safely in the cupboard. When I take the Pillyvuyt pieces out of the dishwasher I am careful not to bang them together (i.e., I grab one plate at a time) and this seems to keep them from chipping. Yes, we have broken a couple plates, a bowl, and a mug here and there, but it was due to our own error. It's porcelain and it is extremely durable but it's still china.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Appearance, Quality, Size, Good for Entertaining, Weight, Balance, Easy to Store, Design
Review 2 for Pillivuyt Coupe Porcelain Cereal Bowls, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Falls Church
,VA
February 8, 2016
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too delicate for everyday use
February 8, 2016
I really wanted dishes that were not made in China, and so I ignored the warnings in previous reviews and bought a few bowls that I resolved to be very, very careful with. They have been through the dishwasher just twice, and already one has a big chip in the rim. Nothing was touching it, but something must have shifted while washing. By contrast, my hand-painted earthenware, which I have had for many years, is chip-free, and every piece has been washed in the dishwasher. My conclusion is these dishes are really too delicate for everyday use and too expensive for as fragile as they are - I won't be buying more and wouldn't recommend them.
Pros: Appearance, not made in china
Cons: Fragile, High-Maintenance, Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Pillivuyt Coupe Porcelain Cereal Bowls, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
November 25, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Need to replace chipped bowls again
November 25, 2014
For some the reason the bowls seem to chip very easily, the other pieces don't seem to have this problem. They also acquire a grayish band around the widest part of the bowl's exterior. Going out to buy 4 more bowls today.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: Not Durable, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Fragile
Review 4 for Pillivuyt Coupe Porcelain Cereal Bowls, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,DC
March 22, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect bowls for everyday use
March 22, 2014
We have been using these bowls (and all other Pillivuyt Coupe dishes) for over 2 years, and they look as good as new. No chips or cracks and they have always been washed in the dishwasher. Highly recommend!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Review 5 for Pillivuyt Coupe Porcelain Cereal Bowls, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,CO
July 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+16points
17of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easily discolors
July 8, 2012
We bought a set of 10 bowls and plates in fall 2011 after moving into a new home. Biggest selling point was that they were made without any lead or other toxins. We wanted everyday dishes that would hold up for many years. They are indeed well made and simple in design. However, after 4 months about 3/4 of the bowls started showing dark areas that I assume are due to contact with other bowls. These are not scratches but areas that appear to have worn away. The bowls washed in a dishwasher. This has not happened with other porcelain flatware I have owned and I have to assume it is due to the type of glaze used. I think these bowls will last many years but will continue to look even worse.
Pros: nice design
Cons: easily discolored
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ArtN
Kingston, WA
Posted April 11, 2013
Ask for replacement
I received my huge shipment that included dinner plates, cups, bread plates, cereal bowls, salad plates. The whole set and more. I've used and probably abused my entire set. I love the color and quality that you can see and feel.
In my shipment, I had a few plates that were nicked on the bottom. They were happily replaced, no questions asked. I worked through Williams-Sonoma's customer service over the phone. Replacements arrived and no need to ship the replaced product back.
I haven't seen even a little mark on any of my dishes or cups. I use them as my regular set and they also go in the dishwasher.
Your pics look like something may have gone wrong with the glazing.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)