This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Pie Weight Disc

Recipes for pies and tarts often call for blind-baking the unfilled crust-a technique made much simpler with this clever tool. Just fit rolled pastry dough into a pie pan, then place the pie weight on top. By preventing the crust from rising or shrinking while baking, the weight ensures an attractive pastry shell that will hold its shape when filled. The only pie weight you'll ever need: essential for blind-baking or par-baking pastry crusts. Fits any 9"-11" pie pan-including our Emile Henry Ruffled Pie Dish. Scalloped flaps are specially designed to hold the sides of the crust in place. Perforated-steel design allows even airflow for a perfectly flaky crust. Silicone handle makes it easy to remove the weight after baking-and detaches for quick cleaning. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.438 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
10 of 16(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pie Weight Disc
Review 1 for Pie Weight Disc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Angelo
,TX
January 4, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best pie weights ever!
January 4, 2016
This is the best invention, ever! Works better than anything I have ever used! I have used pie chains, rice, beans, pie "peas" and have never been as happy as using this pie weight.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Easy to Store, Shape
Review 2 for Pie Weight Disc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,atlanta
,ga
December 21, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
0points
disaster for your crust
December 21, 2015
I have tried this lovely pie weight twice with the same result . The crust looks great until you remove the weight - the crust separated bottom from sides exactly where the metal bottom meets the silicone sides. second time i tried cooking it a shorter baking time and it had a smaller gap in the crust, but it was still wide enough to make the crust un usable.
Pros: Shape
Cons: does not work
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Pie Weight Disc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,rural area
,WA
October 21, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Send me more!
October 21, 2015
Yesterday I made three crusts that had to be blind baked so I used my new pie weight for all three and was delighted with the results. I used eight inch pans and my regular crust recipe, froze them for fifteen minutes before putting in the oven [always], baked at 400 degrees for twelve minutes then removed the weight for three minutes. All three crusts came out beautiful - no problems at all with this new weight. I will be buying a couple more as finances allow.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quality, Size, Easy to Store, Shape
Review 4 for Pie Weight Disc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Chesapeake
,VA
July 8, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
-16points
0of 16found this review helpful.
Much Needed For Baking
July 8, 2015
I haven't used the pie weight disc yet, but will be very soon. As of now, I haven't made a pie that calls for a baked pie shell. Since I haven't used it is why I gave it 4 stars but will check several pros because I'm sure it will help a great deal. In the past, the sides of the pie shell would always collapse when baking. I won't have to worry about that now with the pie weight disc.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Design, Size, Easy to Store
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
kncd
Posted November 15, 2015
Please don't rate an item if you haven't used it
You throw off real ratings when you make a rating that has no basis in the quality of a product.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Pie Weight Disc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
April 22, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Wonderful!! Love it!!!
April 22, 2015
I am a pie baker. . . lots and lots of pies!! Since I purchased this item I've never had a pie crust slide down the sides of the pie plate again. This pie weight disc holds the sides up perfectly. When I take the disc out of the pie plate, I gently lift one of the petals with a paring knife and the rest come out perfectly with a gradual lifting motion on the handle. I wouldn't want to be without it!! Try it, you'll love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Review 6 for Pie Weight Disc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lagrangeville
,NY
November 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Great Invention!
November 28, 2014
This is a great gadget for prebaking pie crust, It makes this step so easy! It works very well and prevents the crust from sliding down the sides of the pan. Very easy to clean also. Will definitely buy more.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Pie Weight Disc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Chatham
,NJ
July 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Pretty but useless
July 6, 2014
I've used my Williams-Sonoma pie weights for years, but couldn't resist this disc when I saw it in the store. Unfortunately, it does not do a good job in keeping the sides of a pie from shrinking. It was as if I had blind baked the crust without anything in it! i think the "petals" are too lightweight to do the job. This was a total waste of money.
Review 8 for Pie Weight Disc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Atlanta
,GA
March 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Love This!!
March 20, 2014
This is so much more effective and easier to use than pie shell weights, is easy to store and clean and it WORKS. Bought two. Highly recommend it to anyone who does a lot of pies with prebaked shells.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Weight
Review 9 for Pie Weight Disc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Greenwich
,CT
February 23, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Does Its Job, and Well!
February 23, 2014
I received this as a gift and boy am I glad I did! I absolutely love it! Makes the whole pre-bake process less stressful and worrisome. This works great in both tart pans and pie dishes. I don't know why some have had issues with it, as I've had perfect success with it every time, even in very thin tart pans. Protects the crust perfectly and lends a beautifully pre-baked crust! it's super lightweight, stores easily, and is also easy to clean. A very necessary gadget to have around for anyone who bakes pies more than once a year! I love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, lightweight, protects crust, crust pre-bakes perfectly
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Pie Weight Disc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Charlotte
,NC
February 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Works great
February 13, 2014
I bought this before Christmas and have used it quite a few times. I much prefer it to the parchment-bean approach. I am buying another one for a gift.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Shape, Design
Review 11 for Pie Weight Disc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
February 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Failed to deliver
February 1, 2014
I bought this after attending a pie class at the local WS store. This gadget seemed like it'd be simpler than the parchment/pie weights deal. Very disappointed. My pie crust still shrunk and underneath the bottom it was soggy and stuck to the pie weight. Will never use again.
Cons: did not work.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Pie Weight Disc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Lawrenceburg
,TN
December 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
I really wanted this to work!
December 29, 2013
This didn't work, just sank into my pie crust and left the bottom unbaked, the sides of the crust slid down. I'm going to return it and get something I want that works well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Shape
Cons: Weight, design flaws
Review 13 for Pie Weight Disc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Honolulu
,HI
December 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Pie weight is too heavy
December 19, 2013
This pie weight pressed down on the crust & the "petals" pushed through the sides of the crust. I tried refrigerating the dough in the ruffled pie dish to firm it up but as the crust bakes, the weight sinks to the bottom & ruins the crust. I'm going back to using parchment paper & beans.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Weight
Review 14 for Pie Weight Disc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Marvell
,AR
December 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Pie Weight Disc
December 4, 2013
Couldn't wait to use this. Seemed so simple but when I removed it my crust stuck to it and tore up. Threw that crust away and started with a new one. This time I sprayed the disc with PAM and same thing happened. I so wanted this to work for me, where did I go wrong ? If someone could tell me what I am doing wrong I would appreciate your help.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Shape
Cons: stuck to crust
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer avatar
cissie1
Syracuse, NY
Posted February 14, 2014
didn't stick on me
It didn't stick when I let it sit out for a few minutes and cool down. It pulled right off. Plus, the sides did not shrink up or puff out at all. I have not tasted the pie yet, it's for later, but definitely no problem taking out the pie weight or having the sides droop down. It looks perfect!
0points
Customer avatar
ncmormor
NC
Posted December 19, 2013
I had the same experience with this pie weight disc and sent it back.
0points
Customer avatar
marymac2
Peoria IL
Posted December 13, 2013
you described my hesitation
I was attracted to this product, but my experience with a similar product made me hesitate. I used a metal disc with holes that fit in the pie plate to hold the dough when blind baking, but my crust puffed into the holes, then hung on to the disc in such a way as to tear the crust when removing the disc. The other problem was removing the hot disc, which ought to be alleviated by the silicone handle on the WS product. That would be a great upgrade.
0points
Customer avatar
TCLovesAustin
Austin, TX
Posted December 10, 2013
Pie Weight Disc
Did you refrigerate the crust for at least two hours?
Also, check the temp for par baking. It's gonna be a high temp for no more than 8 minutes usually.
Once you pull it out of the oven I would remove the weight right away unless the instructions say otherwise.
Hope this helps!
-1point
0of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 15 for Pie Weight Disc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Dallas
,TX
Dallas, TX
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Wonderful product!
November 29, 2013
Bye bye pie weights! The holes in the bottom allow the middle of the crust to bake along with the sides, unlike pie weights with foil/parchment which covers the bottom/middle completely. And if you have the Emile Henry ruffled pan, this is a must! The little side flaps keep the crust from slumping down at all! Also works great in standard pie plates...Getting ready to order another one...Love love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 16 for Pie Weight Disc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
November 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
No More Beans!
November 1, 2013
I usually resist buying what I consider gadgets, but the appearance of my pies having significantly improved using the Emile Henry Ruffled Artisan Pie Dish (no more crimping!) and the companion Ruffled Silicone Pie Crust Shield, I figured, I had nothing to lose! This fits my go-to ple pan exactly, and I have also tried it in a more generic metal pie pan. I have tossed out my old baking beans. This is so much easier than messing with the beans and foil.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean