Pie Weight Disc

Recipes for pies and tarts often call for blind-baking the unfilled crust-a technique made much simpler with this clever tool. Just fit rolled pastry dough into a pie pan, then place the pie weight on top. By preventing the crust from rising or shrinking while baking, the weight ensures an attractive pastry shell that will hold its shape when filled. The only pie weight you'll ever need: essential for blind-baking or par-baking pastry crusts. Fits any 9"-11" pie pan-including our Emile Henry Ruffled Pie Dish. Scalloped flaps are specially designed to hold the sides of the crust in place. Perforated-steel design allows even airflow for a perfectly flaky crust. Silicone handle makes it easy to remove the weight after baking-and detaches for quick cleaning. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
5 of 10(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pie Weight Disc
Review 1 for Pie Weight Disc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AcerRubrum
,Chatham
,NJ
July 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty but useless
July 6, 2014
I've used my Williams-Sonoma pie weights for years, but couldn't resist this disc when I saw it in the store. Unfortunately, it does not do a good job in keeping the sides of a pie from shrinking. It was as if I had blind baked the crust without anything in it! i think the "petals" are too lightweight to do the job. This was a total waste of money.
Review 2 for Pie Weight Disc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
laurataylor57
,Atlanta
,GA
March 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love This!!
March 20, 2014
This is so much more effective and easier to use than pie shell weights, is easy to store and clean and it WORKS. Bought two. Highly recommend it to anyone who does a lot of pies with prebaked shells.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Weight
Review 3 for Pie Weight Disc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hhb108
,Greenwich
,CT
February 23, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does Its Job, and Well!
February 23, 2014
I received this as a gift and boy am I glad I did! I absolutely love it! Makes the whole pre-bake process less stressful and worrisome. This works great in both tart pans and pie dishes. I don't know why some have had issues with it, as I've had perfect success with it every time, even in very thin tart pans. Protects the crust perfectly and lends a beautifully pre-baked crust! it's super lightweight, stores easily, and is also easy to clean. A very necessary gadget to have around for anyone who bakes pies more than once a year! I love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, lightweight, protects crust, crust pre-bakes perfectly
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Pie Weight Disc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sewnchef
,Charlotte
,NC
February 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works great
February 13, 2014
I bought this before Christmas and have used it quite a few times. I much prefer it to the parchment-bean approach. I am buying another one for a gift.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Shape, Design
Review 5 for Pie Weight Disc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beenie
February 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Failed to deliver
February 1, 2014
I bought this after attending a pie class at the local WS store. This gadget seemed like it'd be simpler than the parchment/pie weights deal. Very disappointed. My pie crust still shrunk and underneath the bottom it was soggy and stuck to the pie weight. Will never use again.
Cons: did not work.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Pie Weight Disc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cafeglover
,Lawrenceburg
,TN
December 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I really wanted this to work!
December 29, 2013
This didn't work, just sank into my pie crust and left the bottom unbaked, the sides of the crust slid down. I'm going to return it and get something I want that works well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Shape
Cons: Weight, design flaws
Review 7 for Pie Weight Disc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lajets
,Honolulu
,HI
December 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pie weight is too heavy
December 19, 2013
This pie weight pressed down on the crust & the "petals" pushed through the sides of the crust. I tried refrigerating the dough in the ruffled pie dish to firm it up but as the crust bakes, the weight sinks to the bottom & ruins the crust. I'm going back to using parchment paper & beans.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Weight
Review 8 for Pie Weight Disc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mbh1113
,Marvell
,AR
December 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pie Weight Disc
December 4, 2013
Couldn't wait to use this. Seemed so simple but when I removed it my crust stuck to it and tore up. Threw that crust away and started with a new one. This time I sprayed the disc with PAM and same thing happened. I so wanted this to work for me, where did I go wrong ? If someone could tell me what I am doing wrong I would appreciate your help.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Shape
Cons: stuck to crust
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer avatar
cissie1
Syracuse, NY
Posted February 14, 2014
didn't stick on me
It didn't stick when I let it sit out for a few minutes and cool down. It pulled right off. Plus, the sides did not shrink up or puff out at all. I have not tasted the pie yet, it's for later, but definitely no problem taking out the pie weight or having the sides droop down. It looks perfect!
0points
Customer avatar
ncmormor
NC
Posted December 19, 2013
I had the same experience with this pie weight disc and sent it back.
0points
Customer avatar
marymac2
Peoria IL
Posted December 13, 2013
you described my hesitation
I was attracted to this product, but my experience with a similar product made me hesitate. I used a metal disc with holes that fit in the pie plate to hold the dough when blind baking, but my crust puffed into the holes, then hung on to the disc in such a way as to tear the crust when removing the disc. The other problem was removing the hot disc, which ought to be alleviated by the silicone handle on the WS product. That would be a great upgrade.
0points
Customer avatar
TCLovesAustin
Austin, TX
Posted December 10, 2013
Pie Weight Disc
Did you refrigerate the crust for at least two hours?
Also, check the temp for par baking. It's gonna be a high temp for no more than 8 minutes usually.
Once you pull it out of the oven I would remove the weight right away unless the instructions say otherwise.
Hope this helps!
-1point
0of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 9 for Pie Weight Disc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alicetoo
,Dallas
,TX
Dallas, TX
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful product!
November 29, 2013
Bye bye pie weights! The holes in the bottom allow the middle of the crust to bake along with the sides, unlike pie weights with foil/parchment which covers the bottom/middle completely. And if you have the Emile Henry ruffled pan, this is a must! The little side flaps keep the crust from slumping down at all! Also works great in standard pie plates...Getting ready to order another one...Love love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Pie Weight Disc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
November 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No More Beans!
November 1, 2013
I usually resist buying what I consider gadgets, but the appearance of my pies having significantly improved using the Emile Henry Ruffled Artisan Pie Dish (no more crimping!) and the companion Ruffled Silicone Pie Crust Shield, I figured, I had nothing to lose! This fits my go-to ple pan exactly, and I have also tried it in a more generic metal pie pan. I have tossed out my old baking beans. This is so much easier than messing with the beans and foil.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean