Pie Crust Shield

Bake pie, tart and quiche edges to a perfect golden brown - without burning - by protecting them with this shield. A nonstick finish ensures that the shield lifts off easily, leaving the decorative edges intact. Keeps pie edges from overbaking and darkening before the pie center is done. Great for prebaking pie, tart and quiche shells, and baking filled crusts. Fits 9"- and 10"-diam. homemade or packaged frozen crusts. Nonstick finish ensures easy release, leaving the golden crust intact. Made of heavy-duty steel. Recipes included. Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.316 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
16 of 19(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pie Crust Shield
Review 1 for Pie Crust Shield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BakingfortheFamily
,Winchester
,VA
March 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it! NO more burnt crusts!
March 21, 2014
This is awesome. No more using aluminum foil or burnt crusts! LOVE IT!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Pie Crust Shield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kavin
,Belfast, Northern Ireland
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Buy Ever!
November 29, 2013
I always struggle with my pecan pie cooking and getting burnt pecans. Not only did this save the crust but it allowed me to put tin foil over it later without sticking to the pie and making it look messy! Best pies I made this year!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 3 for Pie Crust Shield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nolasmom
,KY
November 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great item
November 30, 2012
Wish I had bought this 30 years ago. After years of folding aluminum foil and getting burned fingers I finally made this purchase and my hands are so much happier.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Pie Crust Shield
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Katemom
,Boulder
,CO
November 30, 2012
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to use
November 30, 2012
Love how this is one piece and easy to use, worked really well to keep the crust from getting to brown. My only issue is wish it was just a little bigger to fit the Emile Henry pie dish a little better. Other than that it is a great item to have.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Size
Review 5 for Pie Crust Shield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glenn9
NY
November 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fits and works great
November 30, 2012
Heavy gauge and non stick - fits the pie and works as advertised - clean up is easy...
Review 6 for Pie Crust Shield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheDabblingChef
,Doylestown
,PA
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
October 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A real find
October 11, 2012
Previously, I would make a pie crust shield from aluminium foil to keep the crust from burning. But it was difficult to keep it on a pie during baking. I like the weight of this shield; it is easy to get on and off a pie. No more making my own make-shift pie crust shields.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Weight
Review 7 for Pie Crust Shield
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
glue
,Bentonville
,ar
Bella Vista, Arkansas
October 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
-8points
2of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
looks good
October 5, 2012
Haven't had a chance to use it yet but, am looking forward to using it, had been looking for this for years!
Review 8 for Pie Crust Shield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AngieE
,Edgewater
,Md
February 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No more burnt pie crusts !
February 7, 2012
I was using a flimsy pie crust shield but it did not stay in place. Then I tried the pie crust shield from Williams Sonoma and presto no more burnt crust ! The weight of the pie crust shield is perfect for staying in place. I purchased another one for my sister who also enjoys making pies. Can't do without this tool !
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Shape, Weight
Cons: Size
Review 9 for Pie Crust Shield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
inquisitive1k
,kenilworth
,IL
December 9, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pie Crust Shield
December 9, 2011
Works well on an 8 inch pie. (Have another who's smallest size is 9 inches.)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Pie Crust Shield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TroubleLB00
,Lynwood
,CA
December 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great addition to my baking supplies
December 5, 2011
I made 3 pies for Thanksgiving and I was able to use it on all 3. I pre-baked all 3 crusts and neither of them were burned; use as directed and you will have perfect crusts each and every time!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Shape, Weight
Review 11 for Pie Crust Shield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsGadget
,Corona
,CA
Corona, CA
December 1, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE IT...no more burnt edges
December 1, 2011
This is a great pie crust shield. I like that it is one piece, non-stick, and large enough to cover my large Pyrex deep dish pie pan. It worked perfectly, no burnt edges on my pie. I ordered one for my daughter after using it.
Thanks Williams-Sonoma for carrying quality merchandise.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 12 for Pie Crust Shield
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GoJen
,CA
November 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
4of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Still burnt my crust
November 18, 2011
I was very eager to try this shield but sadly it didn't fit any of my pie dishes. I don't have huge pie dishes, just the ones with the wavy tops and it didn't fit. I still decided to give it a try, I put it on one end and and covered the areas that were exposed with aluminum foil. The areas that were covered by the pie shield burnt really bad and the foil areas were in good condition. Wouldn't recommend it, stick to foil.
Cons: Size
Review 13 for Pie Crust Shield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaggieWI
,Milwaukee
,WI
November 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best pie purchase Investment!!!!
November 11, 2011
I struggled with alum. foil wrapped around the pie edges, and struggled with keeping the foil around the edges. I finally gave in and bought this. One of the best kitchen gadgets. I love making pies, and to have the edges evenually cooked is essential. You will not be dissatisfied with this purchase!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 14 for Pie Crust Shield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DedeJ
,Oklahoma City
,OK
November 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great non-stick pie crust shield
November 4, 2011
Actually, I purchased the pie crust shield for my husband who makes delicious pies. He was so glad to get a pie crust shield that did not stick to the food.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 15 for Pie Crust Shield
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SP1971
Schenectady, NY
July 16, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dissapointing
July 16, 2011
We ordered this pie shield a while ago with some other products. I went to use it for the first time expecting to see the high quality product that I am used to from Williams Sonoma. Unfortunately the pie shield does not fit a standard PYREX pie dish. The "handles" of the pie dish are larger than the cut-outs of the pie shield. I was able to go out to the garage, and trim the pie shield with my tin snips, but I am still only giving this a fair rating as modifications like that should not be necessary.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Weight
Cons: doesn't fit pyrex pie dish
Review 16 for Pie Crust Shield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oroville
Orlamdo, Fl
June 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great cover for pie crust
June 9, 2011
I bought another brand of pie cover and it was too light so when I started to take it off the pie, it fell onto the pie, it was too light to handle properly. The Williams-sonoma pie crust cover was much easier to handle, heavy so it can be controled, the exact weight and covers the crust perfectly. I really enjoy my new pie coverr from williams-sonoma. I own several of their products and never had a problem at all.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 17 for Pie Crust Shield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skibunny
Florida
March 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
works great
March 4, 2011
I am new to homemade crusts having previously used frozen, and was pleased with this product, because I can plop the shield on after 15 minutes of baking without damaging delicate flaky crusts. It is much easier than foil.
Review 18 for Pie Crust Shield
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NetteG
Toledo, OH
January 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
2of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Burnt crust
January 9, 2011
I was very disappointed in the outcome of the pie crust shield. My crust burned! Not the desired result.
Review 19 for Pie Crust Shield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carefreeliving
Carefree, AZ
October 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+34points
36of 38found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's the simple things
October 31, 2010
Now, I know this is a simple thing but it's gotten me to write my first review. Simple things done badly are abundant. For example those tinny aluminum pie shield rings that come in sections that you are supposed to piece together. Or using aluminum foil, especially if you have a convection fan blowing, not any better. This pie shield works great and is easy to use. My last pie frustration took me straight to my computer and my Williams Sonoma bookmark. I figured if anyone had a good solution it would be them. And not to disappoint there it was. Ordered it on the spot and that simple thing did the trick on my last pie. Pie season is coming up and I'm thinking it might be a perfect gift for my friends who cook!