Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6

Our classic Picardie glassware, a Williams-Sonoma favorite since we introduced it to our customers more than 40 years ago, is a standard in French bistros and cafes. The tumblers are made in France of heavyweight tempered glass. They're suitable for serving a variety of hot or cold beverages, from coffee and cafe au lait to breakfast juices and iced drinks. Microwavable and dishwasher safe. Sets of six. Assorted set includes 6 glasses of each size. 3.25 oz is 2 1/2" high; 8.25 oz. is 3 1/2" high; 12 oz is 5" high; 16 oz. is 5 1/2" high.
Average Customer Rating:
4.508 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(254 Reviews) 254
220 of 254(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
Review 1 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kate65
,Hoboken
,NJ
January 12, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Last forever
January 12, 2014
We've had these glasses for 15 years - through 3 children and we've never broken one.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Weight
Review 2 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nnsmom
,Amherst
,NH
January 11, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shattered and chipped
January 11, 2014
Had an older set of these glasses that were nearly indestructible. Decided to add to our collection because a few were somehow lost or misplaced. Very disappointed in the new ones. We've already thrown out 4 over the past few months from chips on the rim after having gone through the dishwasher. And, like other reviewers, we had a glass actually shatter in our dishwasher! It was a disaster and very hard to remove all the pieces. There is really no excuse for poor quality of this kind from a reputable company like WS. I do not recommend this glassware at all.
Cons: Not Durable, Quality
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
nnsmom
Amherst, NH
Posted March 7, 2014
my experience
@dounoharm
As I stated in my review, I did have an older set of these glasses that were nearly indestructable and we loved them so much we did not hesitate to order more. Unfortunately, they did not live up to their predecessors. I've had to throw out 4 already, 2 of which were in pieces, shattered. I'm glad that many people seem to not have any trouble with theirs, but there are also other reviews that are similar to mine.
0points
Customer avatar
dounoharm
borger texas
Posted March 7, 2014
picardie glass tumblers
hard to believe you had a bad time with these glasses...I have had a set for over 30 years, and the only ones missing 'walked off' by themselves, never had a chip or break! I gave them to both my sons when they had their first children, I think every mom should have them! they are just plain wonderful!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NYCCooker
,New York
,NY
December 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazingly Versatile
December 29, 2013
I waited a long time to choose the Picardie tumblers from WS, and could not be happier with my decision. These are in the same category as Cuisinart, Le Creuset, and All Clad as a true essential.
The smallest size is perfect to use with an espresso machine or in your home bar. I use the 8 oz size constantly for juice, water, coffee, and wine. The best features are the tempered glass which can accommodate both hot or cold beverages, and the ability to stack these for storage.
I would recommend buying the set of all four sizes, they take up no room in the cupboard stacked and you will have them forever!
Pros: Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Weight
Review 4 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Caligirl4
,San Mateo
,CA
October 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite glasses!
October 4, 2013
We got these after trying many others over the years and having breakage issues. I got tired of replacing glasses every few years and wanted something that would last. The Picardie glasses are awesome! We've only had them about a month but so far so good! They're comfortable to hold, clean well in the dishwasher, stack for easier storage. They remind me of ones from my childhood. They're also attractive looking. My kids love them, too. My younger son accidently dropped one on the counter and nothing happened! He was very impressed that it didn't break(me, too!) and uses them exclusively now. Love these glasses! Recommend to anyone, but especially for those with kids or clumsy family members!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Review 5 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Longtall
,Woodbury
,NJ
September 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I also purchased the wine tumblers
September 16, 2013
I rated the wine tumblers, thinking I was rating these. Anyway, wine or tumblers, these sets are sturdy, heavy and great on any table. Love them all.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Review 6 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dpie
,MI
Chelsea, Michigan
September 11, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best glasses ever.
September 11, 2013
After buying sets of other glassware, only to see them break one by one, we bought our first set of Picardie glasses in the '80's. Over time, the dishwasher etched them, and Williams-Sonoma replaced them about 15 years ago. We've never gotten tired of the look, they handle well, are stackable, and get high marks for durability- one broken glass in almost 30 years.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Applewhite
,Huntington
,NY
August 17, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tumblers & Apilco
August 17, 2013
So far, I really like the grip on these tumblers which are perfect with my Apilco china and restaurant silverware of mixed patterns. They add to my French bistro look! I am not sure yet how I will use the small tumbler (4 oz) but will be sure to come up with something- perhaps when my new grandson arrives!
Pros: Durable, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Appearance, Versatile
Review 8 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sewjennifer
,Roseville
,CA
August 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stylish & Functional
August 16, 2013
Classic and elegant style for casual and entertaining. Everyday glassware should be functional: 1) properly weighted (less spills) and, 2) a clean design to accentuate the beverage inside. These glasses have it! My favorite everyday glasses.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 9 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thenotoriousmeg
,Brooklyn
,NY
August 6, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The only glassware you need
August 6, 2013
A friend bought us these from our wedding registry over nine years ago, and now I'm getting a set for her wedding.
These glasses are classic, durable, well-made, and well-sized. While I've gone through dozens of wine glasses and other glassware over the years, I still have almost the entire original set. We use them for everything, from hot tea to wine to juice. The smallest size is tiny, but great for babies learning how to use a glass and easier to clean than flimsy plastic.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eileeny
,Chico
,CA
Davis, California
August 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great glasses
August 5, 2013
Bought these same glasses fifteen years ago, due to hard water issues am replacing them with the same again! Really like the weight, sizes,flexiblity and durability. Only slight issue is they've changed the smallest size and it is a bit too small. Not really useful, the other three sizes are still great.
Pros: Durable, Size, Appearance
Review 11 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LisainAZ
,Scottsdale
,AZ
August 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Classic & Durable
August 5, 2013
I have been using Picardie tumbler glasses for over 20 years. They are super classic and very durable. Sure, if you drop one on a stone floor it will break, but in the 20 years I have owned them I have maybe broken three. The base is also fairly wide which makes them a good choice for children - harder to tip over. The other beautiful thing about these glasses is they will continue to make them for a long, long time. So if you do need more glasses or just want to expand your collection, it is easy to purchase them and mix them in with your current collection.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Design
Review 12 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katrina9
,San Diego
,CA
June 21, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just the BEST!
June 21, 2013
Love these glasses! They are not only classy looking, but easy to hold, stack, and come in all the right sizes. Although, I did skip purchasing the smallest size.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance
Review 13 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LLL1
,Portland
,OR
June 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Picardi Glass - Small
June 12, 2013
Watch out for the small 3.25 oz glass - this is not the small glass from a few years ago - the size is worthless, about the size of a shot glass. What would anyone use that size glass for. The other glass sizes did match our originals and they are for the most part a great set.
Review 14 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Linjoy
,Il
May 7, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
2of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exchanged for Siena glasses
May 7, 2013
Didn't like the sizes, the smallest size was useless! I called as soon as I received them, they were picked up the next day and they sent out the Siena set of glasses . I love them and they are perfect. This why I love shopping at William Sonoma . You are the greatest
Review 15 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
glittercupcakes
,Chicago
,IL
May 7, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
2of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Weird, Dirty and Chipped
May 7, 2013
Let me start by saying I haven't used these glasses yet and I don't plan on using them - they will be returned to WS.
Every glass had some sort of greasy substance all over them right out of the box! Gross - I had to wash my hands after handling them. They also had cloudy spots all over them. It makes me feel like another customer already tried to wash them and then took them back because they turned cloudy in the dishwasher.
Several glasses had chips or scratches along the sides and one glass had a crack on the bottom.
I also had a few glasses with the weird "string like" quality in the glass that another reviewer mentioned. Each and every single glass had a brushed look near the bottom of the glass but with no rhyme or reason, no continuity in the brushed appearance between the glasses.
Disappointed in these glasses, and grossed out with how dirty they were on arrival.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Clamity
Arizona
Posted November 5, 2013
Ick
Wow, that's horrible. It sounds to me like the warehouse sent you a Cust Returns box instead. I'm sure it was never intended to be sent to any customer. Just wanted to say sorry that happened to you. That would freak me out too. Placing my order today...hope they have their inventory/RMA issues fixed by now.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Marg76
,Chicago
,IL
April 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ok but reservations
April 16, 2013
I have had these glasses for less than 5 years. I decided to get glass when my youngest was 10. In that time 2 glasses exploded. The first time my daughter was getting the glass out of the cabinet to put on the counter and it broke into pieces. I thought maybe the glass was warm and she set it in water. The 2nd time last week we were unloading the dishwasher and the handle of a coffee mug hit the glass on the side and it exploded in the dishwasher. Not just cracked - exploded. So now new dishwasher because the repairman can't get all the glass out and I won't take any chances there are small pieces of glass still in the unit. So I am back to plastic glasses.
Pros: nice design
Cons: they explode
Review 17 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
,London
,UK
London
April 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Elegant and robust
April 5, 2013
I was gifted a couple of the 8oz glasses from a former French flatmate. He and his friends used to use them at every dinner party. Mainly for wine, but also for other beverages - water, juice and even espresso. And to me these glasses epitomise their French dinner parties - elegant, yet relaxed. I fell in love with the design, versatility and the way they feel in your hands. The ridges actually make for a more comfortable/secure grip. Also, in my 10yrs of owning these glasses, I've never had one break.
I recently purchased a new one at WS after one of them mysteriously disappeared. Possibly via an envious dinner guest!
Pros: Versatile, Durable, elegant
Review 18 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MusicalMom
,East Wenatchee
,WA
March 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Attractive and tempered glass
March 18, 2013
So far I am delighted with these glasses. Like the idea that tempered glass is more durable than regular glass. I felt the cost was very reasonable. These glasses look fabulous on my table. I think I'm ready to host a group and will have glasses to spare!
Review 19 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HappyInAshton
,Ashton
,MD
March 7, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for Everything
March 7, 2013
Had used this size years ago but lost them all over time. Now that they're back, I'm using these lovely and almost indestructible tumblers for everything! They serve soup; they hold eggs for beating into recipes; they catch bacon fat and hold it in the fridge until I need it again; they reflect candlelight beautifully; they chill pots-de-creme elegantly; they serve as emergency double Old Fashioned glasses for bourbon.
Review 20 for Picardie Glass Tumblers, Sets of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bloomingtongal
,Bloomington
,IN
March 6, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect table wine glasses
March 6, 2013
We use these glasses as our everyday table wine glasses. Virtually indestructible, and not easy to knock over!
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next