Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer

We predict this revolutionary machine will forever change your ideas about frying. The first of its kind, the Air Fryer uses patented technology to fry your favorite foods to crispy, golden brown perfection, using little or no oil. It works by precisely circulating hot air, yielding results that are virtually indistinguishable from traditional deep-fried foods. From French fries and fried chicken to homemade doughnuts, this remarkable innovation lets you enjoy all your best-loved fried foods-without the guilt. Perfect for healthy cooking, the innovative Air Fryer quickly and efficiently fries a wide variety of foods with little or no oil-great for baking, roasting and grilling, too. Patented Rapid Air heat circulation technology works in conjunction with a top grill to guarantee uniform cooking and browning. Intuitive digital control panel makes it easy to select the perfect cooking time and precise temperature from 180deg.F to 390deg.F. 60-minute timer lets you know when your food is ready, then automatically shuts off the machine. The patented "starfish" design inside the fryer ensures that hot air circulates evenly around the food. Extra-large 1.8-lb. capacity stainless-steel frying basket simplifies cooking for a crowd. Pull-out baking tray simplifies putting food in and taking it out of the fryer. A stainless-steel rack allows you to fry more food-or cook two kinds of food at the same time. The oil pan, frying basket, baking tray and inside of the fryer have a durable nonstick coating for quick, easy cleanup. Oil pan and basket are also dishwasher safe. Includes frying basket, pull-out baking tray and metal rack.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
Review 1 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jereann1
,Van Buren
,AR
Van Buren, Arkansas
April 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Air Fryer by Philips
April 9, 2014
I love my new Philips Air Fryer my only complaint is that I would like to have had more recipes in the booklet that came with it. But so far everything I have tried that is frozen like fries and chicken nuggets have been really good with just a spray of pam on them.
Review 2 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CanHope
,Stockton
,NJ
April 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow! This is a Keeper!
April 7, 2014
I spent a fair amount of time reading the reviews on this product across several websites and based on the almost entirely positive reviews, went ahead and purchased this yesterday at my local William Sonoma store. I used it tonight as a "test" on some frozen crinkle cut fries and all I can say is WOW! I used barely a tablespoon of grape seed oil on an amount of fries sufficient to fill the basket without overcrowding. The fries were in done in 12 minutes, were brown and crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I have never been able to make fries this good in the oven and always used much more oil. I will be trying this on vegetarian "chick" nuggets, veggie spring rolls and whole grain donuts next (maybe even funnel cake!). I agree with other reviewers that this device is rather pricey - but for those who like good fries, "fried" chicken, etc. but in a healthier low fat way, I think its well worth the investment. Bravo Philips!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, supports healthier eating
Cons: Loud
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CanuckRick
,Oakville (Toronto)
,on
April 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile beyond belief
April 1, 2014
I purchased this product after extensive research on oil-less or air fryers. While a little pricey, I have not been disappointed in its versatility, ease of use and quick clean-up. I had to buy the digital version in the US as only the manual (Non-digital control) version is available in Canada. I got a great price at Williams-Sonoma with a 20% one-time discount coupon.
The AirFryer is really a compact convection oven that, with a very little bit of olive oil produces "fried" foods quickly and perfectly. I love what it does to fries (naturally); chicken (breasts, wings, drums); pork chops; coated fish and vegetables. Nice crispy exterior and moist and tender on the inside.
I wish it had more capacity but I couldn't wait for the larger Philips Avance which is only available in Europe and Australia/Far East.
I am still exploring the uses of the little beast, but so far, I am very pleased,
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, great food
Cons: capacity
Review 4 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LeighS
,Bremerton
,WA
Bremerton, Washington
March 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A new way to cook!
March 21, 2014
I've had the Air Fryer for a month and I love it. I've tried a variety of things (homemade fries, eggrolls, breaded chicken cutlets, roasted potatoes) and everything has turned out great. The Air Fryer is a little pricey, but so far it's proving to be worth the money. I've already recommended it to friends and family.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: Size
Review 5 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
deb929
February 16, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? No
-10points
14of 38found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Will not use enough
February 16, 2014
I have had the air fryer for a month and finally decide to return it. I experimented almost every other night with different recipes (found on Pinterest and youtube, BTW). I tried fresh and pre-frozen foods to give it a good comparison. It does exactly what it is supposed to. It fries without the grease. Fries, potato chips, chicken, spring rolls...were all nice and crispy. My husband and I decided for the space used for storage of it and the cost, it wasn't going to be used often enough by us. We didn't eat that many fried type foods in the first place. I suggest researching what it can cook before buying.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 6 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,Ca
Santa Cruz CA
February 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+15points
16of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Clever Device!
February 10, 2014
I had read that air fryers are big in Europe. I love crispy fried foods but cannot tolerate them. So, I purchased this specifically to make French fries. Most of the oven fries require so much oil that it defeats the purpose of cooking in the oven. My husband made fries a little more slender than those made by the burger chain I-N-O, and for a first attempt, they were excellent--brown and crispy with flavor but not greasy. Garlic fries are next on the list, and I suspect we will be branching out. I was skeptical but am glad that we took a chance! Plus, the parts that come in contact with the food are dishwasher safe! Love that!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Ellendy
Santa Cruz CA
Posted February 16, 2014
Number 1 Contributor
3/8" Fries Nailed
I hand cut a large potato in 3/8" wide strips. Using 2 T grape seed oil, I produced enough fries to serve two people. Two potatoes worth would fit in the bin, but if I were to do two large potatoes at a time, I would increase the oil by 1 or 2 T. The fries came out crisp, meaty, and there was no discernible oil on the surface. It's not super low fat, but the fat I used was healthy, and my touchy digestive system did not register consumption of fried products! We sprinkled them with salt and dipped in homemade low fat horseradish sauce.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jode44
,Middletown
,NJ
February 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+20points
21of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome machine
February 8, 2014
I purchased the air fryer after I saw it in the store. I went home and did my research before actually purchasing it. I bought it 2 weeks ago and I have used it every day. I have experimented with cooking a variety of foods. It makes the best grilled cheese sandwiches. I have made meatballs, chicken wings and homemade potato chips. The only complaint is there are not a lot of recipes available, however I found some on you tube. I also ordered from the manufacturer, the grill pan attachment and can't wait to try it. There is no mess to clean up as you would have if you fried food on a traditional stove. It is truly a healthier option because the fat drips into the pan and very little stays in your food. I have told many friends about this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 8 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
biscottimaker
,Puyallup
,WA
February 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
17of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Oh My - do I LOVE this appliance
February 1, 2014
I finally received this and just LOVE it & the perfect size for the 2 of us. Tonight some frozen breaded chicken along with some baby potatoes. Chicken on the bottom with the potatoes on the rack. Set the temperature/ time & away the machine went. Everything was PERFECT. Not much sticking but a little. Next time I will spray a little olive oil or I Can't Believe It's Not Butter on the top of the potatoes....just enough to help give them a little flavor. Clean up is a breeze & although I will wash by hand, it really is no big deal. It appears as though you can use your own oven safe pans as well to cook things like mac & cheese, etc. One tip - don't worry if the normal package of frozen says oven temp is say 400 or higher. The machine only goes to 390 and your food will still cook just fine. Don't need to add extra time to compensate either. Added extra - the fryer doesn't heat up the kitchen the way the oven does.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 9 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rosros
chicagoland
January 5, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+32points
34of 36found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Philips Air Fryer 2st cook
January 5, 2014
Nice to have the digital model. Although functionally the same; digital makes set up and monitoring very easy. First attempt was buffalo wings (on youtube). Dropped in the wings, set temp and time, hit start. 20 minutes perfectly cooked wings. The skin was light brown and crispy. Next time use Pam on the cooking basket to keep from sticking. The XL model would be nice, but it requires 2100 watts which would mean a 220 line; not for the US market.