Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer

We predict this revolutionary machine will forever change your ideas about frying. The first of its kind, the Air Fryer uses patented technology to fry your favorite foods to crispy, golden brown perfection, using little or no oil. It works by precisely circulating hot air, yielding results that are virtually indistinguishable from traditional deep-fried foods. From French fries and fried chicken to homemade doughnuts, this remarkable innovation lets you enjoy all your best-loved fried foods-without the guilt. Perfect for healthy cooking, the innovative Air Fryer quickly and efficiently fries a wide variety of foods with little or no oil-great for baking, roasting and grilling, too. Patented Rapid Air heat circulation technology works in conjunction with a top grill to guarantee uniform cooking and browning. Intuitive digital control panel makes it easy to select the perfect cooking time and precise temperature from 180deg.F to 390deg.F. 60-minute timer lets you know when your food is ready, then automatically shuts off the machine. The patented "starfish" design inside the fryer ensures that hot air circulates evenly around the food. Extra-large 1.8-lb. capacity stainless-steel frying basket simplifies cooking for a crowd. Pull-out baking tray simplifies putting food in and taking it out of the fryer. A stainless-steel rack allows you to fry more food-or cook two kinds of food at the same time. The oil pan, frying basket, baking tray and inside of the fryer have a durable nonstick coating for quick, easy cleanup. Oil pan and basket are also dishwasher safe. Includes frying basket, pull-out baking tray and metal rack.
Average Customer Rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
26 of 29(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
Review 1 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magali
,CA
January 19, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite fryer
January 19, 2015
Got this to test making French fries and soon after got rid of my traditional deep fryer. Everything comes out tasting great, and cooks faster. I love making chicken in it, as well as bacon and fries. Easy to clean, doesn't stink up the kitchen.
Definitely recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 2 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BettyLG
,Climax
,No
January 16, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best fries at home.
January 16, 2015
Used to make french fries and it is great.
They rival Mac Donald's. Really didn't expect it to work, but it was wonderful and easy too. Healthier and yummy!!!
Review 3 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jupiter247
,Miami
,Fl
January 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love healthy fried food
January 2, 2015
I have waited for a good fryer! This fryer is amazing and fast, i don't even add a tablespoon of oil and everything comes out amazing. I have made stuffed mushrooms, french fries, shrimp, chicken, I have been using it almost everyday since i got it. Not very big but good for a family of 4. Good thing is if you have a few more people it cooks really fast!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 4 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mertar
,Boston
,Ma
December 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the Philips airfryer
December 20, 2014
This is an awesome machine. The fried chicken is golden brown on the outside and deliciously moist inside. Doing roasted vegetables is fast and with perfect results. I use the air fryer almost everyday. My friends are really impress with this machine. I also bought the XL model. It isdoublesthe capacity of the original.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 5 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
prettylily
,Rochester
,MI
December 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
so glad I bought it
December 2, 2014
I love the air fryer, it makes delicious food. So far, I've made... Korean pork belly, bacon, steak, chicken breast, and fries in it. Korean pork belly was amazing! All the fat dripped to the bottom and it got crispy. It had the most amazing flavor. Bacon, was not super crispy, but it had a great flavor and all the fat dripped to the bottom. Chicken breast was a little dry, but it cooked up in 4 mins. By the time I washed lettuce and cut it up, the chicken was all cooked and it was ready to throw into a salad. Marinating it next time will probably help with the dryness. Fries did not have the consistency of being fried in oil, but for health benefits... it was still tasty and crispy. Nuggets were great. They cooked up moist and super hot, and delicious. The best features about the air fryer is that it heats up instantly, cooks food very quickly, and fat drips to the bottom of the pan. It's like a very fast pressure cooker that crisps too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly, makes delicious food
Review 6 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
hurricanejoe
November 11, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Old Smokey
November 11, 2014
This "fryer" works well, but there is one drawback...it will smoke like a locomotive !
I had to open the kitchen window, the front door, turn on the hood vent and the ceiling fan to finally clear up the smoke.
It still works well, but now "Old Smokey" has a home on the back porch.
I will not get another one.
Review 7 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JIMANN
,MIDLAND
,TX
October 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
2of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SON LOVED IT
October 26, 2014
DEVICE WAS FOR MY SON, WHO IS QUITE A CHIEF IN HIS HOME. HE IS VERY PLEASED WITH IT. HE ALSO TOOK MY SPIRALIZER. THEREFORE, I JUST BOUGHT ANOTHER
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 8 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SafariGma
,Larue
,TX
October 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What fun with tasty results!
October 12, 2014
Spiralized a couple of russets then followed directions to soak & dry then toss w/olive oil. Terrific crunchy flavor in no time at all! The whole family enjoyed. Immediately tried bacon wrapped shrimp using the grill accessory and again terrific flavor in such a short time. Easy to change accessories. Quick & easy clean up as well. Having watched the Youtubes from Australian users I can't wait to try whole meals and baking. It's just plain fun with tasty results!
Also purchased the grill and baking accessories.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Review 9 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheCookingApprentice
,Camino
,Ca
October 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
7of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OMG...I'm Hooked!
October 5, 2014
I just received my Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer a couple of days ago and tried it for the first time yesterday. My first recipe were wild-caught salmon. It came out juicy, flavorful and tender.
Today, I ventured outside the box. Being Filipino-American one of the most essential food on our menu are lumpias (Filipino version of Chinese egg rolls). I figured if I followed the instructions for frozen fries I couldn't go wrong. I had 32 pcs of frozen lumpias so I made two batches--drizzling a generous portion of olive oil onto the pieces before placing them in the basket and a bit more for good measure. 15 minutes later, voila! Perfectly cooked, crunchy, flavorful, and best of all non-greasy.
Obviously not a good fit if you're looking to eat within a few minutes time (for some recipes you have to split in batches); but...if you want a healthier version of a meal, don't mind the wait, and like to cook at home without the mess, this is the type of fryer for you.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Speed, Weight, Loud, Size
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheBlueSea
,Naples
,FL
September 30, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The next step above a convection oven.
September 30, 2014
When on the stove, I make a mess everywhere, between splatters and drips. This machine, most is self contained. And if you are questioning how well it works with out oil or butter? It makes things crispy, tasty, and juicy inside; everything from corndogs, fries, chicken and to my delight even a dry-rubbed roast!
A third or less of conventional oven time. Have even tried reheating leftover fries and chicken.
Another great option for what-to-fix-tonight!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: great for 1-3 people only., easy to overcook
Review 11 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GoodFoodLover
,Portland
,OR
Tigard, OR
August 27, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+20points
21of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product but expect better for this price
August 27, 2014
Great delivery as usual. This fryer does:
1. Crispy skin (like peking duck) and seal flavor, juicy and tender chicken legs, wings - No flour coat
Cons - high fume due to fats from skin.
2) Crispy spring roll with oil spray (no fume)
3) Home made chicken nuggets - dried bake flour, not successful. Tried several types of flours, not good.
4) Great ribs with no coating.
5) Short chord, only on counter.
6) Manual push back retractable chord, cheap. With this price, I do expect one like rice cooker, quick retractable.
7) Fit 5 drum sticks or 3 chicken thighs.
8) Basket - easy cleaning with soap but film of oil left.
9) Made in China
Happy with it, use often , would be happy with charcoal filter and retractable chord.
Cons - fume, odor, manual retractable chord and fume of oil over the basket - like those finger prints on computer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, fume
Review 12 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FoxStark
,San Diego
,CA
August 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best thing ever!
August 10, 2014
Every time I use the Viva I feel like in the future or at least in the Back To The Future Part 2 Movie, this Air Fryer is to quiet lovely and makes the food taste so natural and good.
I'm looking to buy another one :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, lovely
Review 13 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kathes
,Oklahoma City
,Ok
Oklahoma City
July 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
12of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works Great and a lot of fun!
July 23, 2014
I did a lot of research before I purchased the Philips Air Fryer. Although it is pricey, the appliance works as advertised and is a lot of fun to use.
The cook book that comes with it is very small, but there are plenty of recipes on the internet. There are a lot of people using the Philips and they are willing to share recipes and tips.
My husband and I have had a lot of fun trying different foods. We are retired and we don't usually eat a lot of prepackaged food, because we don't like the the finished product, but the unit does a great job at cooking frozen foods that we used to put in the oven. Everything we have tried has turned out great...frozen french fries, jalapeno poppers, mozzarella sticks, hot wings (fresh) with different sauces, potato casserole, or just warm up left overs.
I also purchased the extra accessories, pan and grill which make the Air Fryer more versatile.
I am very pleased with my purchase.
Review 14 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kittykins
,Annapolis
,MD
July 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
11of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better results than my oven, Saves time and energy
July 18, 2014
I was intrigued when I first ran across this fryer online and impressed by the reviews. I would love a way to bake without heating up the big oven or putting the unsightly toaster oven back in my small kitchen. This fryer makes perfectly cooked chicken breasts (20 minutes at most), kebobs of all kinds, and even roasted vegetables in short order. All sides cook evenly and have an appealing crispness along the edges. The results are better than my oven, saves energy and cooking time. This is a great appliance for the single person or couple to make a good quality meal quickly. I have made fries and the typical frozen snack foods as well with good results. You can also reheat leftovers in minutes with much better results than the microwave. I'm using it nearly every day and find it easy to clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Review 15 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nikkimac
,Alpharetta
,Ga
July 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+21points
21of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not impressed
July 17, 2014
The machine heats up fast and cooks fast, which is nice. The meat turns out moist and cooked well. However, the basket is small, requiring many recipes to be cooked in batches. The fryer does get things crispy, but not deep fried crispy. I can get the same result in my oven.. Also, flavor wise, it isn't as tasty as deep fried, but I guess that is to be expected.
The machine had a strange smell when I first used it, even after washing it out before the first use. Every time since, there has been a strange flavor to the food cooked in it, much like the smell. It's subtle, but noticeable.Also, removing the food from the basket after cooking can be a bit cumbersome if you are using the rack inside the basket. The rack allows for more cooking space, but also squishes part of the food in the bottom basket. Overall, unit is good for reheating and small preparations. If you can get over the subtle strange taste.
Pros: Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet
Cons: Size, odd taste
Review 16 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SuzB
,Boston
,MA
Boston
July 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good fries!
July 4, 2014
I've only made one thing so far...french fries. I cut them fresh, soaked them and cooked them. With slightly more than one tablespoon of oil I got some fries that were fairly crunchy and tasty. Next time I try it I will use slightly fewer fries than is called for in the recipe. This is because I found that using the full two russet potatoes produced too may fries to effectively toss them during cooking. Consequently they cooked unevenly and some of the fries were undercooked and soggy. I think with fewer fries, and a slightly longer cooking time, you could get each and every fry cooked and crunchy if you toss them frequently.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 17 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SOUNDERSFAN
,Lake Tapps
,WA
June 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Couldn't be happier
June 13, 2014
I have had this for 6 months now and just love it! I've ordered the grill pan, the vertical divider and the little pan as accessories and use them a LOT. The vertical divider is great when making things like fish/chips as it keeps everything separate.
The other day I made scalloped potatoes in the purchased pan. WOW...were they wonderful. No need for recipes...just experiment. I've made my own cheese sticks, cooked steak tips on the grill pan(fantastic) and small corn on the cobs..yum! Little baby potatoes come out browned, crispy on the outside (with a spritz of butter) and tender on the inside. Basically, whatever you fry or anything you cook in the oven can be done in this air fryer. Don't let the 'fryer' designation fool you into thinking that it is only for frying foods. I bake in it as well. I'm actually contemplating purchasing a second one as we use this so much. I did call Philips about the bigger model but got no response if and when it will be available in the USA.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 18 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kgsmom
June 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE LOVE LOVE this machine!!
June 1, 2014
After seeing this online, reading the reviews and watching some youtube videos, I took the plunge. Since receiving 4 days ago, I have used it 3 of the 4 days. Everything I've made has turned out delicious and I have been scouring the internet for recipes and plan to keep on using it. I am not a big "fryer" person for health and mess reasons but my hubby who was very skeptical has become a fan and is loving the french fries from scratch Ive made for him EVERY DAY and sooooo easy. Highly recommend!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Loud
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
GoodFoodLover
Tigard, OR
Posted June 7, 2014
How crispy is French fries from scracth?
I saw some review that it is not that crispy because of lack of oil and recommend use the frozen fries from the store. However, those frozen fries do have oil in them so it defeat the purpose of being healthy.
Are the chicken skin crispy too? Do you use "spray" oil? Big thanks for you input.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SLWH
,Cary
,NC
May 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
May 20, 2014
I use this almost daily and love it. It is great for "frying" with less fat as well as baking. It heats up quickly and clean up is so easy. My only complaint: it's a little small and does not allow for making large quantities of food. This is the best kitchen item I've purchased in years and is worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile
Review 20 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haydee
,Tampa
,Fl
April 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful product
April 29, 2014
I have been looking at this air fryer in Williams Sonoma, after researching it I got to the store and an employee was demostrating it. I bought it and I am very pleased with it! The chicken wings come out fantastic, crispy outside, moist inside, french fries frozen or natural are great!!!! I have research recipes in the internet and I am going to keep trying, baking, grilling, etc. It is worse every penny I paid for it! no mess in my kitchen and no heat. Love it!!!!
page1 2 next