Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer

We predict this revolutionary machine will forever change your ideas about frying. The first of its kind, the Air Fryer uses patented technology to fry your favorite foods to crispy, golden brown perfection, using little or no oil. It works by precisely circulating hot air, yielding results that are virtually indistinguishable from traditional deep-fried foods. From French fries and fried chicken to homemade doughnuts, this remarkable innovation lets you enjoy all your best-loved fried foods-without the guilt. Perfect for healthy cooking, the innovative Air Fryer quickly and efficiently fries a wide variety of foods with little or no oil-great for baking, roasting and grilling, too. Patented Rapid Air heat circulation technology works in conjunction with a top grill to guarantee uniform cooking and browning. Intuitive digital control panel makes it easy to select the perfect cooking time and precise temperature from 180deg.F to 390deg.F. 60-minute timer lets you know when your food is ready, then automatically shuts off the machine. The patented "starfish" design inside the fryer ensures that hot air circulates evenly around the food. Extra-large 1.8-lb. capacity stainless-steel frying basket simplifies cooking for a crowd. Pull-out baking tray simplifies putting food in and taking it out of the fryer. A stainless-steel rack allows you to fry more food-or cook two kinds of food at the same time. The oil pan, frying basket, baking tray and inside of the fryer have a durable nonstick coating for quick, easy cleanup. Oil pan and basket are also dishwasher safe. Includes frying basket, pull-out baking tray and metal rack.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
21 of 24(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
Review 1 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
hurricanejoe
November 11, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Old Smokey
November 11, 2014
This "fryer" works well, but there is one drawback...it will smoke like a locomotive !
I had to open the kitchen window, the front door, turn on the hood vent and the ceiling fan to finally clear up the smoke.
It still works well, but now "Old Smokey" has a home on the back porch.
I will not get another one.
Review 2 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JIMANN
,MIDLAND
,TX
October 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SON LOVED IT
October 26, 2014
DEVICE WAS FOR MY SON, WHO IS QUITE A CHIEF IN HIS HOME. HE IS VERY PLEASED WITH IT. HE ALSO TOOK MY SPIRALIZER. THEREFORE, I JUST BOUGHT ANOTHER
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 3 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SafariGma
,Larue
,TX
October 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What fun with tasty results!
October 12, 2014
Spiralized a couple of russets then followed directions to soak & dry then toss w/olive oil. Terrific crunchy flavor in no time at all! The whole family enjoyed. Immediately tried bacon wrapped shrimp using the grill accessory and again terrific flavor in such a short time. Easy to change accessories. Quick & easy clean up as well. Having watched the Youtubes from Australian users I can't wait to try whole meals and baking. It's just plain fun with tasty results!
Also purchased the grill and baking accessories.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Review 4 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheCookingApprentice
,Camino
,Ca
October 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OMG...I'm Hooked!
October 5, 2014
I just received my Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer a couple of days ago and tried it for the first time yesterday. My first recipe were wild-caught salmon. It came out juicy, flavorful and tender.
Today, I ventured outside the box. Being Filipino-American one of the most essential food on our menu are lumpias (Filipino version of Chinese egg rolls). I figured if I followed the instructions for frozen fries I couldn't go wrong. I had 32 pcs of frozen lumpias so I made two batches--drizzling a generous portion of olive oil onto the pieces before placing them in the basket and a bit more for good measure. 15 minutes later, voila! Perfectly cooked, crunchy, flavorful, and best of all non-greasy.
Obviously not a good fit if you're looking to eat within a few minutes time (for some recipes you have to split in batches); but...if you want a healthier version of a meal, don't mind the wait, and like to cook at home without the mess, this is the type of fryer for you.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Speed, Weight, Loud, Size
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheBlueSea
,Naples
,FL
September 30, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The next step above a convection oven.
September 30, 2014
When on the stove, I make a mess everywhere, between splatters and drips. This machine, most is self contained. And if you are questioning how well it works with out oil or butter? It makes things crispy, tasty, and juicy inside; everything from corndogs, fries, chicken and to my delight even a dry-rubbed roast!
A third or less of conventional oven time. Have even tried reheating leftover fries and chicken.
Another great option for what-to-fix-tonight!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: great for 1-3 people only., easy to overcook
Review 6 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GoodFoodLover
,Portland
,OR
Tigard, OR
August 27, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product but expect better for this price
August 27, 2014
Great delivery as usual. This fryer does:
1. Crispy skin (like peking duck) and seal flavor, juicy and tender chicken legs, wings - No flour coat
Cons - high fume due to fats from skin.
2) Crispy spring roll with oil spray (no fume)
3) Home made chicken nuggets - dried bake flour, not successful. Tried several types of flours, not good.
4) Great ribs with no coating.
5) Short chord, only on counter.
6) Manual push back retractable chord, cheap. With this price, I do expect one like rice cooker, quick retractable.
7) Fit 5 drum sticks or 3 chicken thighs.
8) Basket - easy cleaning with soap but film of oil left.
9) Made in China
Happy with it, use often , would be happy with charcoal filter and retractable chord.
Cons - fume, odor, manual retractable chord and fume of oil over the basket - like those finger prints on computer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, fume
Review 7 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FoxStark
,San Diego
,CA
August 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best thing ever!
August 10, 2014
Every time I use the Viva I feel like in the future or at least in the Back To The Future Part 2 Movie, this Air Fryer is to quiet lovely and makes the food taste so natural and good.
I'm looking to buy another one :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, lovely
Review 8 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kathes
,Oklahoma City
,Ok
Oklahoma City
July 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
11of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works Great and a lot of fun!
July 23, 2014
I did a lot of research before I purchased the Philips Air Fryer. Although it is pricey, the appliance works as advertised and is a lot of fun to use.
The cook book that comes with it is very small, but there are plenty of recipes on the internet. There are a lot of people using the Philips and they are willing to share recipes and tips.
My husband and I have had a lot of fun trying different foods. We are retired and we don't usually eat a lot of prepackaged food, because we don't like the the finished product, but the unit does a great job at cooking frozen foods that we used to put in the oven. Everything we have tried has turned out great...frozen french fries, jalapeno poppers, mozzarella sticks, hot wings (fresh) with different sauces, potato casserole, or just warm up left overs.
I also purchased the extra accessories, pan and grill which make the Air Fryer more versatile.
I am very pleased with my purchase.
Review 9 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kittykins
,Annapolis
,MD
July 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
10of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better results than my oven, Saves time and energy
July 18, 2014
I was intrigued when I first ran across this fryer online and impressed by the reviews. I would love a way to bake without heating up the big oven or putting the unsightly toaster oven back in my small kitchen. This fryer makes perfectly cooked chicken breasts (20 minutes at most), kebobs of all kinds, and even roasted vegetables in short order. All sides cook evenly and have an appealing crispness along the edges. The results are better than my oven, saves energy and cooking time. This is a great appliance for the single person or couple to make a good quality meal quickly. I have made fries and the typical frozen snack foods as well with good results. You can also reheat leftovers in minutes with much better results than the microwave. I'm using it nearly every day and find it easy to clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Review 10 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nikkimac
,Alpharetta
,Ga
July 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not impressed
July 17, 2014
The machine heats up fast and cooks fast, which is nice. The meat turns out moist and cooked well. However, the basket is small, requiring many recipes to be cooked in batches. The fryer does get things crispy, but not deep fried crispy. I can get the same result in my oven.. Also, flavor wise, it isn't as tasty as deep fried, but I guess that is to be expected.
The machine had a strange smell when I first used it, even after washing it out before the first use. Every time since, there has been a strange flavor to the food cooked in it, much like the smell. It's subtle, but noticeable.Also, removing the food from the basket after cooking can be a bit cumbersome if you are using the rack inside the basket. The rack allows for more cooking space, but also squishes part of the food in the bottom basket. Overall, unit is good for reheating and small preparations. If you can get over the subtle strange taste.
Pros: Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet
Cons: Size, odd taste
Review 11 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SuzB
,Boston
,MA
Boston
July 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good fries!
July 4, 2014
I've only made one thing so far...french fries. I cut them fresh, soaked them and cooked them. With slightly more than one tablespoon of oil I got some fries that were fairly crunchy and tasty. Next time I try it I will use slightly fewer fries than is called for in the recipe. This is because I found that using the full two russet potatoes produced too may fries to effectively toss them during cooking. Consequently they cooked unevenly and some of the fries were undercooked and soggy. I think with fewer fries, and a slightly longer cooking time, you could get each and every fry cooked and crunchy if you toss them frequently.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 12 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SOUNDERSFAN
,Lake Tapps
,WA
June 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Couldn't be happier
June 13, 2014
I have had this for 6 months now and just love it! I've ordered the grill pan, the vertical divider and the little pan as accessories and use them a LOT. The vertical divider is great when making things like fish/chips as it keeps everything separate.
The other day I made scalloped potatoes in the purchased pan. WOW...were they wonderful. No need for recipes...just experiment. I've made my own cheese sticks, cooked steak tips on the grill pan(fantastic) and small corn on the cobs..yum! Little baby potatoes come out browned, crispy on the outside (with a spritz of butter) and tender on the inside. Basically, whatever you fry or anything you cook in the oven can be done in this air fryer. Don't let the 'fryer' designation fool you into thinking that it is only for frying foods. I bake in it as well. I'm actually contemplating purchasing a second one as we use this so much. I did call Philips about the bigger model but got no response if and when it will be available in the USA.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 13 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kgsmom
June 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE LOVE LOVE this machine!!
June 1, 2014
After seeing this online, reading the reviews and watching some youtube videos, I took the plunge. Since receiving 4 days ago, I have used it 3 of the 4 days. Everything I've made has turned out delicious and I have been scouring the internet for recipes and plan to keep on using it. I am not a big "fryer" person for health and mess reasons but my hubby who was very skeptical has become a fan and is loving the french fries from scratch Ive made for him EVERY DAY and sooooo easy. Highly recommend!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Loud
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
GoodFoodLover
Tigard, OR
Posted June 7, 2014
How crispy is French fries from scracth?
I saw some review that it is not that crispy because of lack of oil and recommend use the frozen fries from the store. However, those frozen fries do have oil in them so it defeat the purpose of being healthy.
Are the chicken skin crispy too? Do you use "spray" oil? Big thanks for you input.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SLWH
,Cary
,NC
May 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
May 20, 2014
I use this almost daily and love it. It is great for "frying" with less fat as well as baking. It heats up quickly and clean up is so easy. My only complaint: it's a little small and does not allow for making large quantities of food. This is the best kitchen item I've purchased in years and is worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile
Review 15 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haydee
,Tampa
,Fl
April 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful product
April 29, 2014
I have been looking at this air fryer in Williams Sonoma, after researching it I got to the store and an employee was demostrating it. I bought it and I am very pleased with it! The chicken wings come out fantastic, crispy outside, moist inside, french fries frozen or natural are great!!!! I have research recipes in the internet and I am going to keep trying, baking, grilling, etc. It is worse every penny I paid for it! no mess in my kitchen and no heat. Love it!!!!
Review 16 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HealthyOption
,Atlanta
,GA
April 22, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love My New Air Fryer!!!
April 22, 2014
I have considered purchasing an air fryer for several months. I purchased it this week from WS and the first day I did a number of cooking experiments.
I asked 2 friends to come over and I cooked a few bites of chicken, beef, shrimp, fish and dumplings for each of us to "taste" and comment on. Without knowing how the fryer works I used Panko breadcrumbs on all. We decided the following:
Chicken - Panko crumbs are too messy, next time I will use flour or cornmeal.
Beef - no need to do anything except season and cook to your liking.
Shrimp - Panko was ok but will explore other coating ideas.
Tilapia - Panko was good on this one and the three of us voted it the best!
Dumplings - frozen and when done crispy and delicious.
We all think that the air fryer is fantastic. I am not much of a cook but we agreed that you can flavor your food to your liking and it will come out perfect every time! It is worth every penny, I only with that I had gotten one sooner!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile
Cons: none
Review 17 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jereann1
,Van Buren
,AR
Van Buren, Arkansas
April 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Air Fryer by Philips
April 9, 2014
I love my new Philips Air Fryer my only complaint is that I would like to have had more recipes in the booklet that came with it. But so far everything I have tried that is frozen like fries and chicken nuggets have been really good with just a spray of pam on them.
Review 18 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CanHope
,Stockton
,NJ
April 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow! This is a Keeper!
April 7, 2014
I spent a fair amount of time reading the reviews on this product across several websites and based on the almost entirely positive reviews, went ahead and purchased this yesterday at my local William Sonoma store. I used it tonight as a "test" on some frozen crinkle cut fries and all I can say is WOW! I used barely a tablespoon of grape seed oil on an amount of fries sufficient to fill the basket without overcrowding. The fries were in done in 12 minutes, were brown and crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I have never been able to make fries this good in the oven and always used much more oil. I will be trying this on vegetarian "chick" nuggets, veggie spring rolls and whole grain donuts next (maybe even funnel cake!). I agree with other reviewers that this device is rather pricey - but for those who like good fries, "fried" chicken, etc. but in a healthier low fat way, I think its well worth the investment. Bravo Philips!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, supports healthier eating
Cons: Loud
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 19 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CanuckRick
,Oakville (Toronto)
,on
April 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile beyond belief
April 1, 2014
I purchased this product after extensive research on oil-less or air fryers. While a little pricey, I have not been disappointed in its versatility, ease of use and quick clean-up. I had to buy the digital version in the US as only the manual (Non-digital control) version is available in Canada. I got a great price at Williams-Sonoma with a 20% one-time discount coupon.
The AirFryer is really a compact convection oven that, with a very little bit of olive oil produces "fried" foods quickly and perfectly. I love what it does to fries (naturally); chicken (breasts, wings, drums); pork chops; coated fish and vegetables. Nice crispy exterior and moist and tender on the inside.
I wish it had more capacity but I couldn't wait for the larger Philips Avance which is only available in Europe and Australia/Far East.
I am still exploring the uses of the little beast, but so far, I am very pleased,
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, great food
Cons: capacity
Review 20 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LeighS
,Bremerton
,WA
Bremerton, Washington
March 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A new way to cook!
March 21, 2014
I've had the Air Fryer for a month and I love it. I've tried a variety of things (homemade fries, eggrolls, breaded chicken cutlets, roasted potatoes) and everything has turned out great. The Air Fryer is a little pricey, but so far it's proving to be worth the money. I've already recommended it to friends and family.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: Size
page1 2 next