Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer

We predict this revolutionary machine will forever change your ideas about frying. The first of its kind, the Air Fryer uses patented technology to fry your favorite foods to crispy, golden brown perfection, using little or no oil. It works by precisely circulating hot air, yielding results that are virtually indistinguishable from traditional deep-fried foods. From French fries and fried chicken to homemade doughnuts, this remarkable innovation lets you enjoy all your best-loved fried foods-without the guilt. Perfect for healthy cooking, the innovative Air Fryer quickly and efficiently fries a wide variety of foods with little or no oil-great for baking, roasting and grilling, too. Patented Rapid Air heat circulation technology works in conjunction with a top grill to guarantee uniform cooking and browning. Intuitive digital control panel makes it easy to select the perfect cooking time and precise temperature from 180deg.F to 390deg.F. 60-minute timer lets you know when your food is ready, then automatically shuts off the machine. The patented "starfish" design inside the fryer ensures that hot air circulates evenly around the food. Extra-large 1.8-lb. capacity stainless-steel frying basket simplifies cooking for a crowd. Pull-out baking tray simplifies putting food in and taking it out of the fryer. A stainless-steel rack allows you to fry more food-or cook two kinds of food at the same time. The oil pan, frying basket, baking tray and inside of the fryer have a durable nonstick coating for quick, easy cleanup. Oil pan and basket are also dishwasher safe. Includes frying basket, pull-out baking tray and metal rack.
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
15 of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
Review 1 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kathes
,Oklahoma City
,Ok
Oklahoma City
July 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works Great and a lot of fun!
July 23, 2014
I did a lot of research before I purchased the Philips Air Fryer. Although it is pricey, the appliance works as advertised and is a lot of fun to use.
The cook book that comes with it is very small, but there are plenty of recipes on the internet. There are a lot of people using the Philips and they are willing to share recipes and tips.
My husband and I have had a lot of fun trying different foods. We are retired and we don't usually eat a lot of prepackaged food, because we don't like the the finished product, but the unit does a great job at cooking frozen foods that we used to put in the oven. Everything we have tried has turned out great...frozen french fries, jalapeno poppers, mozzarella sticks, hot wings (fresh) with different sauces, potato casserole, or just warm up left overs.
I also purchased the extra accessories, pan and grill which make the Air Fryer more versatile.
I am very pleased with my purchase.
Review 2 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kittykins
,Annapolis
,MD
July 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better results than my oven, Saves time and energy
July 18, 2014
I was intrigued when I first ran across this fryer online and impressed by the reviews. I would love a way to bake without heating up the big oven or putting the unsightly toaster oven back in my small kitchen. This fryer makes perfectly cooked chicken breasts (20 minutes at most), kebobs of all kinds, and even roasted vegetables in short order. All sides cook evenly and have an appealing crispness along the edges. The results are better than my oven, saves energy and cooking time. This is a great appliance for the single person or couple to make a good quality meal quickly. I have made fries and the typical frozen snack foods as well with good results. You can also reheat leftovers in minutes with much better results than the microwave. I'm using it nearly every day and find it easy to clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Review 3 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nikkimac
,Alpharetta
,Ga
July 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not impressed
July 17, 2014
The machine heats up fast and cooks fast, which is nice. The meat turns out moist and cooked well. However, the basket is small, requiring many recipes to be cooked in batches. The fryer does get things crispy, but not deep fried crispy. I can get the same result in my oven.. Also, flavor wise, it isn't as tasty as deep fried, but I guess that is to be expected.
The machine had a strange smell when I first used it, even after washing it out before the first use. Every time since, there has been a strange flavor to the food cooked in it, much like the smell. It's subtle, but noticeable.Also, removing the food from the basket after cooking can be a bit cumbersome if you are using the rack inside the basket. The rack allows for more cooking space, but also squishes part of the food in the bottom basket. Overall, unit is good for reheating and small preparations. If you can get over the subtle strange taste.
Pros: Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet
Cons: Size, odd taste
Review 4 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SuzB
,Boston
,MA
Boston
July 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good fries!
July 4, 2014
I've only made one thing so far...french fries. I cut them fresh, soaked them and cooked them. With slightly more than one tablespoon of oil I got some fries that were fairly crunchy and tasty. Next time I try it I will use slightly fewer fries than is called for in the recipe. This is because I found that using the full two russet potatoes produced too may fries to effectively toss them during cooking. Consequently they cooked unevenly and some of the fries were undercooked and soggy. I think with fewer fries, and a slightly longer cooking time, you could get each and every fry cooked and crunchy if you toss them frequently.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 5 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SOUNDERSFAN
,Lake Tapps
,WA
June 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Couldn't be happier
June 13, 2014
I have had this for 6 months now and just love it! I've ordered the grill pan, the vertical divider and the little pan as accessories and use them a LOT. The vertical divider is great when making things like fish/chips as it keeps everything separate.
The other day I made scalloped potatoes in the purchased pan. WOW...were they wonderful. No need for recipes...just experiment. I've made my own cheese sticks, cooked steak tips on the grill pan(fantastic) and small corn on the cobs..yum! Little baby potatoes come out browned, crispy on the outside (with a spritz of butter) and tender on the inside. Basically, whatever you fry or anything you cook in the oven can be done in this air fryer. Don't let the 'fryer' designation fool you into thinking that it is only for frying foods. I bake in it as well. I'm actually contemplating purchasing a second one as we use this so much. I did call Philips about the bigger model but got no response if and when it will be available in the USA.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 6 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kgsmom
June 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE LOVE LOVE this machine!!
June 1, 2014
After seeing this online, reading the reviews and watching some youtube videos, I took the plunge. Since receiving 4 days ago, I have used it 3 of the 4 days. Everything I've made has turned out delicious and I have been scouring the internet for recipes and plan to keep on using it. I am not a big "fryer" person for health and mess reasons but my hubby who was very skeptical has become a fan and is loving the french fries from scratch Ive made for him EVERY DAY and sooooo easy. Highly recommend!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Loud
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
GoodFoodLover
Tigard, OR
Posted June 7, 2014
How crispy is French fries from scracth?
I saw some review that it is not that crispy because of lack of oil and recommend use the frozen fries from the store. However, those frozen fries do have oil in them so it defeat the purpose of being healthy.
Are the chicken skin crispy too? Do you use "spray" oil? Big thanks for you input.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SLWH
,Cary
,NC
May 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
May 20, 2014
I use this almost daily and love it. It is great for "frying" with less fat as well as baking. It heats up quickly and clean up is so easy. My only complaint: it's a little small and does not allow for making large quantities of food. This is the best kitchen item I've purchased in years and is worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile
Review 8 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haydee
,Tampa
,Fl
April 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful product
April 29, 2014
I have been looking at this air fryer in Williams Sonoma, after researching it I got to the store and an employee was demostrating it. I bought it and I am very pleased with it! The chicken wings come out fantastic, crispy outside, moist inside, french fries frozen or natural are great!!!! I have research recipes in the internet and I am going to keep trying, baking, grilling, etc. It is worse every penny I paid for it! no mess in my kitchen and no heat. Love it!!!!
Review 9 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HealthyOption
,Atlanta
,GA
April 22, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love My New Air Fryer!!!
April 22, 2014
I have considered purchasing an air fryer for several months. I purchased it this week from WS and the first day I did a number of cooking experiments.
I asked 2 friends to come over and I cooked a few bites of chicken, beef, shrimp, fish and dumplings for each of us to "taste" and comment on. Without knowing how the fryer works I used Panko breadcrumbs on all. We decided the following:
Chicken - Panko crumbs are too messy, next time I will use flour or cornmeal.
Beef - no need to do anything except season and cook to your liking.
Shrimp - Panko was ok but will explore other coating ideas.
Tilapia - Panko was good on this one and the three of us voted it the best!
Dumplings - frozen and when done crispy and delicious.
We all think that the air fryer is fantastic. I am not much of a cook but we agreed that you can flavor your food to your liking and it will come out perfect every time! It is worth every penny, I only with that I had gotten one sooner!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile
Cons: none
Review 10 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jereann1
,Van Buren
,AR
Van Buren, Arkansas
April 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Air Fryer by Philips
April 9, 2014
I love my new Philips Air Fryer my only complaint is that I would like to have had more recipes in the booklet that came with it. But so far everything I have tried that is frozen like fries and chicken nuggets have been really good with just a spray of pam on them.
Review 11 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CanHope
,Stockton
,NJ
April 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow! This is a Keeper!
April 7, 2014
I spent a fair amount of time reading the reviews on this product across several websites and based on the almost entirely positive reviews, went ahead and purchased this yesterday at my local William Sonoma store. I used it tonight as a "test" on some frozen crinkle cut fries and all I can say is WOW! I used barely a tablespoon of grape seed oil on an amount of fries sufficient to fill the basket without overcrowding. The fries were in done in 12 minutes, were brown and crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I have never been able to make fries this good in the oven and always used much more oil. I will be trying this on vegetarian "chick" nuggets, veggie spring rolls and whole grain donuts next (maybe even funnel cake!). I agree with other reviewers that this device is rather pricey - but for those who like good fries, "fried" chicken, etc. but in a healthier low fat way, I think its well worth the investment. Bravo Philips!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, supports healthier eating
Cons: Loud
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CanuckRick
,Oakville (Toronto)
,on
April 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile beyond belief
April 1, 2014
I purchased this product after extensive research on oil-less or air fryers. While a little pricey, I have not been disappointed in its versatility, ease of use and quick clean-up. I had to buy the digital version in the US as only the manual (Non-digital control) version is available in Canada. I got a great price at Williams-Sonoma with a 20% one-time discount coupon.
The AirFryer is really a compact convection oven that, with a very little bit of olive oil produces "fried" foods quickly and perfectly. I love what it does to fries (naturally); chicken (breasts, wings, drums); pork chops; coated fish and vegetables. Nice crispy exterior and moist and tender on the inside.
I wish it had more capacity but I couldn't wait for the larger Philips Avance which is only available in Europe and Australia/Far East.
I am still exploring the uses of the little beast, but so far, I am very pleased,
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, great food
Cons: capacity
Review 13 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LeighS
,Bremerton
,WA
Bremerton, Washington
March 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A new way to cook!
March 21, 2014
I've had the Air Fryer for a month and I love it. I've tried a variety of things (homemade fries, eggrolls, breaded chicken cutlets, roasted potatoes) and everything has turned out great. The Air Fryer is a little pricey, but so far it's proving to be worth the money. I've already recommended it to friends and family.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: Size
Review 14 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
deb929
February 16, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? No
-9points
20of 49found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Will not use enough
February 16, 2014
I have had the air fryer for a month and finally decide to return it. I experimented almost every other night with different recipes (found on Pinterest and youtube, BTW). I tried fresh and pre-frozen foods to give it a good comparison. It does exactly what it is supposed to. It fries without the grease. Fries, potato chips, chicken, spring rolls...were all nice and crispy. My husband and I decided for the space used for storage of it and the cost, it wasn't going to be used often enough by us. We didn't eat that many fried type foods in the first place. I suggest researching what it can cook before buying.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Hulagirl47
Honolulu, HI
Posted May 28, 2014
Why did you buy it?
I don't understand this review. If u don't normally eat that much fried foods, why would you even be interested in an air FRYER in the first place, let alone at that price? You suggest researching what it can cook before buying, but it's a FRYER, so what would you want to cook that it doesn't to make it worthwhile for you to keep it, esp since you also say it does exactly what it says it would??
I agree with others that it is pricey but worth it if you want healthier "fried" foods. I've had mine for about a month so still experimenting but am glad I got it. Glad you gave it 4 stars even if you decided to return it.
 
My Recommendations
 
0points
1of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,Ca
Santa Cruz CA
February 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+17points
18of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Clever Device!
February 10, 2014
I had read that air fryers are big in Europe. I love crispy fried foods but cannot tolerate them. So, I purchased this specifically to make French fries. Most of the oven fries require so much oil that it defeats the purpose of cooking in the oven. My husband made fries a little more slender than those made by the burger chain I-N-O, and for a first attempt, they were excellent--brown and crispy with flavor but not greasy. Garlic fries are next on the list, and I suspect we will be branching out. I was skeptical but am glad that we took a chance! Plus, the parts that come in contact with the food are dishwasher safe! Love that!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Ellendy
Santa Cruz CA
Posted February 16, 2014
Top 10 Contributor
3/8" Fries Nailed
I hand cut a large potato in 3/8" wide strips. Using 2 T grape seed oil, I produced enough fries to serve two people. Two potatoes worth would fit in the bin, but if I were to do two large potatoes at a time, I would increase the oil by 1 or 2 T. The fries came out crisp, meaty, and there was no discernible oil on the surface. It's not super low fat, but the fat I used was healthy, and my touchy digestive system did not register consumption of fried products! We sprinkled them with salt and dipped in homemade low fat horseradish sauce.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jode44
,Middletown
,NJ
February 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+22points
24of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome machine
February 8, 2014
I purchased the air fryer after I saw it in the store. I went home and did my research before actually purchasing it. I bought it 2 weeks ago and I have used it every day. I have experimented with cooking a variety of foods. It makes the best grilled cheese sandwiches. I have made meatballs, chicken wings and homemade potato chips. The only complaint is there are not a lot of recipes available, however I found some on you tube. I also ordered from the manufacturer, the grill pan attachment and can't wait to try it. There is no mess to clean up as you would have if you fried food on a traditional stove. It is truly a healthier option because the fat drips into the pan and very little stays in your food. I have told many friends about this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 17 for Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rosros
chicagoland
January 5, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+34points
37of 40found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Philips Air Fryer 2st cook
January 5, 2014
Nice to have the digital model. Although functionally the same; digital makes set up and monitoring very easy. First attempt was buffalo wings (on youtube). Dropped in the wings, set temp and time, hit start. 20 minutes perfectly cooked wings. The skin was light brown and crispy. Next time use Pam on the cooking basket to keep from sticking. The XL model would be nice, but it requires 2100 watts which would mean a 220 line; not for the US market.