Philips Viva Digital Airfryer

We predict this revolutionary machine will forever change your ideas about frying. The first of its kind, the Air Fryer uses patented technology to fry your favorite foods to crispy, golden brown perfection, using little or no oil. It works by precisely circulating hot air, yielding results that are virtually indistinguishable from traditional deep-fried foods. From French fries and fried chicken to homemade doughnuts, this remarkable innovation lets you enjoy all your best-loved fried foods-without the guilt. Perfect for healthy cooking, the innovative Air Fryer quickly and efficiently fries a wide variety of foods with little or no oil-great for baking, roasting and grilling, too. Patented Rapid Air heat circulation technology works in conjunction with a top grill to guarantee uniform cooking and browning. Intuitive digital control panel makes it easy to select the perfect cooking time and precise temperature from 180deg.F to 390deg.F. 60-minute timer lets you know when your food is ready, then automatically shuts off the machine. The patented "starfish" design inside the fryer ensures that hot air circulates evenly around the food. Compact 1.8lb capacity stainless steel frying basket simplified cooking. Pull-out baking tray simplifies putting food in and taking it out of the fryer. A stainless-steel rack allows you to fry more food-or cook two kinds of food at the same time. The oil pan, frying basket, baking tray and inside of the fryer have a durable nonstick coating for quick, easy cleanup. Oil pan and basket are also dishwasher safe. Includes frying basket, pull-out baking tray and metal rack.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
31 of 35(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
Review 1 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John6
,Equinunk
,PA
April 19, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is a GREAT product
April 19, 2015
I ordered the XL because so many reviews said it was to small. We have used he XL and it's makes more than enough for 3 adults. It make foods so much faster then putting in a oven and the taste is much better. I was concerned about the price but think that it is well worth he investment after using it for a while now
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 2 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ChelseaB
,Chicago
,IL
March 1, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crispy without the oil
March 1, 2015
I do like this product. For example, it works great on fish with panko crust. Comes out crispy without a heavy oil taste.I add no oil. Shrimp or boneless chicken, I do spray a light amount of olive oil. Everything we tried comes out great. Just the cleaning I'm not thrilled about. Both the basket and the coils are hard to keep clean. The basket you can scrub or put in the dishwasher but, again doesn't come out fully. And, I have no idea how to scrub the coils other than using a brush lightly on it. Unit is very noisy.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Loud, not made well
Review 3 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
QueenBee5
,Oklahoma City
,OK
February 23, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great alternative for healthy cooking
February 23, 2015
Because of the price, which was a little steep for me, I did a lot of research before I made my purchase. The good reviews outweighed the bad by far, so I took a chance. I am so so glad I took the chance. I have had my fryer for a little over 2 weeks and have cooked everything from fries to pork chops with great success. If you follow the instructions, you will be very happy. I saw the reviews about too much smoke and the fries not being crispy. From what I can see, they just didn't follow instructions. So far Im really having fun with my fryer!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, great results
Cons: expensive
Review 4 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mamanico
,New York
,NY
February 16, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Fryer without the oil
February 16, 2015
I love this! It's great as I can now have fried food without the oil!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 5 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DSM36
,Crystal Lake
,IL
February 7, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everything I hoped for and more
February 7, 2015
I use this marvelous product almost daily. I have made wonderful appetizers,
fish, hamburgers, steak, pork and have also baked a cake.
It is easy to use, and very easy for clean-up. We are on a low fat diet and we make our own French fried, potato chips, although we have found store frozen French fries with very little fat or sodium.' Best buy I have made in a long titime.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 6 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JohnMinCal
,CA
February 1, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Skip the Air Fryer .. Oven Does the Same
February 1, 2015
I purchased this "fryer" as a replacement for my previous deep fryer thinking it would be an easier to clean alternative. It turns out this product cannot fry anything. It is basically an expensive toaster oven that has to be turned back on about every 10 minutes since it constantly turns off. This "fryer" cannot even bake any foods that are soft (cheese) or have a wet batter. These foods just get stuck in the basket and are difficult to clean out. If you are looking to fry foods don't waist money on this air "fryer."
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 7 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magali
,CA
January 19, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite fryer
January 19, 2015
Got this to test making French fries and soon after got rid of my traditional deep fryer. Everything comes out tasting great, and cooks faster. I love making chicken in it, as well as bacon and fries. Easy to clean, doesn't stink up the kitchen.
Definitely recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 8 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BettyLG
,Climax
,No
January 16, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best fries at home.
January 16, 2015
Used to make french fries and it is great.
They rival Mac Donald's. Really didn't expect it to work, but it was wonderful and easy too. Healthier and yummy!!!
Review 9 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jupiter247
,Miami
,Fl
January 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love healthy fried food
January 2, 2015
I have waited for a good fryer! This fryer is amazing and fast, i don't even add a tablespoon of oil and everything comes out amazing. I have made stuffed mushrooms, french fries, shrimp, chicken, I have been using it almost everyday since i got it. Not very big but good for a family of 4. Good thing is if you have a few more people it cooks really fast!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 10 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mertar
,Boston
,Ma
December 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the Philips airfryer
December 20, 2014
This is an awesome machine. The fried chicken is golden brown on the outside and deliciously moist inside. Doing roasted vegetables is fast and with perfect results. I use the air fryer almost everyday. My friends are really impress with this machine. I also bought the XL model. It isdoublesthe capacity of the original.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 11 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
prettylily
,Rochester
,MI
December 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
so glad I bought it
December 2, 2014
I love the air fryer, it makes delicious food. So far, I've made... Korean pork belly, bacon, steak, chicken breast, and fries in it. Korean pork belly was amazing! All the fat dripped to the bottom and it got crispy. It had the most amazing flavor. Bacon, was not super crispy, but it had a great flavor and all the fat dripped to the bottom. Chicken breast was a little dry, but it cooked up in 4 mins. By the time I washed lettuce and cut it up, the chicken was all cooked and it was ready to throw into a salad. Marinating it next time will probably help with the dryness. Fries did not have the consistency of being fried in oil, but for health benefits... it was still tasty and crispy. Nuggets were great. They cooked up moist and super hot, and delicious. The best features about the air fryer is that it heats up instantly, cooks food very quickly, and fat drips to the bottom of the pan. It's like a very fast pressure cooker that crisps too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly, makes delicious food
Review 12 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
hurricanejoe
November 11, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
15of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Old Smokey
November 11, 2014
This "fryer" works well, but there is one drawback...it will smoke like a locomotive !
I had to open the kitchen window, the front door, turn on the hood vent and the ceiling fan to finally clear up the smoke.
It still works well, but now "Old Smokey" has a home on the back porch.
I will not get another one.
Review 13 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JIMANN
,MIDLAND
,TX
October 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
2of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SON LOVED IT
October 26, 2014
DEVICE WAS FOR MY SON, WHO IS QUITE A CHIEF IN HIS HOME. HE IS VERY PLEASED WITH IT. HE ALSO TOOK MY SPIRALIZER. THEREFORE, I JUST BOUGHT ANOTHER
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 14 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SafariGma
,Larue
,TX
October 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What fun with tasty results!
October 12, 2014
Spiralized a couple of russets then followed directions to soak & dry then toss w/olive oil. Terrific crunchy flavor in no time at all! The whole family enjoyed. Immediately tried bacon wrapped shrimp using the grill accessory and again terrific flavor in such a short time. Easy to change accessories. Quick & easy clean up as well. Having watched the Youtubes from Australian users I can't wait to try whole meals and baking. It's just plain fun with tasty results!
Also purchased the grill and baking accessories.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Review 15 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheCookingApprentice
,Camino
,Ca
October 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
9of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OMG...I'm Hooked!
October 5, 2014
I just received my Philips Viva Digital Air Fryer a couple of days ago and tried it for the first time yesterday. My first recipe were wild-caught salmon. It came out juicy, flavorful and tender.
Today, I ventured outside the box. Being Filipino-American one of the most essential food on our menu are lumpias (Filipino version of Chinese egg rolls). I figured if I followed the instructions for frozen fries I couldn't go wrong. I had 32 pcs of frozen lumpias so I made two batches--drizzling a generous portion of olive oil onto the pieces before placing them in the basket and a bit more for good measure. 15 minutes later, voila! Perfectly cooked, crunchy, flavorful, and best of all non-greasy.
Obviously not a good fit if you're looking to eat within a few minutes time (for some recipes you have to split in batches); but...if you want a healthier version of a meal, don't mind the wait, and like to cook at home without the mess, this is the type of fryer for you.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Speed, Weight, Loud, Size
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
firepois
san rafael
Posted April 11, 2015
thank you
The lumpias and your experience with the fryer
is what cinched it. Thanks!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheBlueSea
,Naples
,FL
September 30, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The next step above a convection oven.
September 30, 2014
When on the stove, I make a mess everywhere, between splatters and drips. This machine, most is self contained. And if you are questioning how well it works with out oil or butter? It makes things crispy, tasty, and juicy inside; everything from corndogs, fries, chicken and to my delight even a dry-rubbed roast!
A third or less of conventional oven time. Have even tried reheating leftover fries and chicken.
Another great option for what-to-fix-tonight!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: great for 1-3 people only., easy to overcook
Review 17 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GoodFoodLover
,Portland
,OR
Tigard, OR
August 27, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+25points
26of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product but expect better for this price
August 27, 2014
Great delivery as usual. This fryer does:
1. Crispy skin (like peking duck) and seal flavor, juicy and tender chicken legs, wings - No flour coat
Cons - high fume due to fats from skin.
2) Crispy spring roll with oil spray (no fume)
3) Home made chicken nuggets - dried bake flour, not successful. Tried several types of flours, not good.
4) Great ribs with no coating.
5) Short chord, only on counter.
6) Manual push back retractable chord, cheap. With this price, I do expect one like rice cooker, quick retractable.
7) Fit 5 drum sticks or 3 chicken thighs.
8) Basket - easy cleaning with soap but film of oil left.
9) Made in China
Happy with it, use often , would be happy with charcoal filter and retractable chord.
Cons - fume, odor, manual retractable chord and fume of oil over the basket - like those finger prints on computer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, fume
Review 18 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FoxStark
,San Diego
,CA
August 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best thing ever!
August 10, 2014
Every time I use the Viva I feel like in the future or at least in the Back To The Future Part 2 Movie, this Air Fryer is to quiet lovely and makes the food taste so natural and good.
I'm looking to buy another one :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, lovely
Review 19 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kathes
,Oklahoma City
,Ok
Oklahoma City
July 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
14of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works Great and a lot of fun!
July 23, 2014
I did a lot of research before I purchased the Philips Air Fryer. Although it is pricey, the appliance works as advertised and is a lot of fun to use.
The cook book that comes with it is very small, but there are plenty of recipes on the internet. There are a lot of people using the Philips and they are willing to share recipes and tips.
My husband and I have had a lot of fun trying different foods. We are retired and we don't usually eat a lot of prepackaged food, because we don't like the the finished product, but the unit does a great job at cooking frozen foods that we used to put in the oven. Everything we have tried has turned out great...frozen french fries, jalapeno poppers, mozzarella sticks, hot wings (fresh) with different sauces, potato casserole, or just warm up left overs.
I also purchased the extra accessories, pan and grill which make the Air Fryer more versatile.
I am very pleased with my purchase.
Review 20 for Philips Viva Digital Airfryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kittykins
,Annapolis
,MD
July 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
13of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better results than my oven, Saves time and energy
July 18, 2014
I was intrigued when I first ran across this fryer online and impressed by the reviews. I would love a way to bake without heating up the big oven or putting the unsightly toaster oven back in my small kitchen. This fryer makes perfectly cooked chicken breasts (20 minutes at most), kebobs of all kinds, and even roasted vegetables in short order. All sides cook evenly and have an appealing crispness along the edges. The results are better than my oven, saves energy and cooking time. This is a great appliance for the single person or couple to make a good quality meal quickly. I have made fries and the typical frozen snack foods as well with good results. You can also reheat leftovers in minutes with much better results than the microwave. I'm using it nearly every day and find it easy to clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
page1 2 next