This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills

Streamlined and sculptural, these wooden mills feature Peugeot's patented u'Select system, which lets you customize the grind with a simple turn of the base. A shaftless design allows for increased capacity and less frequent filling.Made of solid beechwood with a stainless-steel base.Peugeot's u'Select feature lets you choose your preferred grind, with six settings from ultrafine to coarse.Magnetic tops make filling easy.Pepper mill's case-hardened-steel mechanism cracks peppercorns before grinding for an even grind and rich aroma.Salt mill's stainless-steel grinding mechanism is engineered to resist corrosion.
Average Customer Rating:
2.808 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
12 of 26(46%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
Review 1 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
alluring
,San Antonio
,TX
December 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Not impressed!!!
December 6, 2013
My husband purchased this pair for twice as much as the current sale price, and the salt grinder worked for maybe 6 months. So now they look great sitting on the counter but that is it......huge waste of money!
Cons: Quality
Review 2 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
schaingirl1
,Salt Lake City
,UT
October 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Peugeut Salt & Pepper Mills
October 7, 2013
Beautiful, and work perfectly. Love the different settings. I recommend!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Store, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefMax
,Houston
,TX
Houston, TX
October 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great Mills!
October 1, 2013
We have had these for several years and they have been great. They are easy to fill and the grind is easy to adjust.
The pepper mill clogged once and I took the cap off emptied the contents and holding the mill upside down, turned the grinder back and forth until I was sure that it was empty. I refilled it with good quality peppercorns and it has worked fine ever since.
I think those who have had trouble with these may be using subpar or the wrong pepper and salt.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design, easy to fill
Review 4 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CarrieKe
,Chicago
,IL
August 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Nice Fine Pepper
August 7, 2013
Excellent product, easy to use and a very fine setting for pepper is great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 5 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ebarol
,Rochester, NY
July 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great mills
July 27, 2013
These are comfortable to use, grind well, and fill easily.
I only use black peppercorns. Note to reviewers who complain the grinding mechanism stops working- are you using colored peppercorns? Red/pink ones are not really peppercorns and gum up grinders.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Review 6 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dOrsay08
,Honolulu
,Hi
July 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
I like this pepper mill.
July 6, 2013
I've had my pepper mill for 2 years now and it still works great. This is my first Peugeot purchase and I'm glad I bought it. I like the big variety of grind sizes to select from. Great product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Versatile
Review 7 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jesuiserin
July 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Horrible pepper mill
July 5, 2013
This pepper mill stopped working after 6 months of use. It was so ridiculously expensive too. ugh
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Peugeot
USA
Posted July 19, 2013
Check the guarantee on your mill
Dear jesuiserin, We would like to help you with your mill to make sure you are fully satisfied with your purchase and remain 'serein'... Please check the instruction manual for the rule of guarantee that applies to your mill. We would love a second chance!
http://www.peugeot-saveurs.com/saveurs-epices/Produits/10-wood-stainless-steel/42-madras-u-select/
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lily206
,Mill Valley
,CA
July 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Very surprised by the negative reviews
July 21, 2012
I received these as a gift over two years ago and have never had a problem with them. I use them daily and they have such a sturdy feel to them - very good quality IMO. They are gorgeous - I get compliments on them all the time. They are easy to refill and you can change the coarseness of the grind if necessary. The set came with a booklet of instructions that stated to only twist in one direction when grinding - not back and forth as I always had done with other salt and pepper mills I've owned. Maybe this is why mine have held up so well. After using these I wouldn't be able to go back to using cheap plastic mills. Definitely recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Review 9 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CookInCadillac
,Cadillac
,MI
June 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
So Bummed About this Purchase
June 7, 2012
Here is an unfortunate case of "you don't get what you pay for". Love the design but salt mill stopped grinding in less than a month. Pepper mill not significantly better. I have emptied and banged on them to clear the grinders. They don't work and hope I can return them since I didn't keep the receipt. I should have read the reviews first and am disappointed that Williams Sonoma would continue to sell with all this feedback for years. What is that all about?
Pros: Design
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, does not grind!
Review 10 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SteveK12858
,Highland Heights
,OH
May 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
I should have known better
May 23, 2012
Others have said that the grinding mechanism failed after a short period of time. I bought one which lasted about a year. Took it back and got it replaced (they were reluctant), and that one lasted about another year. Based on other reviews, mine may actually have exceeeded performance expectations, but I'm done with expensive pepper grinders.
Cons: Quality
Review 11 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AMikeS
October 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Poor Product
October 12, 2011
I also purchased this set because I loved the look of them. They worked approximatelt 2 months which seems to be a month longer than most experience with them. Guess I should be thrilled.
Review 12 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sarahmontgom
Cape Cod, MA
March 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Working well for over a year
March 8, 2011
I love this salt and pepper mill. I have had no problems with the grinding mechanism, and I ended up buying a set for friends as well as my brother. They continue to work well for all of us! Beautiful to look at as well.
Review 13 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ceekay16
Memphis, TN
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Disappointing.
January 7, 2011
I was given this grinder set as a gift and was very excited because they are beautiful. However, almost immediately, they quit grinding! I exchanged the pepper grinder and, unfortunately, almost immediately, it also quit working. Disappointing product.
Review 14 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
denirw
Sacramento, CA
December 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Disappointing pepper mill
December 22, 2010
This is the 2nd Peugeot pepper mill that has quit working after about a month. The pepper corns seem to get stuck in the grinder and no pepper comes out. The selling features were adjustable grind and nice design - it's really too bad they don't work better because they are expensive and they should GRIND PEPPER CORNS as first order of business.
Review 15 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
terzopolos
Boston, MA
November 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Peugeot misses again
November 30, 2010
I upgraded to these after my glossy yellow pair of Peugeot mills began corroding at the base, and unfortunately I must report that I experienced the same grinding problems as other reviewers. The peppercorns do become lodged in the grinding mechanism which causes 2 problems: 1) no pepper comes out and 2) it makes it near impossible to budge the disk that adjusts how fine the pepper dispenses. I've resorted to banging the stainless steel base against my countertop until I'm able to move the bottom again with my hands. I also now have to keep a cheapo pepper grinder from the grocery on-hand in case my banging technique fails me. What a disappointment - these mills are so gorgeous! Perhaps it's time Peugeot focuses less on the aesthetics and more on the actual mechanics of their mills?
Review 16 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rlak
Ann Arbor, MI
October 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
My Favorite Pepper Mill
October 19, 2010
I LOVE this pepper mill. I love the sleek design, the easy fill magnetic top and the grinding range. My husband loves that he can quickly and easily grind a lot of pepper!
Review 17 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Baileypoo
Rocklin
October 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Not as bad as others have said...
October 7, 2010
I have read all of the horrible reviews and wanted to redeem the reputation of these mills. I got them as a wedding present and absolutely LOVE them (mostly). I was so sad, when one day, my pepper mill stopped working. I have found the way to make these continue to work...when they stop! Apparently, the pepper corns get stuck in the grinding mechanism when you change the griding levels. All you need to do to fix this issue is fip it upside down and hit the side of the mill forcefully to shake the pepper out of the mechanism. Other than that issue, these mills are great! They are stuningly beautiful and with 6 different settings that range from fine to course, they are absolutely perfect for any cooking need. If you want to sprig for some really expensive, but wonderful salt/pepper mills, these are a good way to go. If I had to pay for these myself, I would be very please with them, still.
Review 18 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TorontoCook
Toronto, ON
October 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Very disappointed
October 6, 2010
Beautiful but doesn't work. I exchanged the pepper mill twice - worked for about a month and then stopped grinding. I am moving on to something else!!
Review 19 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
fishczyk
California
August 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Surface Beauty
August 27, 2010
I bought the salt and pepper mills at Christmas last year and wish I would have waited for some reviews first. They are sleek and beautiful to look at, but the quality is very poor. I will return them to Williams Sonoma and recommend that they stop selling the product.
Review 20 for Peugeot u'Select Madras Wood Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TX1640
Fort Worth, TX
July 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Beautiful....but disappointing
July 6, 2010
I love, love, love how these look, but mine too have failed to work any more. I've contact peugeot, but have heard nothing. I guess I should do as others have done and take them back to Williams Sonoma.
page1 2 next