Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills

Cooks with exacting preferences for grinding salt and pepper will enjoy using these French mills, which allow you to choose your preferred grind by turning the base ring to one of six settings from ultrafine to coarse.Made of clear acrylic with brushed-stainless-steel top and base.Peugeot's u'Select feature lets you choose your preferred grind, with six settings from ultrafine to coarse.Pepper mill's case-hardened-steel mechanism cracks peppercorns before grinding for an even grind and rich aroma.Salt mill's stainless-steel grinding mechanism is engineered to resist corrosion.
Average Customer Rating:
3.042 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
10 of 24(42%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
Review 1 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wholikestohost
,Chicago
,IL
November 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Happily surprised
November 7, 2013
I received this as a housewarming gift but didn't know about the Peugeot brand. My friend is a Chef and wanted me to have his favorite pepper mill brand in MY kitchen... so, he gave me a set of Peugeot! And I love them. I have both the salt and pepper mills. They are a great size, about 7" tall and fit nicely on my counter and sometimes just stay on my kitchen table. They're small enough that they look pretty on the table. I love the acrylic. It actually looks like glass. Very well made.
They're easy and fast to use. There is a ring at the bottom of the mill to adjust the grind. And WOW! It works so well! it is a fabulous precision tool to have.
Highly recommend to those who enjoy cooking. These grinders are robust and very classy. It was a very nice gift!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Size, Design, consistent
Review 2 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
hereatlast
February 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely but ....
February 25, 2013
Seems I have to adjust the settings with almost every use
otherwise they are very nice.
Review 3 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Johnsontman
,Arlington
July 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Peugeot "Madras PM25229"
July 23, 2012
I have had two new Peugeot "Madras PM25229 Pepper Mills. Used in my home only. Both mills worked for approx. 2 months and then stopped grinding. I have tried several different pepper corns and this did not fix the problem.
Pros: Easy to Use, great looking
Cons: doesn't grind pepper
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Peugeot
USA
Posted July 19, 2013
More information on your pepper mill
Dear Johnsontman, we would like to make sure you are fully satisfied with your mills. Here is more information on your pepper mill:
-Mill guaranteed for five years from date of purchase against manufacturer defects.
-Use only dry, hard, whole peppercorns less than ¼” diameter. Black, white, and green peppercorns can be used.
-The pepper mechanism is equipped with a helix-shaped double row of teeth that guide and hold the peppercorns for a perfect grind.
It has a patented treatment that protects the steel from corrosion while maintaining its sharpness and wear resistance.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amoeba14
,Fairfield
,CT
April 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
TERRIBLE PRODUCT
April 5, 2012
We were given the set as a gift. Salt grinder works fine. Pepper grinder broke after a month. Quality seems dodgy. For $80.00, I'd expect a lot more.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Peugeot
USA
Posted December 2, 2013
It's not too late to make it work!
ANSWER FROM PEUGEOT:
Hello Amoeba14,
We want to make sure you are satisfied with your purchase and would be happy to assist you. As you know, Peugeot is the preferred brand in the world of pepper mills, since 1840.
We will make sure your mill functions properly. Please fill out the form on our website so we can assist you: http://www.peugeot-saveurs.com/Contact/
Our US team based in Chicago will be in touch with you shortly after. Thank you for your patience.
The US Peugeot team.
www.facebook.com/peugeotusa
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bbcruiser
,Barrington
,IL
March 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Quality Grind
March 19, 2012
Have several of Peugeot mills but wanted a couple for the counter to grab and use knowing the level of product available for use. These mills are high quality and the clear casing is attractive and practical. Nice for the serving counter or table.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design, adjustable
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
bbcruiser
Posted May 7, 2012
Bad Quality Grind
I was the author of this review and after another month of use I have to withdraw my recommendation. The grinders will not stay in adjustment. As I learned the tops will not stay in a locked position and they are very difficult to use.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GiGi1010
,Oh
December 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not so great!
December 20, 2011
I have been looking for a nice quality salt &pepper set for quite some time. Since I think Williams Sonoma has a nice assortment of high-end products; I was led to believe that this attractive Peugeot set was exactly what I was in the market for. Boy was I ever wrong!
The quality is absolutely awful! The pepper mill works fairly well, but the salt mill is a disaster! It does not grind well at all, and never has from the first week of ownership. The screw top has to be constantly adjusted, and the result is just a dusting of salt coming out the bottom. It makes it frustrating to even pick it up to try to wrestle with it. Not worth the pricey cost either! For the amount these cost, they should be flawless.
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY! I am writing to the company to complain and get a replacement( which I honestly don't even want). It's the principle... You should get what you pay for. Not in this case!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Difficult to Store, not worth it for the price
Review 7 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SrTrekker
,Fairfax
,VA
November 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Never Buy These Grinders
November 3, 2011
I bought the salt & pepper combo over a year ago for the house. I also purchased the pepper and salt from the store.
As another buyer pointed out, you are contantly adjusting the screw at the top. Essetially, the grinding does not grind well, loosening the screw. Effectively, you can only obtain a fine grind on pepper, where you may like a coarser option.
It is very disappointing. I will probably send them back to Peugeot.
Cons: Difficult to Use, does not work
Review 8 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recipehunter
San Franicisco
July 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Frustrating
July 11, 2011
The knobs constantly come unscrewed. I'm returning my set as I don't want to look for the knobs in food.
Cons: Temperamental
Review 9 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
siwanoy
Litchfield Co., CT
May 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very good but fussy
May 14, 2011
We have had them 4 years, every day use, and by and large love them. They are fussy, however. They should be stored on a dish and you need to make sure the tops knobs have not become so loose that they will fall off as you grind. Sometimes the gradations take a turn or two to get what you want because of left over residue. Buy them for your self, but as a gift I would suggest the Nancy set instead, which are easier to use and appeal to a wider group of design tastes.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Design
Cons: Temperamental
Review 10 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
wife56
Olney
February 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
leaves residue on my counter top
February 12, 2011
I purchased this product because I liked the idea of being able to adjust the grind for the salt and pepper. However, I am constantly having to clean my countertop where ever I place these salt and pepper mills. It leaves salt and pepper residue on my counter top and dining table. I discontinued using them.
Review 11 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
havetosay
Alexandria VA
November 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
back to purchase another
November 28, 2010
I have owned and used these salt and pepper mills nearly every day for more than two years now. I'm back online to see if they are still available for my sister, who used them in my kitchen at Thanksgiving and wants her own set.
I was very surprised to see the low ratings from some reviewers here. True, the finest grind of salt tends to collect on the bottom of shaker if I use it over a pot of boiling water, so I have to remember to salt before the water heats up. And the balls on top very occasionally loosen up and have to be tightened (is that really so hard to do?). But the grinders work beautifully, they are easy to refill and keep clean, and the acrylic bodies let you see when the contents are getting low so you don't run out in the middle of a meal. It's particularly nice to have the option for a very fine grind of salt when making a salad dressing or an olive oil for dipping bread.
Review 12 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
loverofws
near Chicago suburbs
October 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed by salt shaker
October 23, 2010
A lady at William Sonoma recommended this salt shaker, but I am disappointed. Every time I use it the top loosens and stops the salt from coming out. I had my husband tighten it thinking I just wasn't tightening it enough, but it happened again.
Review 13 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dnjwebJ
Olympia, WA
September 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
6 years and still going strong
September 30, 2010
6 years of regular, constant use and they still work as good as new.
I was leaving the ball quite loose at first but I realized quickly that I needed to tighten it down and then back off in increments until I reached my desired grind.
The salt grinder doesn't have the same Lifetime warranty as the pepper mill due to the fact that salt is corrosive. I think it was 5 years on the salt mill.
I use coarse sea salt in mine and it still works great after 6 years. One obvious caveat wood be not to allow your salt (or pepper) grinder to get moist. Such as grinding over a steaming pot. Grinding sea salt into cooking food is a waste anyway. It is for finishing.
My mother in law bought a set of these after using them at our house several times.
They are beautiful but make no mistake, they are Peugeot quality and they function as well as they look.
Learn to use them properly, take care of them, and you will have an elegant, functional set for years to come.
Would purchase again.
Review 14 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
VolFan
East Tennesse
November 22, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Definitely Form over Function
November 22, 2009
Wife and I received as wedding gift. Look great, but overall function poor. Hard to replace salt and pepper- work ok, however the top metal ball holding the salt shaker together didn't stay on well -- fell off and has disappeared!! As result salt shaker not functioning. Wouldn't recommend buying or giving as gift unless you want a great kitchen nic-nac.
Review 15 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kscan
Raleigh Durham, NC
September 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nothing but problems
September 28, 2009
I received the salt and pepper mill as a gift a year ago. I loved the way they look and thought the adjustable feature was genius.
The pepper mill did not work properly from the start but the store was terrific and replaced it readily. Still hopeful at this point.
I quickly found that whenever I used these the pepper mill the little finial at the top loosens as I did. It's quite annoying. I started pretty much avoiding using the pepper mill. Now the grinder on the salt has just given up and the salt just pours from the bottom of the mill. Just sitting on the counter the salt just drains from it. Did I mention that the final loosens on this one as you grind too. I just didn't see it at first because I don't use as much salt as I do pepper.
Horribly disappointed in both of them. Far less expensive products out there that have no trouble with the task of grinding.In the end.... all I can say is they are pretty.
Review 16 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dreamofitaly
Calgary, Alberta
August 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great but life is limited
August 20, 2009
GREAT but if you use it often the life of the grinder is limited. It has been less than 2 years and the salt grinder finally quit.
Review 17 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrownieBerry
Indianapolis, IN
August 19, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Addition to My Kitchen
August 19, 2009
These salt and pepper mills are wonderful! I wanted the mills to be transparent so that I know when to refill, and they are transparent and easy to refill. The grind can be adjusted with a twist, and it can be adjusted from very fine to very coarse in seconds. They have certain heft to them, not to the point where they feel heavy to use but enough where they feel substantial. I love using these mills so much that now they sit in the center island of my kitchen so that I can pick them up and use them any time.
Review 18 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Saltlover
Tucson, AZ
June 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Useless
June 25, 2009
I spent a lot of time researching salt mills and this one looked the best. But, it doesn't function well at all and I gave up using it.
Review 19 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dreama
Antioch, CA
January 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Salt & Pepper Shakers
January 7, 2009
This product was given to my son and his partner for Christmas. They have used the set I purchased from William Sonoma about 5 years ago, and they were quite envious. There is never a problem, they work cleanly and smoothly each time I use them.
Review 20 for Peugeot Senlis Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bette
davis
December 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
salt grinder
December 3, 2008
can't use it for maldon sea salt which is why I purchased it, otherwise it's nice
page1 2 next